We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheadle House
Nearby Hotels
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club(Manchester)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury(Manchester)(Great Value!)
$32
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wycliffe Hotel(Stockport)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveler rating
209
193
116
50
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
193
116
50
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness parktgi fridaysflight pathmanchester airportsunken bathpremium roomdavid lloydfree wifiwedding venuegood sizecommunal areasevery member of staffroom was largebooked this hotelclose to the airportlovely hotelan early flight
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 598 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed for one night as visiting friends in the Manchester area. First thing is if you are planning on going into manchester or to the trafford centre you need a car as public transport isn't that frequent in this area.
On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and polite and checked us in in no time.
The rooms are a fair size with everything you need, TV, wifi etc, and the bed is comfortable. On a negative the bathroom had seen better days with mould around the sealings of the shower and sink and needs a bit of attention (room 13).
There are free tea and coffee machines available all day which is a nice touch and lots of communal areas as well as a bar to relax in.
We did the room and breakfast option which was an extra £8.50 per person which was pretty poor to be honest. Its just your standard help yourself which is fine but the selection is limited and when we went at 9am most of it had gone including the milk and it took 15mins to replace it all which was unfortunate as we were in a rush. Its good enough if your staying for business or for a flight and have little time in the morning but if you do have time to spare i would suggest leaving earlier and grabbing sometihng nicer and cheaper in town.
The hotel is on the flight path so you can hear the planes but its not too loud and you dont notice them after 5mins.
Overall though a good hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gparkgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear gparkgary,

Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor, whilst staying for one night visiting friends in the Manchester area.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would use the venue again.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future and until then remain with , warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My partner and I were married there last Saturday (15th March, 2014).

This is a great venue for a wedding, as they only do one per day, and really make you feel 'special' and looked after!

Throughout the process, the staff were superb (and we must have dealt with about 6 in total... Rosie (Wedding Planner) was good, Steve (Duty Manager / Master of Ceremony on day) was excellent, as was Andy the F&R (?) manager.

Our check-in and check-out receptionist was also very good, managing our complex bills and receipts, plus numerous 'additional' key requests.

The organisation on the day was excellent, with everything going seamlessly... The process was well managed, with some slack for the inevitable over-runs due to photos / guests gossiping. They certainly made the day feel 'special' and relaxed.

Even our Ceremony Registrars were looked after very well.

The hotel recommended DJ also did an excellent job (as how many ceremonies have you been to were they are 'average') - he played all that we wanted, and slipped in requests almost instantly...)

Rooms were good, with plenty of hot water etc.

The full English breakfast is one of the best we've had (and well worth the 10.50 GBP) - great choices of juices, coffee was good and all the usual suspects, including black pudding.

So, overall would highly recommend for a 'wedding' but also intend to go back and try out the restaurant one evening, as our wedding food was excellent too!. Photos of our food attached (from tasting session and actual meal).

Bar and restaurant area are also very cosy too... and actually have a nice atmosphere.

Thanks to one and all for our great day!
H&M

Room Tip: Being on flight path, you will inevitably hear planes, but its not that bad.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 20x20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear 20x20,

Many thanks for the amazing feedback and review which you left on Tripadvisor.

I am truly delighted to learn that you enjoyed your special wedding day with us on Saturday, 15th March, 2014.

I have passed your extremely complimentary feedback onto Steve, Andrew and Rosie and the rest of the team at the venue who ran your wedding along with the reception manager who checked your guests in and out and managed all the complex bills, receipts and numerous 'additional' key requests.

I sincerely thank you once again for the wonderful feedback that you so kindly provided us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the venue on your first anniversary and until then we remain with, warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights (Friday & Saturday) while visiting friends in the area.
We booked a bed & breakfast rate. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and check in was quick. She came from behind the reception desk to show us where the free coffee machines were, pointed us in the direction of the bar and restaurant, then explained how to find our room. We were given a huge room at the front of the hotel. Our room had a double bed plus there was a large sofa bed in the room so guessing the room can accommodate a family of 4. Bathroom was also quite large and was clean. The downside to the bathroom was the shower over the bath. When using it it sprayed water all over the windowsill otherwise it sprayed around the shower screen over the floor so couldn't help soaking some part of the room! The bedroom was clean and had everything in it that we needed like a hair dryer and tea & coffee. The bed was uncomfortable. To be honest I think it needed replacing. Felt like we were on a waterbed because the whole frame was wobbly. The only other complaint we had about the room was the floor boards were very noisy and walking around the room made the wardrobe doors shake causing quite a lot of noise. Heard a few aeroplanes while in our room but not loud enough to disturb us plus what do you expect if you stay near to an airport?! Breakfast on both mornings was ok but not a huge choice. The manager at breakfast was very friendly and pleasant whereas the waitress seemed quite miserable but that might just be because she was young and not so confident.

To be honest what we paid for the room was a bargain and was the same price as the Premier Inn opposite but we had breakfast included. Across from the hotel there is a Fitness centre (think you need to be a member though) a Table Table restaurant and a TGI Fridays restaurant. We did walk over to TGI Fridays for an evening meal and had great food and service in there.

I would definitely stay here again when visiting our friends. If you book this hotel then expect a basic standard hotel that does the job!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norfolk_Family_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Norfolk_Family_5,

Many thanks for the recent feedback which you so kindly left on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to learn that you found the receptionist to be very helpful at check in, that the procedure was quick and she came from behind the reception desk to show you where the free coffee machines were, pointed you in the direction of the bar and restaurant and explained how to find our room.

I have passed on your comments to the head housekeeper and chef regarding your feedback on how clean the bedroom was and the breakfast.

Please be advised that fitness centre across the road does not require membership and we happily provide complimentary passes for all of our residential guests wishing to avail of this facility.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Cheadle House in the very near future and until then remain with, warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there as I was going in Hospital the next day very early .
The hotel is a bit grubby ..The food we ordered for room service wasn't that nice and expensive for what we ordered ...I agree with other Guests it would be cold in the rooms, but the night we stayed wasn't as cold has it has been, so it wasn't to bad ... I have to say the night porter was very nice and gave us a heater for the room ...
The bar waiter a young man that served my boyfriend the drinks wasn't very nice ..No hello sir ,no smile. just a grumpy face ..as if he couldn't care less about his job!!..
The lady barmaid "Helen" who also bought the food out though was really nice and friendly ..
So in summing up then....... not bad ..but I don't think I would stay there again !

Room Tip: Ask for a Electric Heater for your room if its cold !!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Roberta H,

Many thanks for the recent feedback which you recently left on Tripadvisor.

I apologise in that you found our food wasn't to your liking and that you found it be expensive for what was ordered.

I am happy to note that you found the room to not be cold after the night porter kindly provided you with an additional heater to your room.

I have spoken with my food and bevergae manager reference your comments surrounding the barman and he asked me to pass his apologies on to you as well.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to De Vere Venues Cheadle House upon your next visit and until then remain with.

Kind regards,


Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Booked this hotel as had an early flight from Manchester and was not disappointed at all. Booked through booking.com and got a great rate of just £29. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, had great local information and talked to us like we were old friends. The public areas are clean tidy and spacious, the bar not expensive like a lot of hotels, we were drinking 4 bottles of Bud for £10. The room itself was very big and well insulated from the noise of the planes landing overhead. Would definitely stay here again and pay more as it was definitely worth it. The only flaw I could see but did not affect us was that the telly was about 10 feet away from the end of the bed so would make sitting in bed watching it slightly difficult. On check out at 5am the man on reception again very friendly and wished us a great holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tezzatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear tezzatime,

many thanks for the wonderful feedback which you recently left on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to learn that upon arrival you were met with a very friendly and helpful receptionist, who talked to you as if you were old friends amd enjoyed a great experience during your stay with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future and until then remain with.

Kind regards,


Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews