We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sodwana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Day in Africa Lodge
Elgin, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value and food”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Andre and Dors are very accommodating, helpful and hard working hosts. The resort was clean and comfortable. The food was excellent. It was really good value for money, with big meal portions for hungary divers. The ablutions never felt crowded. I think a toilet closer to the top rooms would help a trek in the night.We did not dive with them but they seem to be very organised on that front. I would definitly I would recommend it for families and divers wanting a casual experience at a very good price.

Room Tip: I would go for family room as near ablutions. The rooms can be noisy if you get a neighbour who snor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksværk, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have travelled through southern Africa with painting groups the last 7 years, and A day in Africa lodge was yet another great experience. The lodge offers a great atmosphere, the rooms are nice and rustic and not having a private bath and wc gave no problem whatsoever - We had full board all week and the food was wonderfull. The restaurant "Elephants waterhole" served us lovely english breakfast, delicious tasty dishes for lunch and dinner. The table was every day layed beautifull. Our hosts went out of their way to make our stay perfect.
They took us on late night walk along the beach to look for turtle eggs, drove us around and up to Sibaya lake to see the hippos and served us a wonderfull Braai in the excotic boma.
A day in Africa definitely need to be more than just "a day". It is a paradise of beauty, peace & quiet, at the beautiful Sodwana beach area. André is busy building a hugh swimmingpool - so next time will be even better. For a group of artists like us - it offered lovely covered areas next to the rooms just perfect for paintingworkshops. A true African Paradise. We want to come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mclean-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbazwana, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

What a wonderful place , i will never stay anywhere else in Sodwana , Andre and Doris are super awesome hosts and Tessa is probably one of the best chef's in the country! We have always had a wonderful time at A Day In Africa. Truly is a part of paradise! Awesome food , spectacular diving.

Room Tip: Room number 5 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed over with our tent for a couple of days to explore Sodwana bay. The camping spots are big enough for a proper tent and car. The terrain is clean and well maintained as is the big dinning hall. Andre and Dorris are super friendly and flexible; you can decide on the spot if you feel like diving (with their good staff) or not and they arrange lunch for everyone joining for a dive. We could use the kitchen for some of our stuff and she even arranged a small Christmas dinner for us. Very sweet.
Andre took us on a ride through the fields, looking for game and even to a nearby lake to see some wildlife. Staying over with the two and all their dogs was a real pleasure and one of the highlights of our vacation. Take the chance if you are nearby to visit them and enjoy their company!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jos_and_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Visited in July 2010 on a school trip for a week of scuba diving at Sodwana Bay. Had an incredible adventure, learnt an amazing new skill and spent a week in heaven. The staff were so warm and welcoming. I felt like i was living in Andre, Dorris's and the dog's home, there was a great sense of community with plenty of activities to keep us busy during down time. There was such a tranquil, relaxed atmosphere that i never wanted to end. I'd love to return. Best Holiday EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Stayed for 2 days & all employees including owner & his wife were exceptional! The place is a little out of the way & is not 5 star but the service is. I f you are in for some r&r then this fits the bill.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

This was our second visit to A Day in Africa Lodge, just 5 weeks apart as we were in Sodwana Bay doing PADI diving courses with a company called ReefTeach.

The accommodation has good quality facilities, a shower, toilet and wash basin block that had plenty of hot water and spotlessly clean whatever time of day you used them.

This was a good value base for our diving holiday, the food was traditional South African and freshly prepared.

Our hosts, Andre and Doris were great, very helpful and friendly and flexible when it came to preparinl meals, especially if we called to say we were running late on the beach when diving, they just held on till we got back and then put the final touches to our brunch.

We staying in the 'house' , a thatched roof cabin which was huge with a really comfy double bed and separated space with 3 single beds.

Andre is in the process of building a swimming pool which will really add to the Lodge.

  • Liked — Comfy bed
  • Disliked — Lack of pool
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NettySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sodwana
2.3 mi away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
183 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coral Divers
Coral Divers
#1 of 18 in Sodwana
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triton Dive Lodge
Triton Dive Lodge
#3 of 18 in Sodwana
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Vis-Agie Fishing and Diving Resort
14.2 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#2 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Natural Moments Bush Camp & Diving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Day in Africa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Day in Africa Lodge

Property: A Day in Africa Lodge
Address: Main Street | Sodwana Bay, Sodwana, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Sodwana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sodwana
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
A Day In Africa Lodge Sodwana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing