We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”
Review of The New Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Leven B&B and Inns
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday and the bar was very busy because football was on so we didn't really want to go in there. We had two teenagers with us and we able to go and sit in the restaurant to wait until it opened. We had to go through to the bar for our drinks which was a bit of a nightmare because it was so full. The service was not brilliant in the bar but again because it was so busy maybe this was the reason. I asked for sauvignon blanc and was given pinot grigio and told this was all they had, so reluctantly accepted it. On entering the restaurant there were lots of bottles of sauvignon blanc!! They did however refund us for two thirds of the pinot grigio and I eventually got a nice bottle of wine. The food was pretty good. We had fish and chips and the kids had beef and roasties (they were lovely) and a burger which went down well. The price was very reasonable for what we had. They asked us to pay for our room the evening we were staying because as we hadn't ordered breakfast no one may be around when we checked out. We stayed in a family room. It was a good size for 2 adults and 2 children and had a small en-suite shower/toilet. The room was pretty basic and the décor could really do with being updated. There was plenty tea/coffee and biscuits. The towels were lovely and fluffy and white. All in all not a bad place for a stopover.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coll296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I went to the new in. For my mums birthday last night and the good was to die for! I had the steak pie and the meat was like butter an just fell apart mmm!! The service was good, one of the girls was so lovely and checked if we was okay! The decor could do with a touch up but overall we had a lovely night! Will definitely be going back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie_may95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Yorkshire to visit our daughter husband and family who have recently moved. We had a lovely warm welcome by the owner and everything provided for in the way of a stay, lovely clean room, kettle with tea, coffee and sugar with biscuits! Outside of the room a table with hairdryer, sewing kit if needed and top ups of tea, coffee and sugar, ideal for tea drinkers like ourselves. On the second night we went to the bar and got involved with the pub quiz and got invited to the team, unfortunately we had to decline being visitors. It was a lovely atmosphere for the whole stay we had there. The food was absolutely wonderful with piping hot full english breakfast with toast and jam/marmalade and pot of tea. Thank you for a lovely stay while we were 'up North' from Somerset, the conversion complete as we are now house hunting in the area and put our house on the market here. Look out pub quiz team we may yet be able to join you!! Great place to stay and would recommend to anyone to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This pub with rooms was booked on the advice of a friend and I have to say we werent disappointed. Parking was plentiful, the atmosphere was welcoming and the rooms were spotlessly clean. We ate with friends in the evening and the food was fresh, homecooked and delicious. The breakfast was also excellent. The price is reasonable too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellyshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The room was a good size with a small but functional bathroom adjoined to it. The pub had a friendly atmosphere and was obviously popular with the locals from how busy it was. My only issue was that you had to pay extra for the breakfast as it was not included in the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Niped in for a spot off Sunday Dinner and a pint .Service great beer even better two meals for under £10 get value . The real ale was spot one and the service first class . I would recconend this to anyOne looking for a great Sunday Lunch

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tintin287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed here one Saturday night (18th February) the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was spotless, nice and warm and as we were over the back of the pub it was quiet over night. The meals were the traditional pub grub and not overly priced and the breakfast was more than adequate. Just one downside the shower left a lot to be desired as the pressure wasn't good so it really was a trickle that came through, however as it was just for the night it didn't cause a huge problem and we would stay there again. Thought it was very reasonable for the price.

Room Tip: At the back was certainly quieter but the pressure for the shower was poor. If you are staying for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameFeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
5.8 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
2.8 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: 44 South Street, Leven HU17 5NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Leven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Leven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn was a Georgian Country House which was later extended and became a coaching Inn, set in the heart of the Village. Leven is situated on the B1035 six miles North East of the Historic Market town of Beverley. We are perfectly placed within easy reach of the seaside towns of Hornsea, Bridlington and Scarbrough and the Yorkshire Wolds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The New Inn Leven, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing