We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic for ****”
Review of Cheadle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheadle House
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Reviewed January 25, 2009

This is a conference centre with bedrooms. As another reviewer said I am writing this review in the hotel thanks to free wifi. BUT the rooms (standard) are basic. 14" portable tele. No room service as such. Set meal for dinner ( no a la carte) in what is a restaurant a bit like a school canteen.
On the positive side everything is modern and the staff were helpful.
There is a Premier Inn 50 yards away which is cheaper, just as basic but with bigger television. The restaurant is better and it has more atmosphere.
If you have to stay somewhere on a course or training event this fine. Not for non-business customer.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MickeyBlue-Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Cheadle House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 557 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2008

Actually writing the review whilst still a guest as the wifi internet is free!...and the place deserves a good write up.

This place is modern, very clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and aim to please. The rooms are spacious and have a cossy at the same time. The hotel is well located near the airport and has easy connections to the M60/62/56 which opens up most other places in the North.

Yes you can hear the airplanes but the noise is minimal as the windows offer good soundproofing. You are more likely to hear other residents moving around the hotel than the planes. (What are the other reviewers moaning about??!)

The breakfast today was top class. The food was hot and fresh and not too much was left out on display, they clearly cook the food as and when required as apposed to cook it in one go and leave it out all morning.

Parking is secure with good lighting too.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Briantranseauisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

I am writing this sat in the hotel bed unable to sleep due to the noise from the planes landing!

What can I say - this has to be the most uninspiring hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay at, the only plus point is it only cost us £39, i feel this is a little too much though!

This hotel is very clinical looking, the rooms are very basic with flourescent bulbs, walls are paper thin, we have had to put the tv on all night to drown out the sound of the next door neighbours snoring, i'm sure someone was tap dancing in clogs upstairs at about 7am, there is huge ticking clock in the room which makes you feel like a crazy insomniac watching the time tick by in between landing planes! I promise you I could usually sleep through anything but this even broke through my sleep barrier!

We stayed here for convenience of the motorway but if you are looking for an airport hotel there are much bettter places to stay closer to the airport that are actually quieter!

I think the hotel is some old hospital building and there is a hospital right next to the car park so have some strange attraction to hospitals then this place is perfect.

Staff are cold and clinical just like the hotel, but on a positive point there is free flowing tea and coffee however I would say don't drink the coffee as you need all the help you can get sleeping!! Oh and also there is free internet that will keep you company in the sleepless hours.

No facilities here whatsover and bring your binoculars if you want to watch the tv its tiny - you won't need your binoculars if you want to see the people sat on the plane though! :o)

Going to stop there I could go on but am sure you have the idea.

Two very tired travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tw0happytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

I booked this hotel with parking package and it was very cheap (£30 for the room). I have stayed at Devere Mottram Hall and thought it was a sister hotel However, it is not on Devere's website only on a conference website for the hotel chain. This is because there is nothing sister about the Cheadle Hotel. I seen the pictures of a converted hospital and thought high ceilings, original character and luxury. I couldn't of been more wrong.

The hotel is situated on an industrial estate about 10 minutes drive from the airport. It is surrounded with a Premier Travel Inn with pub and restaurant, TGI Fridays and David Lloyd Leisure Complex. There is a barrier entrance system. The car park is well lit and CCTV covers the area.

The entrance to the hotel shows the real story. think ikea and basics. The staff were helpful and pointed out that the room may not have a Z bed for my daughter to sleep on. They asked me to call them if there wasn't one and when i did call them delivered one all made up very quickly.

The lounge area reminded me of a work conference centre big open space with coffee machines and square bright colour sofas. The room was lit up so well you wouldn't feel comfortable sitting there for long. The hotel bedroom was extremely small. It reminded me of a Travel lodge with a bed that was a bit better quality. It had a double bed small closet and windows overlooking the front of the building. This was good as planes coming into land at Manchester were to be heard and seen as if they were about to land on the roof. Yes they really were that close. I now understand why other reviews say about it being at the end of the runway as it literally is. The bathroom was basic with a small bath and shower. The towels were a dirty grey colour and well past their shelf life. The room had a hairdryer and tea making facilities.

The planes were loud and I wouldn't of wanted to be getting up at 4 am for a flight as the last planes dont stop until about midnight.

Would I stay here again. Yes but only for £40 max as it really is not worth any further money. It was clean and served its purpose for my early morning flight the next day and it was good to be able to go to TGI Fridays for a nice relaxing meal and drink at the beginning of my holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Wanted a night away...just me and hubby for our anniversary. It was clean and comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. But noise from planes taking off and landing was awful....it was ok with windows tightly shut....its just a shame we were boiling in our room and couldnt open the windows!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WirralWellyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

I had the misfortune of staying at Cheadle House on a Monday night in July. The “Hotel” is located on a business park and feels like it’s located at the end of the runway of Manchester airport given the constantly landing planes overhead.

The room was sparse but clean. With white walls, white duvet, and plain carpet, the room was truly minimalist. Windows are restricted to opening about 4” which doesn’t do much for the ventilation properties on a hot night, but given the noise from the aircraft, it’s probably as open as you would want them to be.
The bathroom wash hand basin seemed partially blocked and took a long time to drain – something that would be apparent to who ever cleaned the room. Mixing to hot/cold water on the shower to the desired temperature was a fickle event. (Hot full on… cold only just on.) On a positive note, internet access was provided free of charge.

I thought the food was particularly poor. Lunch was from a limited selection and was of less then average quality. Whilst eating lunch, I was asked by the restaurant manager to select my food for that night as they had to “order it in.” Again, given the limited selection (3 starters, 3 main, 3 deserts), I choose to eat out despite dinner being part of the deal.

The buffet style breakfast was little better. I made my own toast on the domestic toaster provided (the catering model having broken-down.) Sausages were piled in a dish on the buffet, each having a single brown/black stripe along the length, with the remainder of the sausage a flesh-pink. They were arranged stripe-side up in an effect to present them at their best, or more likely, as a result of having been removed from the grill like that. Having turned each sausage over in an attempt to find one with some sort of non-pink colour to the majority of the surface, I left them looking even less presentable then they were. I thought the staff might have noticed and done something… but alas, no. A plate of a dozen or so fried eggs was left out just after I arrived at the restaurant, and were mostly still there when I left 45 minutes later. Only a handful of other people had used the restaurant during that time so the restaurant was not particularly busy, and I really can’t understand why breakfast could not be largely prepared to order.

Shame, a little effort all round my impression could have been so much better. I won’t be back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Des_Munn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

This hotel is situated on a business park. It is a victorian hospital building that has been very tastfully converted into a well appointed hotel. We stayed at the weekend in the executive suite which was modern and very tastefully presented.
The reception staff were excellent and the parking was reasonably secure.It is defintely a conference venue earning its keep at the weekend as a hotel. Breakfast was good and buffet style.The unusual layout of the dining room possibly reflected the fact that large groups could sit together to eat and talk business during the week.
Exceptionally clean and modern throughout but with one problem, the noise of the aircraft on final approach to Manchester( it felt like they were just above arm height) and if you required it no meals or bar at the weekend. Worth a try.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rushdenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#44 of 120 in Manchester
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
0.7 mi away
Pymgate Lodge Airport Hotel
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheadle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheadle House

Address: Cheadle House Business Park Royal Crescent | Royal Crescent, Cheadle SK8 3FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range: $69 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cheadle House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cheadle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheadle House Hotel Cheadle
Cheadle House England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing