We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diving lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Divers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Divers
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Diving lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised, was mot sure what to expect,and got a well run diving lodge. From the assistants on the beach to the diving staff to the lodge staff they were friendly, efficient and great. Note that is a diving lodge, and not a dive star hotel. Diving was also superb, not hard to see why it is one of the top dive sires in the world

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HomerSimpson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. All feedback is greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    117
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
104
80
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very efficiently and effectively run diving facility. Welcoming staff ready to help us with our many questions. We were older learners and the diving staff was professional, attentive, very skilled and eager to help us. The range of sleeping facilities was wide to meet a variety of needs. Food was very good from buffet line to personal orders to self-catering and braai possibilities. The setting is uncommercialized and blends well with the natural setting. We loved our experience here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Bill

Thank you kindly for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

There is a range of accommodation available from really basic to reasonably comfortable but lets face it we're there for the diving and that works like clockwork, the Coral Divers experience is like a well oiled machine, the service is great and the food pretty good too.
If you are wanting to do the Sodwana Bay diving experience, Coral Divers is the way to go, a very professional operation.

Room Tip: Go for a cabin with ensuite, it's worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello there

Thank you for your review! We continually strive to improve so any feedback is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Excellent diving, wonderful atmosphere, very organised and professional. Many enthusiastic, competent, young divemasters and superb skippers. Accommodation was comfortable, with mosquito nets over the beds. Breakfast on the beach was a great option as it allowed us to relax between dives and stagger our meal so that we did not dive with a distended stomach.
When I return, which I will, I will opt for the breakfast only option as it allows one to be more flexible about exploring venues outside thenpark or having a braai with new friends in the boma.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Conveniently located within the Sodwana Bay natural reserve and only a short tractor trailer ride to the dive launch site, Coral divers provides an excellent place to stay during a diving trip. We stayed in the more upmarket en-suite accommodation, which is still pretty basic, but very clean and comfortable. The rooms can get very hot in summer, but in winter they are perfectly comfortable. The food is always good, basic, tasty fare - just what you need before or after a long day's diving. There is also very good pub food for lunches (not included in the price). The pool, TV lounge and deck all add to the options for chilling and relaxing with friends after dives.

Room Tip: In summer, ask for a room that is in the shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeRogersZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Good day to you!

Thanks you for writing such a review! We look forward to hearing any comments you may have to help us improve our facilities to make your time with us more enjoyable! All of our D-Camp accommodation now has fans installed to help with the heat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We go to Sodwana about twice a year and always dive with Coral. We try to get Jeff as our skipper because of his wonderful attitude and the way he handles the junior divers in our group. Sodwana has some of the best diving in the world and the professional skippers and DM's at Coral help everyone experience this to the max.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! Your feedback is always valuable to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Coral Divers is the only diving resort in Sodwana Bay actually located within the borders of the protected area. This means you pay park fees and the accommodation is slightly more expensive, but in the low season when we were there it was the only place in Sodwana that actually had a reasonable amount of people staying and diving there. We met some really great people there and had a super nice time. In the other diving resorts and lodges we wouldn't have had such good company, or even any buddies for our dive courses.

Regarding the dive courses. They are good value, as accommodation is included and you get free gear hire for any fun dives after your course. We took the ensuite cabin, which is quite nice but expensive, especially since breakfast is not included. Comparing this to St Lucia accommodation it's quite expensive. However, in the low season I think there is no other place in Sodwana Bay you would want to stay for above mentioned reason that it's just more fun with other people.

Regarding the instructors and dive masters: they have a course where people go from non-divers to instructor in 1 year. Most people leave after that, so you will find that some dive masters have just been dive master for a month and your open water instructor might be someone who got their instructors license last week (don't worry, in that case she is supervised by a more experienced instructor). The lack of experience these people make up by being very keen and passionate about diving and showing you what great things Sodwana Bay has to offer under water. The diving itself is amazing in Sodwana Bay!

The menu for lunch/dinner is quite boring, so either take food with you to braai (barbecue), or buy some things at the shop. We found the buffet dinner nice, but quite expensive (again).

To summarize: we had an amazing time at Coral Divers. The courses (open water and advanced open water) and the fun dives afterwards were cheap, everything else was a bit expensive (food and accommodation). In the low season there are no other options in Sodwana Bay. If you are going in any other season I don't know how it would be.

Room Tip: Ensuites are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wouter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sodwana
4.4 mi away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mseni Beach Lodge
Mseni Beach Lodge
#2 of 15 in Sodwana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triton Dive Lodge
Triton Dive Lodge
#3 of 15 in Sodwana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
21.1 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
#1 of 3 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vis-Agie Fishing and Diving Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Divers

Property: Coral Divers
Address: Private Bag 320 | Mbazwana, 3974, Sodwana 3974, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Sodwana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Sodwana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Divers 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Divers is a PADI 5 star Gold Palm IDC/CDC Centre situated in Sodwana Bay, South Africa. We are proud to be able to provide all levels of PADI scuba instruction from Bubble Maker to Instructor Development Courses as well as accommodation and dive charters. Lying within the boundaries of the Isimangaliso Wetland Park, Sodwana Bay provides the travelling diver with a vast array of unspoilt coral reefs populated with a huge diversity of Indo-Pacific fish & invertebrates. Apart from the great diving & beautiful coral reefs, the area offers fun and excitement for the non-diver too. From quad bike riding, kiteboarding and paintballing to day trips to Makhasa Game Reserve for Rhino or Buffalo tracking on foot, you're sure to find something that appeals to you, your friends and/or family. Coral Divers offers you a very comfortable diving holiday experience while retaining the rustic appeal of an out-of-the-way bush camp. The area is covered with dense coastal forest offering exquisite scenery, bird watching, and a number of small mammals including Bush Babies, Genets, Duiker and Striped Mongoose. Sodwana is accessible by car, however we can arrange transfers from Hluhluwe - Bushlands (The BazBus drop off point) should you not have your own vehicle. Petrol & Diesel are available from the petrol station in the National Park, and there is a small supermarket which can provide you with essentials such as food, drink and sun block. There are a couple of restaurants both within and outside of the Park, as well as our local night club, 'Maak 'n Jol', where you can dance the night away. Sodwana is also within driving distance of a number of amazing game reserves including Makhasa Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve, Phinda Game Reserve & the Hluhluwe Mfolozi Park. We invite you to take a look through our site to find out a little more about Coral Divers - Sodwana Bay and the diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Coral Divers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Divers Sodwana, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing