We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a tenner”
Review of Cheadle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cheadle House
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Not bad for a tenner”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Our experience was much as others have stated here. It's also handy for a John Lewis store just around the corner which has a decent cafe (but doesn't open until 10am). Planes can be a nuisance, the clock does tick, the mattresses are a bit wobbly, the wi-fi is weak in some rooms and the TV's need binoculars to see them but the rooms are a reasonable size, they're clean, the staff are courteous, there's complimentary coffee and tea and the parking is free. Yes it's soulless but at a tenner a night it's fine.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    180
    100
    46
    26
See reviews for
97
200
19
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2009

I stayed here over the Easter weekend with my husband and mother. We got an excellent room rate as this hotel is normally used by businesses for conferences and meetings. The aeroplanes were hardly noticeable. We were assigned rooms which were above the kitchens and found the kitchen fans very noisy. When we mentioned this to the staff, they offered us new rooms, without any fuss. The first rooms were fine, but we were delighted with the new rooms as they were more spacious and had sunny bathrooms. Breakfast provision was variable depending on who set it up I suppose. Teapots would have been preferable to the jugs of hot water.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teashopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Hotel itself is mainly set up for conferences, so it does feel a little impersonal for visitors, but the staff are helpful, the rooms are clean and well equipped (ironing facilities, hairdryer and tea/coffee in rooms). Have stayed several times in the last few months and standard of rooms is always high. Best things about this place are location (very convenient for Manchester airport, which is why we chose it) and free use of the nearby Village leisure facilities (far better than any inhouse leisure at other De Vere venues visited).
Only complaint is about breakfast, which we had at a 'promotional reduced rate' of £7.50 per head. Limited selection of cold items, cooked breakfast was very poor quality and the overall arrangement of service was haphazard (e.g. you had to make tea with hot water from a flask). Wouldn't have breakfast there again, but overall a good bet (particularly when they have promotional rates on the rooms).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PopcornB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

As long as you check the devere www and work out that this a basic hotel (not much more than a glorified travelodge) it will serve the purpose - it thats what you're looking for!

As many have said, the hotel is very much in the flight patch of manchester airport, but then again what isn't if its on the southern outskirts of manchester?!! We only heard 3 or 4 planes the whole time you're there and we slpet well - not at all kept awake from the planes.

Staff were very helpful and friendly, giving us walking intructions to the nearest trian station - Gatley (20mins VERY brisk walk, more like 25-30mins for the majority of us) as this was a better (and much cheaper option than a taxi) if you din't mind a walk.

Rooms were simple, and quite compact, yet very clean - no complaints. We would stay again for a stop-over, but iits not a hotel where you would really spend any time at it/in the room (apart fomr sleeping) as theres nothign really to do.

We also liked the very close proximity (100m) of TGI Fridays!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

Booked the Cheadle house room via a deal on their devere conference centre website. The room was a tenner, so excellent value. It was probably worth about 40 quid if I was paying without a deal. I was impressed with pretty much everything. The staff were approachable, helpful, professional & added to experience. The breakfast maitre d' was very nice, professional & inobtrusive.
The coffee was free in reception for us, lovely it is too - lattes & macchiatos, very welcome addition.
The parking is good, well lit & reception was as required. Yes, the rooms are not overly spacious but has all amentities, bed massive & modern fittings. If we could change something we would prefer the tv to face the bed rather than at side, but hey it was fine, clean & quiet even though we were right near lifts.
Others have referred to plane noise, we never heard any, I was expecting something but would never have known it was near the airport.
There is a restaurant with 3 choices for each course (think it was £20 for two courses, functional Im sure but we headed into Didsbury. This is about £8 in taxi & really buzzing with loads of choice for bars & restaurants.
We had a great stay & was made all the better for the price but even without this I would recommend it

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trackerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

This hotel is very comfortable, the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean yet (as another reviewer mentioned) cosy. The bar is reasonably priced, and there's a nice decking area outside with tables and chairs to sit outside the bar area in summer.

One word of warning : double check whether or not the tea and coffee facilities just past reception are free. I was rounded upon by the staff for helping myself when there was non left in the breakfast urns, being told its not free. Despite this De Vere's website still states its free and it has been before when I've stayed here. I actually got embarassed by the staff here about this, other guests started sticking up for me but it got sorted out in the end....

I'm not going to let this taint my view on the hotel though as it is excellent and i'd fully recommend it.

A decent gastro pub nearby is Table Table, plush inside and pretty good food with attentive friendly staff. Just cross the carpark and turn right at the Premier Travel Inn complex.

  • Liked — Leisure facilities attached
  • Disliked — Being charged for what is advertised as free tea/coffee
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JonCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

This is a conference centre with bedrooms. As another reviewer said I am writing this review in the hotel thanks to free wifi. BUT the rooms (standard) are basic. 14" portable tele. No room service as such. Set meal for dinner ( no a la carte) in what is a restaurant a bit like a school canteen.
On the positive side everything is modern and the staff were helpful.
There is a Premier Inn 50 yards away which is cheaper, just as basic but with bigger television. The restaurant is better and it has more atmosphere.
If you have to stay somewhere on a course or training event this fine. Not for non-business customer.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Basic!!!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MickeyBlue-Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 116 in Manchester
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
2.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 116 in Manchester
1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pymgate Lodge Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheadle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheadle House

Property: Cheadle House
Address: Cheadle House Business Park Royal Crescent | Royal Crescent, Cheadle SK8 3FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cheadle House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Cheadle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheadle House Hotel Cheadle
Cheadle House England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing