We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ghost Mountain Inn(Mkuze)(Great Value!)
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$192
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$124
$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
72
90
40
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
90
40
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive shopsodwana baygas braaiwooden houseper vehiclepizzaserviced dailyself cateringdinner menubar downstairs isboats departthatch roofsafe parkingpleasant place to stayplenty to eatrecommend staying hererestaurant serves
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 215 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, great scenery.the dive club was excellent, great staff, friendly and very helpful....we enjoyed 6 dives each my wife and I, and will definitively do that again;)
Restaurant has a limited menu, especially on the seafood side..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mehdi_daoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for two nights and would like to have stayed a while longer.
Accomodation was good and the food in the resaurant was good quality and varied.
Staff at reception were very helpfull and efficient.
My youngest son arranged scuba diving through the on-site diving centre and all trips were on time and well organised.
Some lovely walks within the site, which is a bird watchers paradise, and Sodwana Bay itself is ideal for "beach walking"

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveoYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The dive organization is good. The rental equipment is ok, not very good, but acceptable if you don't have your own equipment. The staff is friendly (especially Mika, thank you) and willing to help.
The rooms are only average. When there is wind outside, there is also wind inside the rooms. When we arrived, there was no electricity and while taking a shower, the gas bottle became empty so the shower went cold.
The restaurant was very bad, bad quality meat and the lasagna was hot on the outside, but frozen inside. After reporting this problem, it was offered to deliver a new one: same problem. So apparently the people in the kitchen do not even know how to warm a plate of lasagna. The following days we decided to have diner in the Lighthouse restaurant, just outside the gate, on the opposite side of the road which is really good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rienk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I really enjoyed my time at Sodwana Bay. The huts are basic but good, the bed are comfy and everthing is very clean. Each hut has it's own veranda so nice to sit outside and listen to the birds.

Diving was great too! Bradley was a great dive instructor and after 5 dives I succeeded for my PADI Advanced. Nice! Atmosphere in an around the diveshop is also relaxed, laid back and helpfull. Definitely a place to recommend. The material is a bit dated but everything works fine.

If you're not into diving and fishing: only go here if you want to do absolutely nothing ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked Sodwana Bay lodge for the 'Shootout special' which was good value for money. My only gripe is that the dates for the shootout were 3-6 Oct and the special was for 4-7, so we only got two dives in before the photos had to be submitted for the competition and we missed the whole registraton/orientation evening. The bathroom in the family unit was better than the one we stayed in last time, bed very comfortable, clean, we could actually regulate the water temp but the showerheads need to be changed! they are inexpensive to change and the lodge would find their water consumption would decrease if the direction of the water actually went where people needed it.

The restaurant was the same, adequate, and excellent staff as usual. I asked reception for a needle and thread to do a quick repair but no chance, this is a simple thing that surely one of the housekeeping ladies has in the laundry? but no. I find at this lodge after two visits that the reception staff are pleasant enough but not willing to put in any extra effort to help guests.

For families who don't want to self cater this is still one of the best choices and if you get a special like we did R1650 for 3 nights dinner, bed, breakfast and 5 dives per person its really good value.

The dive centre is excellent, Ben runs a great operation, helpful and friendly (and loves to tease!) the skippers, DM's and helpers all good fun and knowledgeable. We will surely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annalagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews