We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over for the Way of the Roses bike ride”
Review of New Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you’re doing the Way of the Roses bike ride at a steady pace then an overnight stop at Clapham is not a bad idea. The New Inn has got some recently refurbished rooms at the back of the building that are very clean and comfortable. Bikes can be stored in the laundry room overnight which is locked up and therefore gives you peace of mind.

The rooms are nicely furnished, have a TV and a spotlessly clean bathroom and the usual tea and coffee making facilities. There’s not a great deal of eating options available in the evening but that shouldn’t really matter as the pub itself does perfectly good food. There was also some consideration for vegetarians as well which is never a bad thing. Dining can be done in the restaurant area itself or at a table in the pub. There is also another bar at the back with a pool table and a TV. Decent bitters and ales are also available at the bar.

Breakfast is taken in the restaurant and I liked the choice of raspberries and blueberries that was available which you don’t normally see. You can help yourself to toast which you have to make yourself with the toasters at a table.

Overall a good choice as a place to stop with decent food in a good location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed one of our newly refurbished rooms and that you had the chance to dine with us!

Just to let you know that we are currently exploring better options for cyclists to store bikes with us, hopefully we will have that implemented for your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 566 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The place has changed and the food is no where near as good. Prices have gone through the ceiling. What was a perfect bolt hole has changed. Go to Malham now. Far better location and value for money. The new owners took us on as a pre booking. They did not provide a five course meal as expected. Even had to pay for coffee when it should be included.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cudowna8758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

At the time of your stay the food was being made as the same chef that had been there for 10 years, the booking you made including the 5 course meal was a deal given through the past owners. We honoured it to the best of our abilities. Everything you experienced was designed by the past owners. SO saying we ruined it is a bit of a stretch.

You are welcome to come back and see how we have changed things. I think you will be surprised

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have just returned from alovely week end break at the new inn. We went withour son and his partner and 11 month old grandson. All the staff are really pleasant and the owner, Ron, was very helpful and approachable. We were fortunate to stay in newly refurbished rooms which have been done to an extremely high standard. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms very modern and beautiful,our room had a wonderful shower, our sons bathroom was larger with a lovely bath and shower over the bath. The ongoing refurbishment work did not disturb us. The food was excellent. We cant wait to go back and look forward to seeing the end result when all the work is finished. Good luck to Ron and all his staff. They are doing an excellent job.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1927nora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Work on the restaurant and bar has now started, please come back and see us again in the future and experience the finished picture!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the New Inn for 2 nightsrecently and were arriving late in the evening as we were driving straight from work. I had a call while we were on our wayto check that we were still coming and to my (pleasant) surprise was asked of we would like some food to be kept for us. We are so usedto food not being available when we arrive on a Friday night that we had already bought dinner from a service station en route and eaten in the van but how nice to be offered! We had terrible traffic and I warned the owner that we would be later than expected but in true Aussie fashion his response was don't worry we'll be here!

Refurbishments are still underway and I'm guessing as we were travelling with dogs we weren't given a refurbished room but the bed was comfortable, sheets good quality, food good, lovely location and service great so overall rating of very good despite the room! We were told that refurbishments will be complete by August and the owner seems passionate about the improvements to the hotel, the food and of course the quality of the beer!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cssmallwood78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It was our pleasure to try and help you with your stay as much as we could, We know how exhausting and unpredictable travel can be!

As you did point out, the whole place is undergoing a renovation, we can't wait till its finished and we can show you the fruits of our labour! Don't forget when you stay with us next that we have 2 new rooms that are pet friendly, just ask for one when you book!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had dinner there yesterday - for the first time in years, the bar and restaurant were busy but staff still had time for everyone. Agree with others that it is a short menu, but this means it is all fresh and our chicken goujons, steak pie and pasta dishes were all good. The restaurant meals are improving on each recent visit but still have a way to go - but nothing a little more focus, practice and time under the new management won't remedy - that and a touch more seasoning on things...

The high standard of beer deserves a mention - crisp, clean Copper Dragon bitter - lovely.

Apparently, the bar and exterior renovation starts in early June. Once the refurbishment is complete, the New Inn should, at long last, return to its place as a well-renowned hostelry in the Dales. Well done to everyone there so far - keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgsv520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

As always we are thrilled to get feedback from someone who has been a past customer. Our barman takes great pride in the beer and its great to see that acknowledged! We can't wait to have our renovations done and bring this place back to its old glory!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nothing too much trouble for staff.New owner Ron is very approachable and helpful.Stayed in one of the refurbished rooms which was finished beautifully and very comfortable.Nice evening meal ,not a huge menu but gives a fair selection and cooked nicely.Good breakfast selection and served promptly.
The new management have only been there a short while,but are turning a tired old hotel in a wonderful area into something special.The ongoing refurb did not interupt our stay and we will definately return to see the finished result.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

On behalf of the staff we are thrilled to hear about your experience, we look forward to seeing you back when our Renovations are fully completed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the New Inn recently and unfortunately for us hadn’t seen a KGB deal and paid £105 per night B&B for a ‘refurbished’ room. This price would be ok when the rest of the hotel (inside and out) have been upgraded but at the moment seem very expensive. Our room was nice but had obviously just been finished with the following comments/omissions:

No sockets anywhere near the mirror and the hairdryer provided didn’t reach

No waste bin in the room, only the bathroom,

No chair

No stool near the dressing table

TV too small for the room

Mini bottles of shampoo, shower gel and conditioner weren’t replaced on the second day.

Bottled water would have been nice

The wardrobe hadn’t been dusted following the refurb and white dust transferred to our clothes

The area we walked through to our room was a ‘mess’ with bare floorboards, large bags of linen and a spare bed.

The food was generally good, particularly the French toast at breakfast but at dinner (which has a relatively small menu) I chose Caesar salad which came with watercress instead of lettuce which was strange.

An extra waitress at breakfast would have been better as there was only one waitress who had to deal with everyone and she was very stresssed.

So in summary, good value at the moment if you get a deal but if you are paying full price you may want to wait for the refurb to finish later in the year. The new owners are very friendly and hopefully they will do well but in this climate they should be aware that people like value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonynLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments. As you are aware, we are renovating the entire hotel and starting with the bedrooms. The rooms have been stripped back to the bare walls and ceilings. Everything in the rooms, from the Barker & Stonehouse furniture, to the crisp white linen is all 100% brand new.

The weekend of your stay was the first time these rooms had been used (hence the missing items) Not admissions, just late deliveries. All the rooms are now fully fitted out.

Most of our guests are enjoying seeing the before and after transformation happen to this hotel as it is restored to its former glory.

We are striving to ensure our guests are not unduly effected and are pleased to announce we are halfway there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
1.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
618 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
298 reviews
15.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
10.4 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,041 reviews
16 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Address: Old Road | (Near Settle), Yorkshire Dales National Park, Clapham LA2 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Clapham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Price Range: $113 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Inn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century coaching Inn that has recently finished a major overhaul of the whole hotel. Now featuring 19 newly renovated rooms, a luxury bunkhouse, Bistro and Bars, The New Inn offers fine dining and relaxing in a tranquil setting. Located in the Yorkshire Dale National park, The New Inn is in a prime location for the Three Peaks walk as well as a visit to the famous local caves. Recently awarded an AA 5 star Inn rating, why not see what everyone is raving about? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Settle
New Inn Hotel Clapham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing