We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Camping Campix

Camping Campix
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Leu-d'Esserent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Campix
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 boys age 11 &14. We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend as you can get a train for the village into Paris.
On arrival we were greeted by a gentleman on reception who may have even the site owner. He spoke brilliant English and was extremely friendly and very very helpful. He gave us a map of the site and advised us to park up and have a walk round the site to find a pitch we liked.
The site is in an old quarry so is on lots of different levels with some Nice open pitches or little nooks and crannies to get tucked into if you prefer. We chose a pitch on ' L' up near the top and close to the footpath that's leads you into the village and straight to Lidl! Result! The electric points are cleverly hidden in the trees or disguised as rocks. Water points are fast flowing and spread around the site.
This is not a prim and propper site, it's very relaxed, you don't have to have your jockey wheel on a square ! Just find a pitch you like and park up. The grass is very rough and wild. The boys loved it as they were allowed to make small camp fires on the pitch, and as explorer scouts and scouts it was right up their street. If you have a hammock,find the right pitch and its perfect to put one up. Ideal also for groups to get together .
The bar/cafe was pleasant although the beer I found to be overpriced €5 a pint. Food also quite expensive €4 for chips etc. there is a very tired table football(free), table tennis, badminton/volleyball net( take your own stuff), children's play area and a fab slide and castle for the younger kids.
The pool is pleasant, a little cool, lots of free loungers.
Toilet and washing up block we're very clean and toilet paper provided.
Fresh bread, croissants etc can be ordered and delivered to site the next morning.

Overalls very nice site with extremely helpful friendly reception staff.
Although you cAn get a train into Paris we were advised by staff that it was easier to go in the car. On street parking is free at weekends and ALL of August. We were given maps and shown where to park. Very very easy,park near Eiffel Tower.
If going into Paris and you want to do the Eiffel Tower I would advise getting there when it opens or go at night. The queues were horrific.
A great holiday and would definately return. There is so much to do and see in the area, we only stayed for 3 nts and wish we had booked for at least 6!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank joeandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
39
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent one night at Campix whilst cycle touring the Western Front and down towards Paris, strange pitches but quiet enough spoilt by the owner/manager who as previous reports have mentioned is a bit of a smarmy arrogant person who also passes this on to his staff at the food area who are just as ignorant and rude.

Expensive for camping with a small tent and two bikes (21 euros for one night) and then they also want to charge for wifi use.

Ok for a stopover but be prepared to be out of pocket!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJFreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been here before, but always as an overnighter, arriving late, leaving early. This time we spend five nights here and had a great time.

So far, we never realized how big the campground is, we always took the first available pitch. You can pick the place were you pitch and there are some lovely and really secluded spots because this is an old quarry. If you are into landscaped campgrounds, this might not be the thing for you, and because of the size, the way to the sanitary building can be a bit long. But we got a lovely, level pitch with hardly any other tents around - even though this was high season.

If I recall right, the pool was new and the play area. The kids loved the pool, there was a heat wave so it was great to jump into the pool every night before dinner. One day it was drizzling and we had the pool to ourselves. It was great.

The owner provides detailed information if you want to go to Paris which was great, too. He is fluent in English and German, which helps a lot and we found him very friendly and helpful. We visited Chantilly, Parc Asterix and Paris and had a really great, great time. We will be back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMarple74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

we stayed in a tent emplacement for 3 nights. The setting is very good, the site is popular but we were not as hemmed in as we have been in other places.The manager is helpful and speaks excellent English and German. Because the site is a deep quarry, chose your site carefully as it does get dark and some places are colder than others. It's a great bonus they allow you to have campfires and you can choose your site at will. The main pool area is pleasant and a sun-trap. The shop was handy and we bought up their stock of discontinued camping gaz bottles that fits our stove. The sanitary facilities are good - once we found the hot-hot tap for laundry as the washing-up water and showers were mostly tepid. The design of the showers (both male and female) needs improvement, the hanging area for your dry clothes and towel is hit by the spray of the showers! The same effect with the sinks, the force of the water splashes you and the floor. After some trial and error we found sinks and showers that worked properly. At 36 euros per night for a family of 4 in our own tent with electric we thought it a bit expensive but the location is good for access to Park Asterix and the motorways. From Paris our sat-nav sent us down a dirt track that used to be the road to the quarry. Instead aim for the Marie and follow the signs. My complaint is the booking engine on the website, it misquoted the price making comparison unequal. I also dislike on principal paying a steep booking fee in addition to per-night which seems common in France.

Room Tip: you pick your own site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our 8 night stay. Upon arrival we were told we could choose our pitch which suited us even after a night travelling. Our timing was perfect because the van from the village bakers arrived at 8am with really fresh croissants so breakfast was sorted. Having chosen our pitch we moved 2 days later to a pitch where we could get a good sky signal.
Our children loved exploring the site, the owner was so helpful and friendly. It is relaxed at this site, the pool had just opened and was cool (only because it was still may) so when we return in a couple of weeks,wetsuits for the kids will be packed.
We love the natural setting of this campsite, relaxed atmosphere, swimming pool and not far to the village- we couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joiscea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I spent 15 nights at this site with our caravan last June. We chose it because we wanted a quiet site with minimum facilities, but fairly close to Paris, and not too long a journey from the ferry port. This fitted the bill.

We were pleasantly surprised.

The site is large and rambling, and certainly not manicured with dedicated pitches. It is a bit like camping in the open countryside. You can choose your own pitch. They vary in size, aspect and location - some tucked away in little nooks and crannies, and others in the open - the site is an old quarry. The grass and the bushes are allowed to grow naturally, adding to the impression of wild camping.

The swimming pool is well kept - clean and tidy and very refreshing and the toilet block also is modern and spotlessly clean. The cafe and shop were not open as it was too early in the season, however, there was a daily bread van called at the site, and the village shops were not too far away.

We found the owner and the receptionist to be very friendly and extremely helpful. They speak excellent English as well as a number of other languages, and go out of their way to help in making suggestions for trips, and the best deals in train tickets, parking charges etc. They have a good knowledge of Paris and give useful tips for visits to museums and other attractions.They even made phone enquiries for us about tickets and bookings for open air concerts etc. We could not fault them in any way.

Many of the campers at this site use it merely for an overnight stop on the way South, however we found it ideal for exploring the Picardie region, World War II sites and, of course, Paris, using the car to drive part of the way, then park and ride. We would happily pay a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowGirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I don't agree with some of the negative reviews and not my recollection at all. We stayed for a couple of nights on the way home from Dordogne in our campervan in August. If you are uptight and anal about getting top service I guess you would not be happy here- its more about being laid back. The owner speaks German, Dutch French and English very well and even knew about height restrictions of car parks etc as well as top tips for parking in the centre of Paris for less than 10euros- not bad! You choose where you want, and please yourself. Lots of people have little fires on their pitches in the night which is quite nice for the kids.

The pool was refreshing at best and freezing at worst but clean and the showers were clean powerful and hot. The bar had stopped at the end of August but the owner arranged for pizza and other fast food to be delivered.

Its not a big chain pool complex £300 a week campsite so don't judge it against these- its a bit dated, sweet laid back place that is friendly and well maintained.

Room Tip: Bring your own room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeetrootGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Leu-d'Esserent
3.0 mi away
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
#1 of 6 in Chantilly
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Oise
Hotel de l'Oise
#1 of 1 in Saint-Leu-d'Esserent
138 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Du Parc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Creil Chantilly
1.3 mi away
Camping de l'Abbatiale
Camping de l'Abbatiale
#3 of 3 in Saint-Leu-d'Esserent
11 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dolce Chantilly
Dolce Chantilly
#2 of 6 in Chantilly
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Campix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Campix

Property: Camping Campix
Address: Chemin des Carrieres | BT37, 60340 Saint-Leu-d'Esserent, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Saint-Leu-d'Esserent
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Leu-d'Esserent
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Camping Campix Oise, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing