We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't live up to its decor or title”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Governor's House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Cheadle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to its decor or title”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Bog standard. Pub grub not fresh or home cooked, slow service and dirty plates left on table for nearly an hour. Fab decor, very contemporary camp but the place doesn't live up to the decoration and grand title

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Occasionally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    11
    17
    6
See reviews for
29
21
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Randomly selected hotel - based on location and price - turned out to be a good choice. The room was spacious and comfortable with good access to the internet (which is not always the case). The staff were positive and helpful. The evening food could have been a bit more tasty but was good value and promptly served. Breakfast however was excellent but allow a little more time if you want real coffee. All in all good service at a good price

Room Tip: Always ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went for breakfast with our family after visiting a few times in the evening for meals. We, on the last visit noticed a breakfast menu so thought it would be nice to visit for a change. We arrived at 10a.m to find the staff just opening up, breakfast is supposed to be served from 8.30a..m. so I don't know if we could have got in if we had arrived at that time. My son asked if breakfast was served earlier at the time stated & was told 'it depends on how busy we have been the night before'. There was no service with a smile, staff were cleaning around us, vacuming, brushing up etc. Nobody asked us if everything was alright. The food was o.k but we won't be going back again. We will spend our money where we get good food, service & pleasent surroundings. It's a shame because I love the decor & atmosphere. The staff lets the place down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytimes187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Can only comment on the bar service.
This is a Greene King pub, but unfortunately had no Greene King beer when we went in.
Settled for 2 pints of Thwaites Wainwright bitter. They tasted completely different, one was very sweet & the other very bitter - probably due to contaminated glasses.
Left the beer & went to a nearby Wetherspoons, where we were served consistent good pints of Wainrights at a much lower price.
It would appear that more effort is made on appearance ( looks nice) & the food maybe (?) rather than the beer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narrabeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is more of a pub really rather than a hotel. However it really is very good accommodation attached to a very nice pub, with plenty of well kept real ales.
The bedrooms are clean and spacious and the staff very friendly and helpful.
I believe it is a managed house, one of the Greene King pubs, so hats off to them for this well run pub.
I don't think it is cheap for pub type accomodation but the quality is far superior than your average pub so I would say it is good value for money.
I also liked the fact that they gave you free WIFI rather than rip you off charging you for it as most pub/hotel chains do.
I also sampled the food whilst there and though nothing superb, was wholesome,tasty and good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greytop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Really worth your money! Paid £60 for double room with breakfast . Nice full English , good sausages. Decor nice in the pub bit , friendly staff. Room quite basic but still nice. Nice location in Cheadle bit far from Manc city centre . Overall pleasant stay , would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ford08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here for one Saturday night in June 2012, as a B&B attached to a fairly decent pub, it's OK but far from brilliant.

The best thing by far were the friendly and helpful staff, everyone we met was cheerful and pleasant.

The room was a good size, sparsely furnished with not the nicest furniture I've ever seen in a hotel room, the fridge didn't work and a few lamps had non-working bulbs. The window overlooked another part of the hotel (literally about 3 feet away) and had a security grill on it so could only be opened about 6 inches. The room was accessed through a stifling hot corridor piled high with linen in laundry bags.

Used the restaurant for breakfast only, which was OK, again with nice staff.

Overall it was good value, and ideally placed for our needs, if we had a better room not over-looking the kitchens I'd be marking things much higher.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
1.7 mi away
Cheadle House
Cheadle House
#2 of 4 in Cheadle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Cheadle) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (Heald Green) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governor's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor's House Hotel

Property: The Governor's House Hotel
Address: 43 Ravenoak Road, Cheadle SK8 7EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Governor's House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Governor's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor's House Hotel Cheadle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing