We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveller's Rest "quite superb".”
Review of Red Tin Roof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Tin Roof
Certificate of Excellence
Camps Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traveller's Rest "quite superb".”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have tried a few other establishments in Riebeek Kasteel but find myself returning to The Traveller's Rest time and time again. George and Michael are the perfect hosts and their establishment offers comfort and proximity to all the best attractions in town. Well appointed rooms with big fluffy towels and the shade of a giant Karee tree make this a must stay! And dont think of eating anywhere else but in their own restaurant - delicious country cooking with the added flair that sets them apart from the rest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    29
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Travelers Rest is a wonderful secret hidden away in a beautiful part of the Western Cape. Only an hour from Cape Town but a different world. Typically the weather here is much warmer and the pool and garden setting make this an ideal spot for a weekend getaway. The hosts, Michael and George are a delight and very accomodating. Continental breakfast is served on the patio in nice weather and everything is first class. The rooms are luxurious with fine linens, and toiletries. Easy drive to Paternoster, wine country, the moutains.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bardian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at Travellers Rest with our adult son and daughter and had a lovely couple of days. We had 3 of the 4 en-suite rooms in the guest cottage which were all well equipped, spotlessly clean, charmingly decorated, air conditioned and had verandahs overlooking the garden. They are centered around a large, comfortable communal sitting room which has an honesty bar for late night drinks. The owners, George and Michael, made us very welcome: George is a very entertaining host and gave us some great recommendation for restaurants and wine tasting venues. Michael does the cooking and the lunch in the garden was exceptional, as was the lavish breakfast on both days. The garden is pretty with plenty of shade and a pool to cool off in if it gets too hot. We were very impressed, had a brilliant time and thought it amazing value for money. We would recommend a stay there to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Hosts George and Michael are so welcoming and friendly. The 4 bedroom guest house is fabulous. Food excellent. Riebeek Kasteel is just an hour from Cape Town or Franschhoek and is well worth a visit. Charming town. Great for an overnight stay or long weekend. Do stay at Travellers Rest. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moirasharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Riebeek Kasteel is a charming little place that still waits to be appreciated by tourists. It has several restaurants,boutiques , b&bs , and the latest, opened since March this year must be one of the nicest! I booked it, attracted by photos on the website and found it exquisite! 4 very elegant bedrooms around sitting room, so perfect we did not want to go outdoors. Bathrooms had high quality products , each room had a terrace with table and chairs.We were impressed by attention to detail in designing the place as well as by the amount of time George dedicates to look after guests. This guesthouse has a restaurant, ,quality of produce offered high and excellent value fo rmoney , both for accommodation as for the meals.

Room Tip: the 4 I had seen in the pavilion were all exquisite, I have not seen the one in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishMyszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
288 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiraz Estate Guest House
Shiraz Estate Guest House
#1 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Views Country House
Vineyard Views Country House
#1 of 4 in Riebeek Kasteel
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shades of the Valley
Shades of the Valley
#3 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tin Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tin Roof

Property: Red Tin Roof
Address: 23 Hermon Road, Riebeek Kasteel 7300, South Africa (Formerly Traveller's Rest)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Riebeek Kasteel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Tin Roof 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Tin Roof is a manor house that has been sleeping guests, feeding strangers and quenching thirsts for decades. The new owners gave her a complete facelift and donned her in new colours. Known as a bit of a party animal, they enlarged the bar - and added another! They have re-vamped her from head to toe and decorated her with an eclectic mixture of art and collectibles from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Tin Roof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing