We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food - shame about the service”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were staying in Riebeek and were recommended to eat in teh Royal Hotel. We actually called by in the afternoon and reserved a table, but should have been alerted when we turned up to find that they weren't aware of our reservation. It didn't matter anyway, as there were only a few other people dining. The problems with the service started almost straight away. We were handed menus and a wine list and asked almost immediately if we wanted a drink. We said we'd like to study the wine list and decide. However, after a while a different waitress came to take the food orders - as well as food, we asked for a bottle of white and a red for the main courses. The white arrived, but not the red. Eventually the starters arrived and were eaten - still no red wine. the main courses arrived - at this stage we asked for the red again. It finally arrived when most of the group had eaten half their main course. The exception was one member who had asked for a well-done steak - this arrived medium rare and had to be sent back for extra cooking. He was the only person who actualy had wine to accompany his whole meal! All in all, there appeared to be a lack of training and supervision of the waiting staff - the general atmosphere was surly and 'couldn't care less'. There was a marked absence of what might be called 'management' on the night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 06D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 311 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

To characterize the ambiance of this hotel, I use the words: “nothing too much”.
Therefore we decided this year, to spend again a few days at the Royal Hotel.
They have terrific rooms, a great terrace and a nice pool.
All staff of the Royal made us feel welcome again.
With a big smile they served, whole day through, what ever we asked.
Great food and good wines !

Room Tip: Garden suite nr1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

With the holidays, we stayed at the beautiful Royal Hotel. Very nice rooms, spacious and clean. The hotel has a beautiful garden with swimming pool. Also breakfast, lunch dinner were delicious and served by courteous staff. We had a lovely relaxing days. Thanks for this and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lvankessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked a room in the hotel for an evening away from our home in CT. Coming in at R1600 for 2 guests, we planned a weekend of luxury and relaxation in the beautiful town of Riebeeck Kasteel. The hotel surprises with friendly staff, fresh coffee and tea provided via room service and a good atmosphere in the outside restaurant and breakfast area. They make great use of the beautiful view of the surrounding vineyards and the front of the hotel is quite appealing with the stoep that stretches from side to side. Furthermore, it was a first time experience that the breakfast menu hosted a starter, mains and dessert option! We had dinner in town, which had numerous options just across the road, making it accessible and safe to walk. Some of the negatives: we were served unchilled wine in the restaurant; some of the bedlinen was torn and tattered; some general maintenance and cleaning was needed on the grounds; there was public seating in front of our room, resulting in less privacy and noise during the afternoon and early morning (we were woken at 5h45 by guests chatting and being served coffee on the stoep right in front of our bedroom window). All in all, our stay was a great disappointment for the price paid.

Room Tip: Do not choose any of the street facing rooms (including room 14) as you might also be woken by guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarietaDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Marieta DP,

Thank you for your review and all the compliments regarding our staff, atmosphere, the beautiful views, our garden restaurant, our complimentary coffee and tea service, our stoep and our breakfast. At the same time we regret that all this was apparently not enough to give us more than a one star rating. We realize during the new year some of the areas may have been more untidy at certain times than normal. Although 7 staff members are constantly occupied with cleaning (besides the waiters in restaurant and bar area) traffic at certain times was high and resulted sometimes in a backlog. Our apologies for this. As for our wines, our most selling wines are kept in refrigeration (at 5 degrees) while others are kept in our wine cellar at 14 degrees. We do realize that most people (myself included) like their white wines ice cold which is achieved by keeping the bottle a few minutes in the wine cooler (ice-bucket). It sounds like you had a bottle from our wine cellar and your waiter failed to inform you about this. Our sincere apologies. We have checked all our linen after your review and have not been able to find any that was torn but it is of course possible that something might have slipped through. All our rooms are checked first by the housekeepers themselves and again by Front of House before they get released. As you will remember you arrived early and our Front of House insisted to first check the room before releasing it. We have instructed our staff to be even more alert on this specific item. I apologize for noise coming into your room so early from outside. Although it hardly ever happens we have instructed our night porters to make sure no people sit outside room 13 and 14 in the early morning. May I further please suggest that when you stay with us again or any other hotel, to communicate any discomfort during your stay in the moment so the staff can act on it. According to my staff there were no complaints during your stay and this is confirmed by our camera and audio footage of your check-out were you confirmed clearly to our Front of House staff that your stay was completely satisfactory.

Kind regards,
Robert Brendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you are going to spend any time in the Swartland, make a point of spending a night at the Royal Hotel. It is nothing fancy but the experience is memorable. From sipping a cold one in the old bar, to spending time on the very long stoep it takes you back years.

The food is great and generous. Breakfast is a feast in itself. When last did you have a three course breakfast included in the B&B rate - they still do it.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdAvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed at The Royal Hotel, Riebeek Kasteel, with a friend over the Christmas period and found the hotel and staff to be helpful, friendly and warmly welcoming. Francois, the chef, has created excellent dishes both for breakfast and dinner, the old colonial ambience of the hotel creates the right atmosphere in which to relax and the long verandah is versatile as a place for tea, sundowners, dinner or just a place to relax. The comfortable lounge must be superb in the winter with the huge fireplace which is obviously used for log fires, The rooms and bathrooms are suitably equipped, comfortable beds, rather a small TV - but then you don't come here to watch TV. There is a large flat screen TV in the well-stocked bar, which also boasts an excellent wine list. I will happily book this hotel again - good value for money and a friendly place to stay in this very beautiful part of the country. Thanks to Francois, the chef, to Maxwell who looked after us very well - and to all the staff who worked so hard, especially with regard to arrangements for the 5 course Christmas lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Myself and some friends had dinner at the hotel. The menu had a wonderful array of items to choose from. Be warned - the portion sizes are large and excellent value for money. The service was friendly and efficient and the ambience delightful. This is a beautiful old colonial style property. I am looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
3 mi away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
359 reviews
24.3 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Views Country House
Vineyard Views Country House
#2 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shiraz Estate Guest House
Shiraz Estate Guest House
#1 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
93 reviews
46 mi away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#3 of 17 in Riebeek Kasteel
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Price Range: $132 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing