We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing experience for that special occasion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Grange aux Oies

La Grange aux Oies
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Nieuil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An amazing experience for that special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Having chosen La Grange for our first anniversary celebration it didn't disappoint from the moment we arrived. The set menu provided a range and style of food that was both different and thoroughly enjoyable. I'd recommend it to anyone. (Don't miss the cheese board!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    73
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have also been a patron of this retaurant for 18 years. La cuisine est exceptionnelle! Having lived and worked in France for 40 years, I have had the opportunity to dine in many restaurants all over France. Currently for 50 Euros, they offer a menu with aperitf, amuse bouches, appetizer, main course, cheese, dessert, wine, coffee and cherry digestif. Most mportantly, the quality and originality of their dishes is a savy mixture of traditional, regional and current culinary recipes. On my last visit there this month, I deviated a bit from my customary choices of Foie Gras, Duck, River fish, Ris de Veau or regional lamb to try the chicken. As I seldom order chicken or salmon anymore in restaurants because thery are usually tasteless and mass produced. I definitely made the right choice as the chicken was moist, flavourful with a jus that tells you right away that this is a true chef. What a shame I do not live closer so as to dine their more often!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FPWhitePlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It is simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Not quite sure what people want for £40 a head.... We have been customers for nigh on 18 years. The food is great, the service excellent and, because the menu includes, aperos, amuse bouche, plat, fromage and dessert with coffee, it is seriously good value for money. Try going to the local pizza place in Roumazieres, order the same quality of food and find, shock of shocks, you have paid more! Enough said...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveegyptLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, good food, may it last.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Leaving the fantastic surroundings aside, my review is about the restaurant only.
I have been going to this place for years each time I visit the region.
It went through several changes in decoration and grew in number of tables. I recently found that they are slowly loosing their genuine character and tend to become pretentious (both deco and service).
The food is not always perfect, we were a table of 6 and few appetisers and deserts were very ordinary, compared to others that were unbelievable. We also found the service was rushed and not that friendly.
Special mention for the lady who served us the cheese however. She was very knowledgeable and extremely nice. She saved the day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotraveller5s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
182 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“a hidden treasure at the end of the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

to find La Grange aux Oies you need to almost get lost , deep into the countryside and the forest in Charente . the signage to guide you on the small roads is fortunately very clear and abundant .
there is no big city close to it and the region is not famous for tourism ( athough it is not far from well known Perigord ) .Angouleme is at least 45 minutes away .
the restaurant is located in the service buildings of a renaissance looking but not so old Manor.
the view from the terrace is gorgeous in late spring, summer and early autumn with a fair risk of rain , from time to time ..
it is difficult to understand how a restaurant in such a lonely place can maintain such a refined cooking both in terms of creativity and execution, congratulations to the two managers ( chef and maitre)
one of their secrets must be their large english clientele , who have known the region since Richard Coeur de Lion was killed , close by , at Chalus and since they started to drink Cognac .
Personnally i am not fan of the decoration which i find more kitch than design , but it is a very personal view .
the prices are really a bargain considering the place , the cooking and the nice attention given to the hosts.
if you plan to drink more than what is allowed before driving, probably a good option is to combine a diner witrh a night at the castle (belong to chain : Relais du Silence )

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LePapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grange aux Oies also viewed

 
Chabanais, Charente
La Rochefoucauld, Charente
 

Been to La Grange aux Oies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing