We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pub”

The John Millington
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Love the atmosphere here. It's an old world Elizabethan building that's been renovated and looks superb. Friendly staff and lovely outside seating area. Food very good if you want to have a meal

Thank Gilli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 666 of 732 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great food at very realistic prices. Staff were excellent, honest and a credit to the restaurant. They were very, very quick to rectify an honest mistake made by an American visitor who inadvertently left too much money when paying the bill. Made me proud to be British !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that our staff were able to rectify the issue with the overpaid bill. We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

a party of three of us went for dinner on Wednesday 28th august. we had already booked a table and got a table straight away! our drink were taken at our table by the very chatty manageress who was lovely! we wen on to order three starters to share we had the Camembert, pate and the hummus and pitta! every one was delicious! for mains we had two burgers and sea bass, the burgers were char-grilled and juicy! gorgeous 10/10!! i has the fish which was cooked perfectly!
we were checked back on and offered drink throughout our meals which was great!
for dessert we ordered one cheesecake and a chocolate fondant which states on the menu it takes 20 minutes! i advise everyone to wait the twenty minutes its amazing!!!
thank you to all the staff and the chefs!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Magoo1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope that you visit us again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you're looking for the best Sunday lunch in Cheadle Hulme, you'll find it here! Lovely meat and tasty veg.

1  Thank leejdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

So glad you enjoyed it, thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Food is good quality bar food in a chilled and friendly atmosphere. the staff are excellent and service is always quick, whether bar food or the restaurant.

Thank david_trafford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The John Millington also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Marple, Stockport
 

Been to The John Millington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing