We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad if you can get a discounted rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not bad if you can get a discounted rate”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We got an upper deck room at a significant discount. Our stay was value for money at the price we paid but that would not have been the case if we paid full price. The rooms are fine for a short stay, not great but ok. They are very dark and small.
Breakfast itself was excellent but the service was apalling. Guests were having to wait up to 30 mins for a table despite many being free. The staff just weren't able to clear dirty tables and get people seated quick enough. There seemed to be a severe lack of leadership. No cutlery on the tables, no offer of tea and coffee, plates not cleared.
The bar is nice and the service was good.
We will probably stay again because the location is good for us but will look for a discounted rate. This place isn't trying to be a 5 star upmarket hotel, once you accept that you can just go with the flow and enjoy it for what it is.

Room Tip: Away from the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnanicetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    633
    456
    224
    163
See reviews for
427
879
85
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I live in Boston, USA and work for a Manchester based company, so I am at Village hotel for a week every 2-3 months and know the place inside-out. I keep on going back, so it must be pretty good! So here is the good, the bad and the ugly:
The Good: Very friendly and helpful staff. Very little turnover during the six years I have been going there, so we know each other by name. It's like my home away from home. The hotel has a well equipped health club with exercise machines, a weight room and a huge indoor pool. It serves the community as a health club, so it is not your usual token health club like the ones you find in the Hiltons and other high end business hotels. It has a fun sports bar where the locals join the guests in spirited evenings of following Manchester United and Manchester City games over some great pub food and beers, a fun place to hang out for the weary business traveler. If you need something more formal, they have a good restaurant with an excellent grill.

The Bad: The rooms are small and dark. Most of them have been remodeled but the choice of colors makes them even darker. Some rooms face the back and the kitchen fans and are very noisy - avoid those. The best rooms are the ones they call family rooms. They are numbers 300 and above and are located in the new wing of the hotel. Don't pay for an upgrade to what they call an Upperdeck Room - not worth it.
The Ugly: Very poor maintenance. Virtually every time I stayed there something was wrong with my room. The glasses dirty, a light not working, shampoo dispenser empty. Except when you stay in an Upperdeck room you don't get the high quality toiletries you expect from a hotel you pay that kind of money for: shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, mouth wash, facial tissues - all you get is a shower gel dispenser and a soap dispenser and if you want to blow your nose you need to use their flimsy and rough toilet paper. And the really ugly: Rarely did I get a room where there were no traces of black mold somewhere around the bath tub.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing back over kitchen. Choose a family room number 300 or above, more spacious and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Firstly I'll start by admitting that my stay was over a December weekend with Christmas parties dominating the attention, but I was unimpressed with the hotel, with the exception of a fantastic gym and spa facilities provided (one of the largest I've ever seen).

Service was distracted and unhelpful though. Example: I arrive at 8.30pm and am told that the gym is open to 10pm but the bar only to 9.15 because the restaurant was booked for a Christmas party, so I couldn't use the gym and had to rush to have dinner.

In the weekend mornings, breakfast wasn't served until 8am but I had to leave the hotel at 7.45. A continental breakfast was offered to my room, but I needed something more hearty so had to go elsewhere.

And when I queried about getting room service on one night, none of the staff could advise what the service charge was and would not serve drinks to the room (my tray was also not collected from the corridor even after I checked out at 7.45 the next morning).

In short - the facilities were OK, but the service was poor, limited and frustrating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cheadle hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Booked a Christmas party ( post Christmas) for 6 via Groupon deal. Paid £14.50 each. Worth every penny. A real effort was made on the décor of the room, food was really delicious, including the veggie option, music was brilliant (Motown and Soul night), and a late bar, 1 a.m. The prices at the bar were reasonable too! Really enjoyable night and would recommend. I believe it costs £ 25 normally and even that is good value for money.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiedolfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a review of the gym / leisure facilities at the hotel.

On Amazon Local the deal was 10 passes for £10.

The reception staff were fairly rude. First visit I signed up no problem. A tip, don't give your telephone number / email (or give a fake) else you'll be on the marketing list forever more.
When I signed up the staff member was friendly and asked if I needed a padlock. You simply gave your keys (or other personal belonging) to them and they swapped it for a padlock.

Second visit when I asked for a padlock I was told by a different rude woman that this is not policy and that she would only make an exception once. Nice way to attract full time members.

The male changing rooms were grotty. There was mould in the shower and toilet areas. The ceiling in the shower area is very low.

The gym was lacking in weight equipment / free weights.
The ceilings are again very low and it feels claustrophobic.

Could not see any clocks in the gym either.

The swimming pool was ok but quite cold.

The sauna and steam room and area outside were stinking. I think there must have been a problem with the drains.

The showers for the pool were out of order and so were the showers on the way out of the changing rooms heading towards the pool.

All in all NOT worth a monthly membership fee. Not sure of the exact price but over £30 per month.

If the offer comes back on Amazon for ten sessions for a tenner that would be worth having.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Ad_Reviewer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

So, thanks to Kings of Leon and Boaby Williams all the City Centre Manchester hotels were booked out. I was sent to the 'burbs'..
The Devere Village Hotel is a faded, seen-better years suburban hotel in leafy Cheadle on the Southside of Manchester, It is perfectly adequate as a hotel. The rooms are of a 'trying-to-be-hip' in a late 90's early noughties kind of way but the beds are comfy and the rooms (I stayed in Upper Deck whatever that is) are pleasant enough, it even has its own little sit-in Starbucks. It is rather off putting though that every time you wonder in and out of your hotel you are met with sweaty spandex be-clad gym bunnies of varying guises. The staff are all perfectly polite if a little non-plussed.
My biggest gripe was the food. Yes, hotel food is usually entirely over-priced and there is no exception here with mains being around the price of a good city centre establishment. This is where the comparison ends. I tried on two occasions the food on offer and both times I got 1980's school diners with fancy names.
Because of its weird set-up, lycra lovers littering up the place, dated interior design and some of the most woeful hotel food in Christendom I give this hotel a big fat "Colonel Tom's" Northern Fried Chicken sized 1 star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoinMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales - UK
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed Christmas Night, as we have relatives near by.

Room was large, and comfortable, hover the bed & pillows were not as good as a Premier Inn.

We made use of the pool in the morning before we left, which was great, its better than your average hotel pool.

Overall, at the same price as the Premier Inn - which it was on our booking, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_The_Builder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
0.8 mi away
Cheadle House
Cheadle House
#3 of 4 in Cheadle
550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#49 of 118 in Manchester
110 reviews
8.0 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle

Property: Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
Address: Cheadle Road, Cheadle SK8 1HW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle is nestled in the leafy suburb of Cheadle and just over 4 miles from Manchester Airport and close to the M60 motorway Junction 2. It is in an ideal location for accessing the M6 and M62 motorways. Nearby attractions include Tatton Park, Old Trafford Football Club and Quarry Bank Mill. Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle has 117 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle Hotel Cheadle
Village Manchester Hotel Cheadle
Cheadle Hotel Village
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing