We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ace cave and village to visit.”
Review of Ingleborough Caves

Ingleborough Caves
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Clapham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ace cave and village to visit.”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We went to the cave to take our kids to the santas grotto in the cave, parked up in the village, really nice walk up to the cave (there was a coach but we walked), there's a little shop at the cave entrance which sells hot drinks, buns etc etc.
The cave itself is ace, it's well lit up and is big - so your in there a while. The staff (tour guides) are friendly and knowledgable too. Our visit was different to the norm, the guides dressed up as elves and throughout the cave tour the elves told the kids a magical story which included some of the cave features, making it believable to the kids. Throughout the cave there were christmas decorations and lights around every corner. After walking through the cave we reached Santa who was waiting in his big red and gold fancy chair, he chatted with the kids, had photos then the kids got a presant from the magic table.
It was an ace day out and a unique experience for us and the kids - going to see Santa in a cave, elves, a magic story .... Something any kid would always remember.

Helpful?
Thank dazm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    64
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“santas grotto:-)”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

we took the gran kids to see santa today one of the best things we've done on the run up to christmas in years. we parked down in the village and walked via the water fall and up the nature trail (KEEP YOUR EYES OPEN FOR THE MONEY TREE) it was a managerble walk/stroll. once at the cave, get tickets at the shop and you cant miss it.. I dont want to ruin it for all the kids but all i will say is the staff are great....... and of course you cant forget the big man...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank julian26769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Insightful 3 hours entertainment”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

You have to park in the village and take a walk through a nature trail (very easy pleasant walk) to the caves.

The caves have tours on the hour every hour and at the enterance we met John who would be our tour guide.

as we were early, We sat for 25min with a coffee and chatted to John about the Caves and beer, places to visit. We really enjoyed talking with him and the knowledge he has on Caving/potholing, local area, geology and the enthusiasim was infectious.

We were joined by another couple and all 5 of us went into the caves. The caves themselves are spectacular and guided by our expert had a very interesting trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazparilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ingleborough Cave - a truly memorising experience”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My family and I visited Ingleborough show cave on Sunday 11th November. We parked up in the village before taking the light stroll though the nature trail and we eventually arrived at the cave where the customer service was fantastic from the minute we arrived on the premises. Although there were only two staff working (the young man running the shop and the cave guide) all customers were taken care of and were given a very personal and informative experience. The young man in the shop was very polite and helpful, chatting with us about various topics whilst we waited for the tour to begin. The actual cave tour was fantastic, the guide was highly informative at the same time as having an amusing side too him as well. All customers, from senior geographers to young toddlers, were catered for and I couldn't fault this attraction in any way. I would definitely recommend this tourist attraction to all.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“One of the best caves in the area”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I remember this place when I was young, and its still going. Excellent cave walk. A good long one too, but bring a coat and waterproofs because it can get a tad cold.
Well worth a visit if you are a tourist, or anyone in fact. If you like caves, then this is a good one.

Helpful?
2 Thank familyof2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingleborough Caves also viewed

Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Middleham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ingleborough Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing