We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place Big on flavours!”
Review of Indian Tiffin Room

Indian Tiffin Room
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small place Big on flavours!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Visited last night.....
So good to have Indian food different from every other Indian restaurant !
Fab staff & service.
Great flavours especially for vegetarians.
Perfect, tasty street food. Going back v soon X

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ferhatasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    111
    36
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good...not Excellent for my own selfish reasons!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, Excellent service, Outstanding value!
I've dined at ITR a fair few times and pretty much been through the entire menu and cannot fault a single dish on the menu!

I'm not the easiest of customers to satisfy when it comes to India Cusine as I come from a household of fine Indian Chef's and have ate street food in india on annual holidays to india for over 30 years....ITR has never failed to deliver on Authenticity and Freshness.

The only reason why u have rated Very Good and not Outstanding is because I feel they need to relocate to a larger establishment. This is not a negative...its just im impulsive and can never commit and prebook a table. For me its what do i feel like on the night and if its not a quite mid week early evening im not going to get a table because they are booked out because its an Ouststanding Restaurant! Once again, thats my way of say PLEASE OPEN A LARGER RESTAURANT I CANNOT GET ENOUGH OF YOUR OUSTANDING LAMB CHOPS AND DHABA CHICKEN!!!

If you've not been...go! And unlike me Prebook a table!

Helpful?
Thank Yatrik78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Room with a difference.”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Indian Tiffin Room (ITR) is a very welcome addition to an area not exactly short of restaurants offering cuisine from the sub-continent, however, whilst most concentrate on the mainstream dishes and curries, etc., the ITR offers a fresh approach with it's range of dishes from Kerala, Southern India, as well as Rajastan and northern India. The emphasis is on what ITR refers to as street food, these are tapas style offerings, such as Dosas, tikkas, kebabs and puris. Main course offerings feature Lamb or chicken ITR specials, biryanis, masalas and fish curries. We tried several and all were delicious and very different to food at other Indian restaurants. The staff/management are very helpful in patiently explaining and advising, realistically, on dishes appropriate to the diner's appetite.
The menu is not extensive, but there is enough choice to savour for the first time with ITR's unique approach to a popular cuisine.
The compact and simply furnished restaurant can feel cramped, especially as it seems to be a popular venue, giving it a bustling atmosphere. ITR's small tables are adequate for the style of dinning. Service is excellent and friendly.
ITR seems to be a popular place so it is advisable to make a reservation.
Prices are reasonable, we were about £20 per head including a beer or two.
There is a public car park opposite the restaurant, free after 6pm.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service from friendly staff”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Make sure you book this place well in advance as it's always rammed and it's definitely worth the wait.

The food is unique and tastes amazing. It's nothing like your typical Indian curry house which makes a really refreshing change!

The staff are extremely knowledgeable about the food and provide fantastic service. We arrived late as we got the booking wrong and they were extremely accomadating and patient.

Helpful?
Thank happyhouseManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Been here twice now and been very impressed both times. Food is slightly different to anything I've had before and is superb. Recommend the large rice pancakes, the little starters made with dates and the ITR chicken for main course. Service is great and the atmosphere is good too. Can't wait to eat here again soon!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Tiffin Room also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Indian Tiffin Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing