We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of New Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were a party of 6 and had booked 3 double rooms. Having read some dubious reviews on TA we were a bit dubious. Our doubts were soon cast aside when we were shown to our respective rooms by the genial Aussie host. All three rooms had recently been re furbished to an excellent standard. They were clean, the beds were king size and very comfortable.
Bathroom was as good as any 5 star hotel with a few toiletries in place.
We had booked to go out for dinner in Settle but having looked at the menu we cancelled any had dinner in the restaurant.
The food and drink were a bit pricey by any standards. However all the starters and main meals were excellent and the atmosphere in the restaurant was friendly without being rushed,
Reading other reviewers comments they mostly appeared to have had complimentary dinners included. We missed out on that one aspect, so the next time we go and we intend to we will look at this possibility.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeno-martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review. I'm thrilled to hear your party had such a good stay and that you chose to experience our food. Keep and eye out on our website for special offers for both food and accommodation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    127
    57
    37
    20
See reviews for
72
320
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed on a KGB deal. The hotel is being renovated this did not bother us. We stayed in a refurbished room which was lovely the bedding and towels were spotless. The room was cleaned to a high stranded and towels changed even though we only had a two night stay. Included in the deal we had a three course dinner which was excellent plus breakfast on both days which also was very good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liddier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive review! We always love to hear how our guests stay was and even more when they had a good time. Since your stay we have finished all the rooms, we'd love you to come back and see the final result!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had 2 nights at The New Inn bed and breakfast and one evening meal in the deal we got. The place is being renovated and the parts that have been finished are lovely. We stayed in a room that had not been renovated and as we had the dog with us and we got a good deal it suited us.
The bedding and towels were spotless.
We ate there both nights the food was very good although I do like my vedg and I did find this a bit lacking. Breakfast was very good and a good choice we had the full English. A good base for exploring The Dales.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieflu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave us a review as well as upload some photos! Since your stay all the rooms have now been finished and 2 of our rooms are still dog friendly. Come back and see the finished result!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Went for a meal on Tuesday Evening, The food and the Hotel was very impressive, it looks like the new owners are doing a referb to a very high standard.

We stayed and had drinks with Ron, Lesley and there daughter Laura (the Owners)they are from Australia and they were really good friendly company.

I will be going Back in September with all my Family.

Would recommend the Hotel to Everyone.

Room Tip: Didn't Stay but we looked the rooms and they are to a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review, we love to hear feedback! Glad you enjoyed your time with us, we always love having a chat. Come back and see us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just been for a cracking lunch at the New Inn. Delicious food, well presented and good service. We sat outside in the pleasant beer garden and enjoyed fresh, quality meals which exceeded our expectations. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicaandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for the review! Looking forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My partner and I stopped here on the off-chance of a room for a couple of nights on 11th and 12th August this year, and I was immediately struck by the ambience of the place, and the warm welcome from the owner and his wife.

They are close to finishing their complete renovation of the whole building, and it is already apparent just how much attention has been paid to every detail. The colour scheme is simple, but very effective, and carries on throughout the whole of the building. Our room overlooked the little river across the road from the inn, and the sound of water running throughout the night was wonderfully soothing.

We thought the food was excellent, and the service unfailingly friendly. I was both surprised and very sad to read a couple of the reviews of this place, complaining about both the food and the disruption caused by the renovation.

We were given a tour of the whole hotel, at our request, because we were so interested in how it has all been achieved, and I am looking forward to coming back before too long to see the work completed!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are going to have a wonderful view, but the ones at the front have the advantage of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive and in-depth review! We have done even more work since you visited us and have only a few little things left to finish! Our chefs are always thrilled to hear feedback on their food and even more thrilled to know that you enjoyed your meals. Come back and visit us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We travelled on a KGB deal so got our 2 nights cheaper than usual, making them better value.
We paid extra to upgrade, but feel that due to the noise and dust just outside our upgraded room, and the broken TV, this should have been waived. We also felt that the best available room should have been given anyway under the circumstances as a goodwill gesture without the extra charge.
A bath as well as a shower would have been expected in an upgraded room.
The workmen were very pleasant and tried their best, but of course there was an upheaval.
We weren't informed about this at all beforehand either.
We also had to sit for an hour and a half in the evening wasting time in our room whilst the TV got fixed with people coming and going..
We would have preferred to watch it in the other room as was first suggested, while it was sorted out.
Can't fault the young staff, particularly at breakfast and on departure - all very pleasant and helpful.
Food wise - we were disappointed in the red mullet, which was rubbery, overcooked and tasteless. Generally too much salt was added to the food.
The starter and dessert were good.
It would not have been worth paying the full amount. Perhaps the bragged about 4* chef's day off was a Monday. I don't think we would eat here again, but the pub/hotel is going to be very well presented with beautiful decor.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are lovely, but would recommend until it is finished to ask for one away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello, I feel we need to clarify a few points.

KGB deals are already HEAVLY discounted, The upgraded rooms are not included in this deal and even with the upgrade fee you still paid well under the normal rate for these rooms.

As for the issue with the TV, while we acknowledge that yes a TV line had been cut, you did not inform us of the TV not working until the second night of your stay at 7pm. Had you informed us in the morning we could have had it fixed without any inconvenience to you, while you where out for the day. As it was, we paid the late night call out fee to get your TV fixed AS WELL as offered you the use of our suite in the event we could not fix the TV AND I left the room unlocked for you to be using while we fixed the TV, you did not take the opportunity to use it.

As for the bath, this is a 300 year old building with limited plumbing, not many of our rooms have a bath, however when we showed you to the upgraded room you did not mention this was an issue,, once again, if you had mentioned this , we could have instead put you in a room that contained one.

It would seem that the problems with your stay could have been fixed by a very simple conversation from you. Had you mentioned you wanted a bath, we would have given you a different room. Then you would not have had the misfortune of the only TV experiencing problems in the Inn, (which once again is a problem that could have been fixed had it been mentioned in a reasonable time frame).

We feel we have done everything possible to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
16.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
403 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
591 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
337 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Property: New Inn Hotel
Address: Old Road | (Near Settle), Yorkshire Dales National Park, Clapham LA2 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Clapham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New Inn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century coaching Inn that has recently finished a major overhaul of the whole hotel. Now featuring 19 newly renovated rooms, a luxury bunkhouse, Bistro and Bars, The New Inn offers fine dining and relaxing in a tranquil setting. Located in the Yorkshire Dale National park, The New Inn is in a prime location for the Three Peaks walk as well as a visit to the famous local caves. Recently awarded an AA 5 star Inn rating, why not see what everyone is raving about? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Settle
New Inn Hotel Clapham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing