We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rustic, relaxed lunch on a rainy afternoon”

Bar Bar Black Sheep
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: John & Susanna Tecklenburg has moved Bar Bar Black Sheep to the rustic farm life on the Oude Wellington estate. Here they continue their cooking with fresh local source ingredients. Country style cooking at its best. Personal service from the owners themselves to give the extra touch to make Bar Bar Black Sheep guests feel special. we welcome you to follow us back to the farm. After all. Sheep belongs on a farm.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“rustic, relaxed lunch on a rainy afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We visited Riebeek Kasteel for my birthday last year and heard a lot about BBBS. We were not disappointed! It was a rainy, cold afternoon and we sat right by the old fire place. Such a quaint and quirky place with loads of character! We ordered a local wine and each had a starter. Friendly, warm service and rustic food! Definitely recommended and we would love to go back to Riebeek Kasteel & BBBS!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    61
    25
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape town
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our lunch at this restaurant was a bit disappointing . We ordered half chicken and my partner's chicken was not cooked properly and we had to send it back. Regrettably it was not cooked properly the second time either. We did not have time to send it back again. No proper apology was offered and despite requesting the waiter to draw this to the hostess and chef's attention I do not believe this was done as we did not see either of them for an explanation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent rustic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

One of our guests was the owner Harrie of the highly praised Harries Pancakes restaurants and he agreed with us that the informal restaurant in Riebeek Kasteel was the best meal he had on his holiday in Cape Town
Relaxed , friendly and very reasonble prices

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Bar Bar Black Sheep, Riebeeck Kasteel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a very good meal at Bar Bar Black Sheep this week.
At R18 a glass, Babylons Peak wine was most enjoyable. Delicious food ordered included half a grilled chicken and salad (instead of chips), mushroom burger with all the trimmings and delicious carrot cake and excellent coffee. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn25CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walferdange, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Unbeknown to us most restaurants in Riebeek Kasteel close kitchens at 9pm. From 9:10 we walked from place to place being told they're closed, until we got here. They were officially closed, but the waiter said he'll talk to the chef, and came out saying we can chose from 4 or 5 dishes which won't take too long to prepare.
Food was great. I had a fish pie, my wife had lamb curry. Awesome (and very reasonably priced) local wine to go with it made a perfect evening in the restaurant's garden.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mampoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Bar Black Sheep also viewed

Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
 

Been to Bar Bar Black Sheep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing