We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous addition to Cheadle”
Review of Indian Tiffin Room

Indian Tiffin Room
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous addition to Cheadle”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The only drawback to this place is the small size. The food and service are fantastic. The choice of food is so different from regular Indian restaurants, and the staff are more than happy to discuss what we should try. I cant wait to go back. I just hope its a little quieter, as there's no bar to sit at and wait if your table is not ready. I really hope they carry on being successful and can expand to bigger premises without losing the charm and uniqueness.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ayjay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    111
    36
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“yum yum yum”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Really great Indian tapas style food- southern Indian rather than the usual Bengali so lighter and more veggie. Really helpful staff - divine butter chicken

Drinks maybe a bit expensive and main course portions small. The place is very small and busy so book and don't expect anything too intimate. Also got a bit warm!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hobbesmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“The True Taste of India”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I ate here on a Wenesday evening. Luckily we booked in advance as the restaurant was full. The manager said that they had to turn twenty people away who hadn't booked that evening!! The restaurant is small and can only seat about 40 people maximum, so I would recommend booking in advance to avoid disappointment. We had the grazing platter to start which consisted of a taster of bhel puri (puffed rice, potato and pomegranate ), dahi puri (hollow puff pastry balls with potato, yoghurt and chutney), and sev puri (puff pastry balls filled with onion, yoghurt and tamarind chutney). Real authentic Mumbai street food. For mains my husband had the chicken biriyani and I had the vegetable masala with boiled rice. These were both delicious and although possibly small by other Indian restaurants you may have visited, these were just right for us. I was a little disappointed that they didn't have the Thalis on offer that night, although they were listed on the menu. This may have been because they were very busy that night. When we visit again I hope to have one then. The tapas style of South Indian Tiffin dishes such as dosas and Idlys also looked very interesting. If you like beer, they don't have any on draft. On the evening that we visited they only had small bottles of Kingfisher or Cobra on offer which we felt were rather pricey at £3.50 a bottle. Tap water was plentiful though and very welcome to accompany the food and to cool us down on a warm evening. It is also worth noting that they only have one toilet and no bar waiting area, but overall they work wonders in the limited space available. Even on this busy evening with only two serving, we got our food and drinks promptly and the staff were very willing to explain about the food on offer. If you want and authentic Indian meal which is out of the ordinary - book and go and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

been here a couple of times now - had veg food once and a couple of meat dishes the second time around. Both times the food and service have been exceptional!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hitesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous authentic Indian cuisine!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a lovely restaurant with a great atmosphere and beautiful food. A really interesting menu, fantastic presentation and great flavour. This food really took me back to my time in India and the service was brilliant too. I would recommend this to anyone (even those who don't normally like Indian food) as it is so different from the usual curry house. Wish there was one in the midlands!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmah35312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Tiffin Room also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Indian Tiffin Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing