We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Teach Cuailgne B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Teach Cuailgne B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Carlanstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Peggy and Paddy made us feel very welcomed on our first trip to Ireland! The rooms were just right for a family of 5! The breakfast was delightful! The location wasn't far from our first sights - Newgrange and Monasterboice on our way to Donegal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QFam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

I spent two nights here in September 2013 and I and my dog were very comfortable in the annex.The breakfasts were out of this world! Peggy and Paddy were most welcoming and friendly.I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.It is also only a slide into nearby Kells.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Peggy and Paddy bent over backwards to help myself and 4 fellow tour members out of a jam when we were faced with substandard accommodation and a tour guide who seemed to abandon us, and during an extremely busy time for them as well. I ended up in a room that they didn't normally let out so this is Irish hospitality par excellence. Perfectly set up to do the washing of many a traveller, ideally located to Kells and the Boyne Valley, Teach Cuailgne is the best B&B I have stayed in for ages. Thank you Peggy and Paddy, you brought sunshine to what was a very grey day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesB20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here on 05/07/2013 and can thoroughly recommend this B&B as an ideal location. We were attending a wedding in nearby Kells and it was an ideal choice for those visiting Meath/Louth/Cavan area. Given a spotlessly clean room in the annex we felt we had our own little apartment, with included tea/coffee making facilities, microwave and fridge. Peggy is a fabulous hostess and in the morning, we could have availed of any amount of breakfast. We love the fact that Teach Cuailgne is pet friendly and next time we stay we'll have our little four legged friend with us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Our room was small and cramped for a full size bed and twin. The twin was smack dab again the cold outside wall. It is not the room I had asked for but it is what we got. The heat went off before 11 and we did not have heat when we got up at 7:00 ish. The guest lounge was nice but again no heat.
The coverlet for the twin was a full doubled over and in a duvet. It was quite heavy to sleep under and did not fully cover me and with the outside wall right there, was was not so hot. (I sleep at home with a down comforter and duvet so I am aware of what I was dealing with) . The linens did not match and the towels were well used but the bath room was ok with lots of nice little goodies in it.
Breakfast was a full Irish or less if you wanted with the usual cereals and some nice fresh fruit. Tea was good quality tea. Large dining room but she separates the guests which takes away some of the interesting part of staying at a B&B.
In two weeks of travel, this was our last stop before a hotel in Dublin and we had stayed at 4 other B&B's. This was the most expensive of all of them and had the least to offer.
BE most careful coming thru the gates as it is tight. The view from our window, last room on the left was of piles of scaffolding and not a pleasant view. And oh yes, there is a barking dog somewhere near by.
Hostess was most pleasant and did give us a good place to eat - The Round Tower - do not confuse it as we did our first night with the gift store. She also went out of her way to get me information regarding Carrickmacross and the Irish lace place there. She has some lovely pieces of lace she has made.
It was easy to reach Newgrange from here.
This should have been priced more towards 27.50 Euros to be a value

Room Tip: did not work for us so I don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 02corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 1, 2011

We are disappointed that this particular client did not fully enjoy their stay with us. We had gone to a lot of trouble to accommodate them over several emails regarding bed sizes as the husband was of a large frame. We had given them an option of either a double room with a queen size 5” bed (which the client requested), or a twin room with a 4.6” bed and a 3.6” bed (option given because client wanted multiple beds). The client chose the latter.

The guests do chose where to sit for breakfast – on this occasion the other occupant had been staying with us for 4 weeks and was of a solitary nature.

The price of our B&B is in line with other B&B’s in the area. Other areas further away from Dublin can tend to be cheaper.

As Boyne Valley Champions, we go the extra distance in advising our guests of what is of tourism interest in our locality. We made 3 phone calls on the client’s behalf to track down the information she was seeking and printed out information for the client to take with them.

As you can see from our other reviews, our B&B is a comfortable and an enjoyable place to stay so please does not be put off by this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed in Teach Cuailgne on a tour of County Meath - Newgrange, Kells and Trim. One of the best experiences in an Irish B&B. Everything worked, especially the showers. Plenty of flat surfaces in the room to lay out all our junk. We paid 35 euro per head which we considered good value.
Short 5 minute walk into the small village.

2  Thank krugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This Bed and Breakfast was an extremely comfortable place. As we were staying four nights the owner accommodated us in a larger room annexed to the house. We were made feel very welcome. There were plenty of information available about the various sites and activities within a wide range of Meath and surrounding counties.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Teach Cuailgne B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teach Cuailgne B&B

Address: Carlanstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Carlanstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carlanstown
Price Range: $100 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Teach Cuailgne B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family home B&B. Freshly cooked food to order, local produce, 3 Km from Kells Heritage town on N52 beside Carlanstown Village. Walking distance to pubs, Take Away. Convenient to Newgrange, Collon War Musuem, Tara, Trim. Beside M3 Motorway, Dublin Airport 40 minutes. Call Peggy for enquiries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Teach Cuailgne B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing