We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coral Divers”
Review of Coral Divers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Divers
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Coral Divers”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have been diving in Sodwana for about 5 years. Coral Divers is without a doubt my first choice in dive operators. They are located within the reserve which means you do not need to commute 7km each morning to get to the beach, they also offer their guests a free shuttle service to the beach every 45 minutes.

I would recommend staying in the private or on-suit cabins. Rooms are very minimal with the choice of either communal ablutions, attached or on-suit bathrooms. Rooms are serviced and cleaned daily. While the rooms are very minimal and lack certain creature comforts they are unbeatable in value for money.

The staff are always super friendly and helpful, they go out of their way to make you feel at home and part of the family. While it is a PADI development center, the diving staff are all well trained, polite and friendly. The skippers have been launching on the bay for years and always provide a fun and safe launch to get you to the reef. Coral divers has without a doubt the most streamlined and efficient diving operation out of all operators in Sodwana. Dives are well organized and are punctual.

The equipment used at the resort is always well maintained. The RHIBs are well looked after ensuring no problems on the way to your dive. Rental dive gear is also well maintained and frequently replaced to ensure divers always use quality safe equipment. All dive gear is ScubaPro.

The actual diving at Sodwana is world class! It is one of the most bio-diverse dive spots in the world with amazing marine life.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linky1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi there!

Thank you so very much for this amazing and detailed review. We're very happy with the level of service you have received during your stays at Coral. Nothing is ever perfect and we're always trying to better ourselves. Even though we are a large and busy busy Dive Center we do go out of our way to make sure every guest is treated as an individual.

We appreciate any kind of feedback so we can improve our standards and make your next trip to us even more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    126
    31
    13
    7
See reviews for
115
89
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A few years back after living in Thailand and working in the dive industry, I came back to SA and started my own dive club. We tried out all the Sodwana dive operations and in the end stuck with Coral Divers as they provided the best overall dive trip experience, from the actual diving, to the accommodation, to the food and most of all the staff.....passionate. There is good reason why they are a PADI 5 star Gold Palm IDC Centre! What they advertise is what you get, and then some!!!
Just a pity Coral Divers aren't in control of the weather and diving conditions.....if they were, and it was run like the lodge then we would always have warm water, 50 meter viz, and whale sharks ;)

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and stay in one of the en-suite cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Good day to you!

We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We always strive to give every guest a personal experience at Coral Divers. We will always go out of our way to accommodate any request. All you need to do is ask and we will take care of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have been to Coral Divers twice in the last year , we have done both our Open Water and Advanced Diving courses there , we love this place ! the good service , delicious food , friendly staff , and really affordable prices !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina Marcela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello there!

Thank you for taking the time to review Coral Divers. We pride ourselves in our dive training and we're very thankful you chose to do your courses with us! We look forward to continuing your diving education with Specialties and Rescue Courses!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed for 4 days. We had really good dives and staff was excellent. it was our first touch of Africa. Our journey could not started better. Beach was awesome. Coral Divers offered really value for our money! ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelledinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate any form of feedback. We're extremely glad you enjoyed your stay with us. If you can provide any further comments on the Sleep Quality and Rooms we would be thankful. We, and Africa, look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Spent 4 nights last winter during our Southafrica trip. The "luxury huts" are small and have an attached bathroom but attached meant that they were just put behind the hut and you had to step outside and walk around. So you couldn't just go in knickers for example. Bath was spacious water was hot. You have to take the key with you and lock every time unless you won't sb browsing your toiletries and stuff you left in the bathroom.
Bedlinen wasn't changed on arrival. When we talked to the room maid we noticed that she had no idea if there was a changing in the rooms as she had no timetable to tell her of new customers in the huts. Told the manager about it and he apologized.
In total the huts seemed to be very basic. Bed, mattress, no table in room, fan and light at the ceiling, moskitonets above the beds (that where full of holes and coneshaped so not very spacious), small bedside table between the beds and that was it. All cramped into a small room. The wardrobe was just a storage rack. Felt like a rip off for the price but there was no other place to go. Pool is just of tadpole size but fun for the kids.
It is a huge place, felt at christmastime almost overcrowded. Friendly staff all over the place made the stay enjoyable.
Did 4 dives all with different dive masters and have to say that there are huge differences between them in knowledge and advertency. Some seemed to be very, very tired. As it was highseason and everybody was out twice or even three times daily I guess it was for some very hard to compete with the pace of the dive center.
This Dive Center tries to prevent costs for dive instructors so they "employ" young people on the basis of accomodation and food for dives and further training to become a dive master.
I personaly prefer a dive master with a few years of experience and knowledge of the dive sites.
To my boyfriend it happened that on one of his dives the dive master just swam off before everybody of his group was off the boat ignoring the whole group. Some of the divers who descended last where confused by another group nearby and took the wrong direction without the dive master noticing it until my boyfriend swam behind and gave him signals that he first ignored for example. On another dive the valve of one's air tank came completely off ( luckily not me) and he had to do an emergency ascent later the guy told us it was broken off and not only loose a bit terrifying. At every time there were up to 10 boats with about 6-10 divers on each dive session. Luckily there is more than one reef. I would recommend to do the early morning dives as it is less crowded.
The way out to the reef is very bumby in the zodiacs and with very high waves but the black coxes did a very good job running whenever possible around it. Weather was windy and visibility under water was not the very best but ok.
Breakfast and food is recommandable to outstanding considering the place with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubadivingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Good day to you

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feedback given by our guests.

I'll make no excuses, but yes, December time is a very long and busy period for us. I apologize that this impacted upon your stay with us and that our service standards were not at our usual best.

We have taken steps to ensure our standards remain high during busy seasons with regards to the accommodation and have helped tremendously.

With regards to the Dive Staff. We run an internship program at Coral Divers, where young ( and some old) people go from Open Water, to Divemaster and then onto Instructor. They may not have years of experience behind them but they do have lots of passion, energy ( even through busy periods) and enthusiasm. They are taught by some of the most experienced Instructors in Sodwana and as they spend more time diving they gain experience quicker.

If you would like to share any further comments or provide any more feedback, please feel free to contact us on learn2dive@coraldivers.co.za.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Most beatifull diving spots. The accommodation was not good, but what do you expect from a divers camp. I will make use of the private house, or kzn accommodation next time we are going. Not much restuarants to choose from. If you want to go to Sodwana for holiday it is not the place to go, it is to busy. if you are going for diving or Deep see Fishing it is good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Good day to you.

Thank you so much for your review we appreciate your time and effort. If there is any way you could be more specific with your accommodation problems you encountered please email us at learn2dive@coraldivers.co.za. I can also supply you a list of our Low Season times in Sodwana when it won't be as busy as High Season.

Please be aware that our accommodation is built within the restrictions of our Concession with Ezemvelo ( no permanent structures to compliment the natural beauty of the National Park). This does allow us to be the only Dive and Accommodation Resort to operate inside the National park and be able to offer our Guests a free shuttle service to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised, was mot sure what to expect,and got a well run diving lodge. From the assistants on the beach to the diving staff to the lodge staff they were friendly, efficient and great. Note that is a diving lodge, and not a dive star hotel. Diving was also superb, not hard to see why it is one of the top dive sires in the world

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HomerSimpson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. All feedback is greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sodwana
0.0 mi away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mseni Beach Lodge
Mseni Beach Lodge
#2 of 16 in Sodwana
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triton Dive Lodge
Triton Dive Lodge
#3 of 16 in Sodwana
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Natural Moments Bush Camp & Diving
0.0 mi away
Vis-Agie Fishing and Diving Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Divers

Property: Coral Divers
Address: Private Bag 320 | Mbazwana, 3974, Sodwana 3974, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Sodwana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sodwana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Divers 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Divers is a PADI 5 star Gold Palm IDC/CDC Centre situated in Sodwana Bay, South Africa. We are proud to be able to provide all levels of PADI scuba instruction from Bubble Maker to Instructor Development Courses as well as accommodation and dive charters. Lying within the boundaries of the Isimangaliso Wetland Park, Sodwana Bay provides the travelling diver with a vast array of unspoilt coral reefs populated with a huge diversity of Indo-Pacific fish & invertebrates. Apart from the great diving & beautiful coral reefs, the area offers fun and excitement for the non-diver too. From quad bike riding, kiteboarding and paintballing to day trips to Makhasa Game Reserve for Rhino or Buffalo tracking on foot, you're sure to find something that appeals to you, your friends and/or family. Coral Divers offers you a very comfortable diving holiday experience while retaining the rustic appeal of an out-of-the-way bush camp. The area is covered with dense coastal forest offering exquisite scenery, bird watching, and a number of small mammals including Bush Babies, Genets, Duiker and Striped Mongoose. Sodwana is accessible by car, however we can arrange transfers from Hluhluwe - Bushlands (The BazBus drop off point) should you not have your own vehicle. Petrol & Diesel are available from the petrol station in the National Park, and there is a small supermarket which can provide you with essentials such as food, drink and sun block. There are a couple of restaurants both within and outside of the Park, as well as our local night club, 'Maak 'n Jol', where you can dance the night away. Sodwana is also within driving distance of a number of amazing game reserves including Makhasa Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve, Phinda Game Reserve & the Hluhluwe Mfolozi Park. We invite you to take a look through our site to find out a little more about Coral Divers - Sodwana Bay and the diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coral Divers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Divers Sodwana, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing