We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seven Spices - CLOSED

Seven Spices
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are looking for standard Vindaloo/Madras and Naans the size of a small child, then this place isn't for you. If you are looking for traditional Indian (not Bangladeshi) cuisine using top quality ingredients and subtle spicing then this place is one of the best. I always find the staff to be friendly and informative without being over the top. Our party of five were well looked after, outstanding dishes included the Goan fish curry, the fish Tikka Haryali and the Hyderbadi Lamb Biryani, being one of the best I've ever tasted. A great selection of vegetarian dishes are also on offer, we had the daal makhani...seriousuly good lentils. Lastly, the breads are absolutely superb...we had the naan, and the parantha, which was outstanding. I wish you guys would come and take over the saffron in Prestbury....I would be there every night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hardtoplease67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food - great vegetarian selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Whilst it is slightly more expensive than many of the other Indian restaurants in the area, the quality of the food is superb. I would describe the food as leaning more toward proper Indian cuisine rather than food for the British taste.

There is an excellent availability of vegetarian dishes - plenty of tasty paneer dishes. I have tried several dishes from the menu and they are all delicious. Service is always very good - polite and attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent food 2 for 1 offer Sun-Thurs 5.30 till 7pm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Had a nice meal here. Staff very friendly and helpful. Did the early diner offer which is buy one starter and main and receive one starter and main free. Salmon starter was excellent as was the lamb mains we had. Not your usual fair of madras, vindaloo etc. House wine is £15 a bottle which is a little expensive but to me that's not far off the norm for a restaurant, remember your not in a Wetherspoons. With rice, garlic nan,chips and the wine our bill was £42 which i thought was ok.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlnhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, decent quality food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were invited to this restaurant by friends and I was open minded having read a mixed bag of reviews.
I have to say we were made very welcome as soon as we walked through the door and the barman chatted to us as we enjoyed a drink at the bar.
We arrived just after 6pm and our friends had a 2 for 1 voucher which made a big difference to the bill. There was only a couple of other tables occupied and I can’t help but feel this deadened the atmosphere somewhat.
All in all we had a pleasant evening with good food and friendly staff. I would return to Seven Spices, maybe on a Friday or Saturday when I believe it is a bit livelier.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crashbandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Why did I bother?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

On a business trip so dining alone - Felt uncomfortable asking for a table - so so food and not very big portions - all a bit boring. Having spend time and money there the owner/staff didn't have the good grace to wish me goodnight - thought it was because I wasn't Indian but there is a comment elsewhere from an Indian gentleman wondering if he got the same treatment because he is Indian. Presume it's the owner in the suit? - needs some basic instruction in good manners and customer service e.g. saying thank you and cracking a smile - won't be spending my hard earned dosh there again - should have looked on here first!
No side dishes so if you are on your own you can't have 'bits' to accompany your main dish unless you want to try two main courses - but that would be greedy!.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Spices also viewed

 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Gatley, Cheadle
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing