We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two for one - good value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nags head

Nags head
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Leven
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Two for one - good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Visited for an evening meal about half past five on a cold, wet and windy Wednesday night. The pub was warm and spotlessly clean but fairly quiet.The staff very friendly and welcoming.
We ordered a rump steak and a salmon with vegetables which came promptly and was reasonable quality. The rump steak was £12.95, and at that price I would have expected more than chips and peas, three onion rings and half a tomato. However, bearing in mind that all meals are "two for one" this still represents good value and I would visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    18
    17
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shocking Food, Shabby Service Not Good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Popped in for a quick Sunday Lunch. Ordered Soup of the Day (Tomato & Basil), 20 minutes later the poorly dressed waitress advised that the Tomato and Basil was off and would we like Vegetable. No we didn't want vegetable as we had ordered T&B. Mandy chose to have a prawn cocktail, after another 20 minutes the prawn cocktail arrived. It lacked any finesse and was short of sauce. Asked the (poorly dressed) waitress for some more which after 10 minutes arrived. Further 20 minutes the mains arrived, roast beef with veg & Yorkshire pudding. Meal was cold, gravy was watery and the Yorkshire was a flat black mess. Sent it back (by this time I was starving), a "re-heated meal arrived 10 minutes later; still cold!!!! We ate the meal and ordered sweets. The sweet I ordered (mandarin cheesecake) was off the menu. Mandy ordered melting chocolate pudding and i ordered a coffee. After 20 minutes the pudding had not arrives so we spoke to the Manager and paid the bill (drinks only) and left.

We have eaten at the Nags Head a few times and it normally does what it says on the tin. This time; shocking!!!! We will not be going back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good pub restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Good pub food and beers in a very friendly atmosphere. Bar staff were very helpful and prices were reasonable

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Giles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We visited here Sunday 8/12/13 2.35pm. We have frequented this food place in the past and had an ok meal which for the price seemed ok, however unfortunately I do not think we will return. We arrived at 2.35pm, plenty of customers seated at tables and 5 table reserved! (One which the staff went onto sit at for their meals). We walked around the bar in search of an empy table and must have looked some what lost and so a waitress in black uniform asked us how many it was for, to which we replied 4 people and she asked if we would be happy to take the table in the far corner which was absolutely fine by us. We proceed to remove our coats and sit down perusing the menu, when another brash short lady (who in the past we had thought was management) approached us very sharply and exclaimed to all and sundry sat around and in ear shot, that they actually had people waiting for tables and we should not be here and her boss had asked her to come and tell us. To which we replied we were very sorry, we hadnt just come and sat down and we had been asked to take the table, but were happy to move, to which she replied she would go back and tell her boss and then returned saying it was ok to stay seated. Very embarrasing, felt like everyone was thinking we had just marched in. Had two chicken roasts which were absolute garbage. Warm yorkshire and veg, roast potatoes that were just balls of hard crispy batter, rock solid stuffing, that took out two fillings on separate guests! Good size chicken on the bone, but completely dry. Also ordered fillet steak which was acceptable. Ordered it medium but came very well done and also a barbecue melt which was ok. Anyway to cut a long story short, so as not to go on too much longer, ordered 2 x deserts at 3.54pm and still at 4.35pm not received despite the pub being fairly empty, so cannot be blaimed on busy times, so got up, paid the bill to Phil at the bar, told him to cancel the deserts, no questions asked, no apologies for garbage service received, nothing. All in all a bit of a shambles and cant see us returning any time soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyPolly161003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good job it is two for one!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Two for one? You would certainly be disappointed if you paid the amount shown in the menu when your meal eventually arrived. It was very busy when we went for a meal, staff were fine and friendly but the food was poor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee108lfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nags head also viewed

Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bishop Burton, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Nags head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing