We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Leven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The New Inn Leven is a former Georgian Country House which is situated in the village of Leven. We are ideally placed for exploring the surroundings including the East Yorkshire Coastline, Beverley and the Yorkshire Wolds. We have seven en-suite guest rooms, a bar and a separate recently refurbished restaurant. We also have a beautiful and spacious enclosed courtyard where you can relax with a drink. Throughout the year we have a range of events, including the ever-popular Real Ale Festival, a monthly Music Quiz, live bands and singers, as well as taster nights in the restaurant.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I came here with my family and we all enjoyed our meals. They cooked my two children fish and chips which wasn't even on the children's menu that day. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    10
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic pub food”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I came here with a group of friends for my birthday. I live locally and for several years have avoided the village pubs based on past experience! The relatively new owners of the New Inn have done a great job in giving the pub a much needed face lift, with the addition of a new courtyard outdoor seating area and a restaurant area which is open Thurs - Sun. The food at the New Inn is fantastic, and the portion sizes are huge! It is proper, home cooked, pub grub. You won't find an 8 page menu listing a variety of microwave meals here... Everyone in our group really enjoyed their meal and we all agreed that we would eat there again in the near future.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pieface_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unfussed, unmolested good value”
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Think of a 'chain' pub with a freezer to fryer menu, fake wine bar decor and customer service from a corporate manual.

THIS IS THE OPPOSITE!

The New Inn is actually a bit of a gem - run by a real family, cooking real food in a great building that hasn't lost any of its charm. We loved the 80's jukebox tunes, 50p pool table, homecooked local classics like belly pork and good hand-pulled ales.

The steaks were perfect, kids meals (free!!!) were good (ever seen a home made chicken nugget....great!)

Could I fault it?.... not really if anything, the hand cooked chips were a little oily (think they'd been par-cooked and then re-fried), but otherwise faultless - Keep up the good work!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beggarsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good home cooked grub for great value.”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

very family friendly, good kids meals, useful to check out the offers on the website.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ourkezHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, excellent beer”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Really enjoyed a recent visit to this pub/restaurant. The food was exceptional including proper home-made chips which seem to be so rare these days. The meat is sourced from the local butcher and the portions are very generous indeed. Beer was also excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Leven, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Brandesburton, Driffield
Long Riston, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing