We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cheadle
Post
Inbox
Search

“Yummy lunch ”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #13 of 107 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Red Lion is a comfortable pub on the main road between Stockport and Cheadle.Winner of Stockport's 'What's On Guide' pub of the month award August 2012
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have been trying different places to eat and decided to visit the Red Lion . We only wanted a light bite or sandwich and luckily these were on the menu . Trying to find a cafe in Cheadle to have a sandwich was tricky and was very pleased we came to this welcoming pub. The landlady was very efficient and served us our food and coffee. It is nice to go somewhere that the staff talk to you and are friendly . Would definitely be returning .

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank X4984CSkarenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 209 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

This is a typical Robinson’s pub, well run with decent beers.
The highlight, though, is the quiz night. This is expertly organised covering a wide range of subjects usually with something for everyone.
I’d encourage you to give it a go

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank robnh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2019 via mobile

Great night out with friends for the regular weekly quiz. Last week we all decided to eat. The full menu is on offer, and food is well prepared, unfortunately I don’t think the kitchen can cope on quiz nights as meals are repeatedly served late despite us getting there well in advance of the quiz start time. I would suggest they just restrict the dishes on offer on Thursdays - but I don’t suppose that would suit everyone

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank JanetC2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2019

Cracking atmosphere, good drink choice & food choices.
Had good evening, would defo recommend to others.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter556677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2019 via mobile

I always worry when a pub changes hands, as to whether the new landlord/lady will try to stamp their own identity on proceedings.
I needn’t have worried about the Thursday quiz. Same quiz master, same format.
We also ate there last week and the chicken fajitas was excellent. Very spicy and tasty, and plenty of it to satisfy even the most hungry. Partner had the king prawn linguine which was equally good

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank robnh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing