We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for visiting Manchester !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cheadle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheadle House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Abermule, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for visiting Manchester !”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Double review as didn't add a review from my first visit.

Visit One - Stayed here when flying out early from Manchester Airport with Family. Had two normal double rooms and was pleasantly surprised at the large size of the rooms, correct that was very surprised as I'm, used to using Travel Lodge or Premier Inn for these sort of trips and this was more than twice the size and a full bathroom. Can't remember the numbers, but we were in the turrets overlooking the front. Quick check in and pleasant staff. It is on a flight path, but with the windows closed i didn't hear anything. Didn't use the other facilities as was gone early. Popped to the Trafford Centre to watch a movie and eat the night before which was only 10 minutes away. Parking was free and plenty of room. All in all very satisfied.

Visit Two. - Doing the University visits with my Son and chose here for location, cost and room sizes. Went for a Suite as we were there for a couple for a couple for days and got a good deal. Now the suites ......massive....the lounge was bigger than mine at home and the bathroom had a very nice sunken bath which was gratefully used.. All in all it was excellent, but my boy was rather disappointed that the University campus rooms where not of the same size or standard....keep dreaming.!!!

Got to have breakfast which was very nice and surprisingly low priced compared to other hotel chains. Staff were very polite, attentive and quick for what ever you asked.

Driving into Manchester could not be easier and again the Trafford Center is very close.

All in all I can easily recommend this hotel and will definable use this again when staying in Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Paul O,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Cheadle House; we are all extremely happy that you found everything during your stays with us to be of such high regard. We pride ourselves on all aspects of a guests stay with us and your review stands testament to all the hard work everyone puts in to making each stay memorable.

We hope to see you again soon and wish your son all the best with University, whichever one he may choose.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    177
    96
    45
    23
See reviews for
94
192
19
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here (with lots of family members) in August last year for my cousins wedding. It was such a lovely day! What a great weekend we had.
Staff were friendly and welcoming upon arrival. Quickly checked into our rooms.
My room was a twin, very spacious, neat and tidy. Had a great bathroom.. loved the Anatomicals bathroom products!. I barely spent much time in the room to be honest due to the fact that our stay here was for a wedding, so we were downstairs having a great time! - I can't comment on the value of the rooms as it was part of a wedding package so i am unsure of the cost of these.
It is under the flight path for Manchester Airport so can be slightly noisy, no big deal though - you get some great views when a plane is coming in to land. And from my room window i could see them just after they'd taken off, it was great to watch.
The drinks at the bar were very expensive! :-/
The food at the sit down wedding meal was nice and a continental brealfast was provided the next morning. Due to the fact i'd drank rather a lot the night before, when i arrived down for breakfast a little later than the others, there wasn't much left to choose from :( but i'm not sure my dodgy tummy could handle much more than toast anyway! haha

All in all, we had a fantastic weekend in Cheadle, i would happily come back here and do it all again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel88x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Rachel88x,

Thank you for your great review of the wedding held here last year; it is always gratifying to hear such high regard for the events held here and we are all truly delighted we made the day such a memorable one for your cousin and family.

Our bar drink prices are regularly checked and are in line with most major bars and hotels in the area, but we are sorry if you found them to be a little expensive; I have fed this back to the relevant staff here so that we can review the pricing once more. We are all however delighted that you still have fond memories of your time here and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Great Britain
Level Contributor
557 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Visiting for a business meeting, my welcome in the late evening was friendly and efficient, and I was soon booked into room 45 on the first floor. I enjoyed a tasty meal in the restaurant. My meetings on the Friday were uneventful, but a civil wedding followed by a reception meant that we were unable to dine in the restaurant or use the bar that evening; room service was available, and I enjoyed an excellent pizza, followed by ice cream. Breakfast was a buffet, with freshly prepared food and attentive service.

However, if there was a wedding, with subsequent unavailability of the restaurant/bar, this could inconvenience "non-wedding" guests, who were not informed of this when booking, and who planned to spend the evening in the hotel.

Staff were friendly and enthusiastic, and my overall experience of the stay was very pleasant. The hotel could certainly improve its signage within the business park, and on the main approach roads. As there is only one hotel in the vicinity, the brown pictorial sign of a bed would be adequate on the approach roads to Cheadle Royal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear WilliamRead,

Thank you for another great review of Cheadle House; it was our pleasure to welcome you back to us once again and we are all so pleased that you found everything to be so welcoming and pleasant.

We are in the process of updating property information owing to an increase in our wedding and events bookings, to ensure that any food-service affecting events are clearly advised when booking and your feedback will assist in us doing this accurately and correctly, so thank you for your comments regarding this.

We hope to see you again on another visit and trust your meeting was a success!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Was perfect for an overnight stay before a flight from Manchester! Bed was comfy, can confirm that the room service was tasty (especially the double fried chips!) and the staff were attentive and friendly!

We got it for a bargain price too...wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if in Manchester!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikislynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear nikislynch,

Thank you for your great comments on your stay here at Cheadle House; we are all delighted you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We came to England for our son's marriage to a local girl. We stayed here for a week and were very pleased with the over-all experience. There did seem to be a communication breakdown between the wedding coordinator and the daughter in law. She held rooms but did not put thru the registration system which was a small hold up during the check in process. We were told our room number and when we went to find it, could not. We spent several minutes searching, only to find out we had to get off the elevator then climb stairs to the next floor to get to our room. No big deal except we had been awake for over 28 hours and were a bit frustrated. The room was very clean, attractive, and modestly appointed. It met all our expectations and was a wonderful place to rest our weary bodies each night. The staff at breakfast during the week were our favorite! The lovely girl with dark, short hair remembered I like iced tea - being from The United States. Every morning she made sure to ask if I wanted a large glass of ice for this. A little bit of home in a land far away. The bar staff in the evening was always pleasant and accommodating. Food prepared for the reception was absolutely incredible - the culinary staff should be proud! The wait staff at all times was above reproach. The wedding luncheon and reception was outstanding. Steve was very thorough the night before explaining what was going to happen and when and what each of our responsibilities would be. On the wedding day, there was a very unexpected moment that could have become disastrous. I cannot thank Steve enough for being a voice of reason and calmness. He is a huge asset to this company. My mothers heart cannot thank him enough for his cool, quick thinking. The major tourist hitch we found was that we had to rely on taxi's most of the time, which the hotel staff was very helpful in arranging for us. There were a lot of business meetings going on and sometimes during the mornings the lobby was quite loud. However, this is their primary business and we knew this going in. Beautiful décor, but not over the top, comfortable in every way! Some things are a different experience than American hotels, however, we will choose to go there again if we need a place to stay while visiting. Great choice!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #49. It was spacious with a king size bed, desk, wardrobe and dresser, lounge chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear RBashore,

Greetings once again from Cheadle House! It was our pleasure to host your family for the wedding and to accommodate your party for the week. Firstly may I apologise for the issues you had upon arrival; I was present at this time and please rest assured that the wedding co-ordinator had passed the information over to the front desk, however the system had not updated correctly causing your bedrooms to not be fully pulled through from the conference system to the front desk; this is unacceptable and as a direct result, new controls have now been introduced along with increased information upon arrival regarding room locations.

The entire restaurant team were very proud to hear such glowing reports of the food and service, and we are all ecstatic that we made your first visit to the UK such a great one, indeed the breakfast supervisor who served you throughout your stay was very proud to be held in such regard for her service! I will ensure that Steve receives the feedback regarding the wedding event; he is indeed an asset to the company and having worked here running weddings for several years, he is highly regarded as a master of his role, and we are so pleased his skill was noted.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future - we will ensure we have the iced tea ready for you!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great building in a reasonably convenient location if you are driving. Reception clean and comfortable, and the staff were on the ball.
Free tea and coffee in reception was great.
The room was clean and adequate, however, the bed was very firm and the pillows were also way too firm for me, found it hard to sleep as bed was very uncomfortable. The room was also very hot, and we couldn't adjust the temperature as there was no thermostat. We opened the window but the noise of the planes overhead meant we had to close it again.
We had only one hand towel and one bath towel between the two of us which was disappointing.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced room to lay your head down for the night its fine but if you like a bit of comfort hmmmmm maybe not!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taihirion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Taihirion,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Cheadle House, we are truly sorry that you did not have a great time with us and please rest assured that we will happily rectify and matters raised to us throughout your stay as our aim is total comfort for all.

I have passed your comments to housekeeping regarding towels, however we do stock a variety of housekeeping linen at reception should this occur (many rooms are used for sole occupancy and spare towels are retained in one of the drawers in the bedroom, so apologies for this not being advised to you). We do stock a variety of heating and cooling equipment also which is available free of charge to all guests; all our air conditioning is centrally controlled to ensure adequate temperature across the venue and minimise energy usage across the building in line with our environmentally friendly policy.

As you may appreciate, mattresses are very difficult to get right for everyone. All our mattresses are mid-firm mattresses and we often have good comments about the comfort of these; I have however advised housekeeping of this also and they have advised that all mattress undergo regular turning to retain shape and comfort but can be very firm on occasion just after turning, which may be why you found the mattress too firm.

I am very glad however that you experienced the excellent service our staff pride themselves upon and I do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is definatly a venue hotel however £45.00 for one night room only on the doorstep of manchester is very good value. This is a good location if you don't mind seeing the under-carriage of a 747 flying above the hotel so do take your earplugs! The hotel is easy to find ,clean,tidy and staff very friendly food avaiable and bar

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tail2Tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Tail2Tell,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Cheadle House; we are all glad that you found the venue to be of good value for money during your stay and rated the elements of your stay so highly.

The flight path is a common issue, and as you can appreciate we are unable to avoid this owing to the proximity we hold to the airport - indeed we are popular for guests wishing to view the airplanes (particularly our younger guests who love the jumbo jets and seeing the airbus flying in daily!).

We hope to see you again soon, and on your next visit, should you wish to avoid the planes, please contact us and we will do all we can to ensure you are allocated a bedroom that experiences little disturbance.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Cheadle) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#59 of 116 in Manchester
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (Heald Green) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheadle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheadle House

Property: Cheadle House
Address: Cheadle House Business Park Royal Crescent | Royal Crescent, Cheadle SK8 3FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cheadle House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheadle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheadle House Hotel Cheadle
Cheadle House England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing