We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Coral Divers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Divers
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

If you want to have a great experience on a budget then I would definitely recommend Coral Divers. Facilities and service is great and there are cheaper and more luxury accommodation available to suit your budget. Overall great experience, would go back anytime!

Room Tip: Make sure to bring a lock for the tent accommodation so the monkeys can't get in and steal thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we appreciate any feedback from our guests.

We try to provide accommodation that does fit anyone's budget so our guests can afford to do the most important thing in Sodwana, diving!!

We're very passionate about diving and want our guests to experience the amazement of being underwater as much as they can!

Thank you for the suggestion regarding deterring monkeys. We are situated inside a National Park but simple steps like a lock on the tents help.

We hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    121
    31
    13
    7
See reviews for
110
86
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have been diving with Coral Divers a few times and it has always been very good. Will recommend them to any body that want to have a good and easy dive - we took my son and his wife (from Czech) and both loved it immensely. Thank you for another good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing Coral Divers again for your preferred choice in Sodwana Bay.

We're thrilled we haven't disappointed you on any of your stays with us! Introducing family or friends to a place you enjoy so much can be difficult and we're glad your son and his wife enjoyed themselves as well.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Coral Divers offers accessible, good value dives in the warm Indian Ocean. The rooms are basic and we chose the room with outside bathroom, which is generally adequate but not great when it is pouring rain.

Having visited twice now I would not go with the catered options as the vegetarian meals are virtually non-existent. Self-catering is the way to go for good value and fridges and equipment are available.

The diving equipment is a bit old but serviceable, most of the skippers are great, though one or two are grumpy and reckless, so ask around before booking your dives.

Note that it is possible to pre-book dives so you don't have to hang around at dive planning every night.

I have generally had good service and lovely dives at Coral and will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We're thankful for your review on tripadvisor and are happy to hear you have chosen us again for your stay in Sodwana Bay.

With regards to the vegetarian menu. There are options available and when you making your booking with our Head Office you can make them aware of any vegetarian needs. This will be communicated to the resort to make sure there are vegetarian meals prepared for you.

Skippers are always a personal preference, just like Divemasters and Instructors. If you prefer one over the others you are more than welcome to request them at Dive Planning.

We hope to see you back at Coral Divers very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Va,
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Had a great time. I was reluctant to go and got dragged down to Sodwana bay by a friend who wanted to get his deep water qualification.
I was very impressed with the service I have been to hotels in countries all over the world and found myself easily distracted from the fact that I was in a tent for a week. With lots of things to do and how just the general atmosphere of the place.
There was someone cleaning all the time . A nightmare for me would be to go with sand on my feet but even the tents got swept out more than once a day.
I arrived at the restaurant before opening the one morning and they quickly helped me out without hesitation.
After three days I decided to do my Discover Scuba Diving and was over the moon to see a Shark on my first dive!! The instructor was so much fun and informative that I decided to do the open water course. Best time I have had all year!! Lots of hard work, but so worth it.
First Class service all the way!! Will be back at the end of the year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeytashabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review.

We're ecstatic your stay with us was more than you expected and that you took an unplanned plunge to do your Open Water with Coral Divers!

Sharks aren't a common sighting on dives so you are very lucky to have seen one.

We wish you many years of happy bubble blowing and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I' m a regular guest and diver with Coral Divers.
I would recommend them to anyone.
Tented area is the cheapest option and real good value for money, it does come with it's problems though, as in no privacy and definitly not much in peace and quiet, loud and sometimes sozzled guests being the problem.
The wooden deck, bar & restaurant good value again, facilities great, Coral Staff friendly and always ready to assist and please you.
Tractor/Trailor facility brilliant, Dives are on time, boats are in perfect nick and the local Skippers are fabulous.
The fact that they run the CDC there and the DM's are young and building up their experince does not matter, value for money at the end of the day, with safe, clean and friendly facilities allmaround.

Room Tip: D camp on suite bathroom. C camp tents sharing an ablution block, clean and it all works. Watch ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sveno99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi there

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it.

We pride ourselves in being able to offer everyone different options when it comes to accommodation and meals. Being able to save on accommodation or food leaves more available in our guests' budget to do as much diving as they want!

Thank you for the fair warning about the monkeys. They are a menace at times but they do lend themselves to the natural surrounds of staying in a National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We dived with Coral Divers recently and had a great time. However, we had booked the tents and on arrival, realised that the tents were tiny and crammed together on a concrete platform. As the temperature was in the high 30s, and we didn't fancy camping within inches of each other, we decided to ditch this option and camp in the woods with our own tents instead. In the woods, behind the dive centre, we had a huge pitch and fire pit and plenty space to spread out.
The diving from the beach was great, we started off at the dive centre and loaded up on the bck of a trailer attached to a tractor that took everything to a shelter on the beach. The DMs did good safety briefings and the RIB skippers were very competent and safety conscious.
My only gripe with Coral Divers is the rental equipment. We hired kit there as we did not want to take our own stuff all the way to South Africa for just a few dives. The dive equipment is old and worn out, some of it was positively dangerous and obviously had not been well serviced. My BCD looked to be about 20 years old and the regs were a bit dodgy. My husband had a dodgy inflator hose which caused problems on ascent and needed some quick thinking to prevent a bend! The size small suits were all rented out and the only option for me was to get a very stiff ? 7mm suit for the dive shop on the beach. This took 3 people to get me into it! I am reasonably experienced with about 1,500 dives and am an instrucor so have tried on a lot of suits in my time. I really think Coral Divers needs some new gear!
Having said all that, the diving was beautiful. I was blown away by the number and diversity of species on the 2 mile reef. The diving was shallow and easy and the vis was amazing, at least 20 metres plus. The dive times were restricted to 50 minutes or 50 bar and that meant coming up with 180 bar each dive which was a bit frustrating.
So in summary: diving was beautiful, camping with own tents in the woods was great, transport and safety briefings were excellent. Kit was pants and dives were short. But... I would certainly return and can't wait to dive Sodwana bay again.

Room Tip: We did not stay in Coral Divers accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplevonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good day to you

Our gratitude for your detailed review on Coral Divers. We appreciate any feedback, no matter what.

Just to clarify. The platform under the tented section of our accommodation is sand. We are not allowed to build permanent structure inside the National Park.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your diving in Sodwana. We are the first to admit that we are spoilt with over 1200 different fish species and in such abundance!

I have noted your concerns regarding our rental gear and will be submitting this to our Gear Room Manager. I apologize for this and assure you this is not the norm at Coral.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Friends and i stayed with corral divers in February ’14, this was one of the many times that we used the resort for our camping and scuba diving needs. Coral Divers caters for many different varieties of scuba enthusiasts and their non diving companions, ranging from fairly spacious tents with 2 stretchers up to very comfortable en-suite cabins. One can choose to self cater with facilities such as a fully equipped kitchen with fridges available or to order food and drinks from the onsite restaurant/bar, a camp/beach shuttle service makes it easy to get to and from the beach for divers and their equipment as well as their non diving companions that can’t always take a car or 4x4 down to the beach.The fully stocked onsite scuba diving equipment rental facility gives divers the choice to bring their own equipment or to rent at very reasonable prices per day. The resort is very good value for money with professional, helpful, friendly staff that will always do their best to ensure that you have a great experience. There is a basic grocery store about 5-8 mins drive from the camp where you can find a bit more than the basics but at inflated prices, the nearest bottle store is about 20-25 mins drive away, if you would like to self cater, make sure you bring most of your own stuff. If you choose to stay without the en-suite facilities that are availbale in some cabins one has to use the SA National parks board's ablution facilities that might seem very basic and unattractive at times, if you do travel with your female companion I might suggest going for the en-suite cabins

Room Tip: It can get very full of enthusiastic loud scuba divers during the peak season, do not go if you inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachsunMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good day to you

Thank you for posting your very informative review. If there is any way we can improve upon our current service standards, please let us know. Unfortunately the National Park's Board Ablutions are not maintained by us and is out of our control.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sodwana
4.4 mi away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mseni Beach Lodge
Mseni Beach Lodge
#2 of 15 in Sodwana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triton Dive Lodge
Triton Dive Lodge
#3 of 15 in Sodwana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vis-Agie Fishing and Diving Resort
3.0 mi away
Natural Moments Bush Camp & Diving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Divers

Property: Coral Divers
Address: Private Bag 320 | Mbazwana, 3974, Sodwana 3974, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Sodwana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Sodwana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Divers 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Divers is a PADI 5 star Gold Palm IDC/CDC Centre situated in Sodwana Bay, South Africa. We are proud to be able to provide all levels of PADI scuba instruction from Bubble Maker to Instructor Development Courses as well as accommodation and dive charters. Lying within the boundaries of the Isimangaliso Wetland Park, Sodwana Bay provides the travelling diver with a vast array of unspoilt coral reefs populated with a huge diversity of Indo-Pacific fish & invertebrates. Apart from the great diving & beautiful coral reefs, the area offers fun and excitement for the non-diver too. From quad bike riding, kiteboarding and paintballing to day trips to Makhasa Game Reserve for Rhino or Buffalo tracking on foot, you're sure to find something that appeals to you, your friends and/or family. Coral Divers offers you a very comfortable diving holiday experience while retaining the rustic appeal of an out-of-the-way bush camp. The area is covered with dense coastal forest offering exquisite scenery, bird watching, and a number of small mammals including Bush Babies, Genets, Duiker and Striped Mongoose. Sodwana is accessible by car, however we can arrange transfers from Hluhluwe - Bushlands (The BazBus drop off point) should you not have your own vehicle. Petrol & Diesel are available from the petrol station in the National Park, and there is a small supermarket which can provide you with essentials such as food, drink and sun block. There are a couple of restaurants both within and outside of the Park, as well as our local night club, 'Maak 'n Jol', where you can dance the night away. Sodwana is also within driving distance of a number of amazing game reserves including Makhasa Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve, Phinda Game Reserve & the Hluhluwe Mfolozi Park. We invite you to take a look through our site to find out a little more about Coral Divers - Sodwana Bay and the diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Coral Divers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Divers Sodwana, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing