We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice diving with decent accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Divers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Divers
Certificate of Excellence
Namibia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice diving with decent accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Coral Divers offers really good diving. The Sodwana reef is a stunning place to visit. The staff is enthusiastic and passionate about diving. We were really lucky with the diving conditions, but generally conditions are easy.

Accommodation is basic but sufficient. You can do self catering or order from the restaurant. Food is good.

Room Tip: The standard cabins are good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marki663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    117
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
104
80
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Coral Divers is certainly first and foremost about the location. It is a slick, well-run operation and early May was a good time to visit (though the rates were still peak). I can imagine that in summer, the heat and crowds would be unbearable.

We chose the highest tier accommodation and it was perfectly clean, comfortable and rustic, with a lovely outdoor shower. Don't expect 5-star linen though (or brand new pillows). The accommodation perfectly suits the surroundings and we were quite happy for 3 nights.

We enjoyed the food very much - simple, plentiful and really welcome after 2 dives in the morning! The snack bar (serves food almost all day) made some of the best toasted sandwiches with chips that I have ever tried. I also saw some great pizzas and wraps leaving the kitchen. Alcohol is quite marked up, but you'll be so tired after the day's diving and in bed by 8pm.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. It takes one dive to learn the ropes of how the operation works. Although everyone will explain it to you when asked, there are no signs indicating the procedure from start to finish, so it's best to ask about timing and how everything runs. I think Coral could probably save a lot of time by printing a big information board with a few FAQs, but perhaps they don't want to remove the human element of it all. The staff had some great stories about sightings, the history of the place, etc. so it is well worth speaking to them and interacting with other divers, who are all interested in sharing experiences of the sites they've been to, etc.

We did 6 dives which were absolutely amazing. The variety of coral and fish is quite unbelievable (one could take a cross-section of any of the reefs we saw and count well over 30 species of life just in one spot). We were even lucky enough to see a dolphin and her young one - apparently absolutely rare, even in Sodwana. The skippers have some great skill and it's very enjoyable navigating the surf. I would not recommend wasting too much time on the boat at the start of the dive though, as the boat can really move around quite a lot and the surface is often quite choppy. Beneath the surface was always tranquil, so rather have your gear sorted out properly on shore (i.e. no faulty o-rings, missing masks, etc.) and descend as soon as possible.

We will definitely return and can highly recommend Coral Divers to other scuba enthusiasts. You won't be disappointed, regardless of what the weather is doing above the surface!

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from the roadside. It's not a problem when accommodation isn't full, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable dive lodge. Accommodation is basic but clean and it works well. Don't expect anything fancy but the diving makes it worthwhile. Cabins have fans and netting n the windows to keep the monkeys out, so don't expect aircon. A convenient lodge close to the beach with a reasonable restaurant and pool are which will keep the kids entertained if they don't dive. Tractors run between the beach and lodge regularly and beach assistants are available to help with gear and kitting up. Breakfasts and dinners are buffet and not unreasonable.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is all about location; it is quite stunning. Sodwana Bay is one of worlds top dive sites, plus the beach and surrounding bush are also beautiful and full of wildlife to watch. From your cabin you will see monkeys, mongoose and duiker. Actually the monkeys will take any chance they get to come into your cabin to steal food, so pay attention. We had the en-suite cabins which had comfy beds, a fan and a mosquito net. To the rear was an open-air bathroom with shower - a real experience!
Food was quite basic but plentiful and the pool deck was a good place to relax after dives.

Divers should note that conditions at Sodwana can be challenging, as I now also see from other reviews here. One days diving was called off due to the swell conditions and quite frankly the day I did dive was very borderline in terms of safe and enjoyable conditions. Surface swell was 2m+ and the ground swell at 18m was very strong and viz rather poor. This impacted upon my visit but the sea state cannot be forseen. I would really think twice before diving here again and would really prefer to go along with a trusted buddy before diving these reefs again in ordet to get the most out of it. Personally I am not into the PADI system of 'group' diving, however our dive master conducted the dive well. I took along my DSMB but was quite suprised that apart from the dive master none of the other 8 or so divers seemed to carry one or was this actually mentioned at all in the briefing! Water temp was nice and warm at around 26C. RIBs were of a decent quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Young47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant in all aspects. Skippers more than helpful. If you dive there be generous they deserve it. The accommodation was very nice and clean. Would recommend taking your own Fan or mobile Aircon in summer months.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Petrus U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralDivers, Guest Relations Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We hope to see you at Coral Divers again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our time at coral divers, but just a note of warning to anyone who hasn't dived here before. I'm an experienced diver, but my husband was a beginner. Our first dive the conditions were very bad - lots of swell and poor visibility. In my view they shouldnt have let anyone dive that day, it's just not worth the risk. Especially not letting an advanced open water group go out, when some of them had only done 5 or so dives ever. Anyway we did go out on one of the ribs, through some really big breakers out to five mile reef. As we were getting our gear on the skipper was helping people get kitted and the dive master and dive instructor were also helping people get prepared. That's when we heard a shout from the dive master saying 'wave, hold on!'. We looked up to see a 10m wave right in front of us. The skipper tried to turn the boat, but it was too late we capsized and the boat flipped back onto all of us. We were negatively weighted so we immediately started sinking. Didn't know which way was up. Terrifying! One of the girls had cut her head really badly, but everyone made it to the surface. Then we were floating around for an hour as the dive master searched for a radio and then a flare. Eventually she sent the flare up and the coastguard saw it. Then two boats from coral divers came out to get us.

I understand it's a dangerous sport and we should make our own choices about when to dive or not. But there were some simple safety measures they could have taken which would have been sensible and I wasn't all that impressed with how they looked after us when we got back to shore. It seemed like they were most concerned about the boat.

Overall, I would say its a nice place, but be careful to make a sensible decision about when to dive. Don't assume they will make the best decision for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GluvC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you want to get away from city life and blow some bubbles, this is a great place to do so. Accomodation is basic, but clean and convenient for divers. A free shuttle to the beach for you dives, helpful and friendly staff, well organised, good rental equipment and a decent restaurant.

If u want 5-star accomodation, try another spot. If you want a superb dive centre, this is one of them.

Many thanks to Lauren for getting me on the dives I wanted. And a big thank u to Michelle and Senzo (my DMs) for BBM'ing the dolphins, whales and sharks before we went out!

See you guys again soon!

Louis

Room Tip: If u can, get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sodwana
4.4 mi away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mseni Beach Lodge
Mseni Beach Lodge
#2 of 15 in Sodwana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triton Dive Lodge
Triton Dive Lodge
#3 of 15 in Sodwana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
21.1 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
#1 of 3 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vis-Agie Fishing and Diving Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Divers

Property: Coral Divers
Address: Private Bag 320 | Mbazwana, 3974, Sodwana 3974, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Sodwana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Sodwana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Divers 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Divers is a PADI 5 star Gold Palm IDC/CDC Centre situated in Sodwana Bay, South Africa. We are proud to be able to provide all levels of PADI scuba instruction from Bubble Maker to Instructor Development Courses as well as accommodation and dive charters. Lying within the boundaries of the Isimangaliso Wetland Park, Sodwana Bay provides the travelling diver with a vast array of unspoilt coral reefs populated with a huge diversity of Indo-Pacific fish & invertebrates. Apart from the great diving & beautiful coral reefs, the area offers fun and excitement for the non-diver too. From quad bike riding, kiteboarding and paintballing to day trips to Makhasa Game Reserve for Rhino or Buffalo tracking on foot, you're sure to find something that appeals to you, your friends and/or family. Coral Divers offers you a very comfortable diving holiday experience while retaining the rustic appeal of an out-of-the-way bush camp. The area is covered with dense coastal forest offering exquisite scenery, bird watching, and a number of small mammals including Bush Babies, Genets, Duiker and Striped Mongoose. Sodwana is accessible by car, however we can arrange transfers from Hluhluwe - Bushlands (The BazBus drop off point) should you not have your own vehicle. Petrol & Diesel are available from the petrol station in the National Park, and there is a small supermarket which can provide you with essentials such as food, drink and sun block. There are a couple of restaurants both within and outside of the Park, as well as our local night club, 'Maak 'n Jol', where you can dance the night away. Sodwana is also within driving distance of a number of amazing game reserves including Makhasa Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve, Phinda Game Reserve & the Hluhluwe Mfolozi Park. We invite you to take a look through our site to find out a little more about Coral Divers - Sodwana Bay and the diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Coral Divers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Divers Sodwana, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing