We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country Gem”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Also took advantage of the "Walk in" special.
Altogether a lovely country hotel in a very nice setting.
Accommodation excellent, food surpassing expectations for an off-beat place and staff friendly and helpful.
Best of all, some great local wines, especially a top class house wine.

Room Tip: Go for the back of the hotel. The ones onto the veranda can be noisy when guests sit outside in the...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 303 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had passed by before and had heard about the walk in special. We arrived after 3 pm and managed to get a garden room for 50% off the regular price for two days, which is a great deal as it includes breakfast, free coffee and cake during the day in a beautiful setting. The atmosphere of the hotel is very colonial. We really enjoyed our stay laying at the pool, relaxing, unwinding and not doing anything after long travels. Staff is very friendly and attentive. We didn't enjoy dinner too much but I guess that's a matter of taste. Breakfast on the porch was a joy. You have free Wifi on the premises.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

To start on a positive note - this hotel is very historic and it is lovely to sit and have a drink or dine in (the food and service at dinner was excellent). However, I have stayed in a number of well rated hotels while in SA and this was the most expensive and the most disappointing. There was a real sense the hotel was being run down, to the point that there were no staff present during the night and the hotel was shut apart from two rooms (including mine) occupied in the garden. Rather disconcerting in South Africa and not what one would pay R1400 for! The rooms were OK- but there were lots of elements missing and it certainly didn't feel luxurious. I suspect the owners are cutting corners with costs - which is rather foolish in my opinion. Many drinks on the wine menu were not available and the breakfast buffet was not available (presumably because of so few guests) and the cooked breakfast was burned in parts. We felt rather awkward staying there. This is all a real shame, because it could be a great hotel and clearly, from the comments of other reviewers, it has been. I really think the owners should either choose to shut it fully to guests during quiet times, to certainly lower their prices, or upgrade the offering in their rooms and keep the hotel fully open and welcoming when guests are staying.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danco28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. Although we are very happy that you find our food and service excellent we deeply regret that you might have felt unsafe at any stage of your stay. I can assure you that we are not taking short cuts but that just merely due to circumstances there was no night porter that night. The night porter is there to offer services to our guests, not to provide security. We do have a security company who does that 24/7. Within a radius of 50 km we are the only establishment that makes use of night porters. I understand that for Europeans it might seem that the whole of South Africa has safety issues but we are fortunate that Riebeek Kasteel is the kind of town were people still sleep with their doors and windows open. I personally would not go as far as recommending this but it shows the low crime rate of the town. Let's hope it always will stay this way and Riebeek Kasteel will be able to keep its innocence. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I was told its one of the oldest hotels in the Western Cape, but once you step through the wonderful original facade, you enter into a world of modern styling and relaxation. Its a very nice place to chill out, take time, read a book and re-charge the batteries. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel for a nice weekend in wonderful countryside

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinrwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review. You are so right about The Royal being the perfect place to unwind and to re-charge the batteries. It is always a pleasure to see how a few days of pure relaxation can make all the difference. So, whenever you feel stressed we will be here. Just like we were for the last 150 years. Yes, 2012 is the 150th anniversary of the oldest hotel of the Western Cape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Hotel for one night as part of a mini road trip around the Western Cape. Having never been to Riebeek Kasteel or the Royal Hotel before, we took a chance on this one – and we’re really glad we did!

We booked via the hotel website and were originally allocated a garden room. When we arrived, however, there was an issue with the shower in the garden room so Reception asked if we would mind switching to an interior room. As we were only staying for one night, we didn’t feel it was a problem and although a garden room would’ve been preferable, our stay wasn’t at all spoilt by not having one. Our interior room was a good size with an extremely comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom with a separate shower and bath. There was also an air conditioning unit, which proved to be invaluable during the night as it was extremely hot.

The pool area is raised up at first floor level and has a decked area with sun loungers and umbrellas. We spent most of the afternoon up there relaxing by the pool enjoying the lovely views of the hotel gardens and the surrounding mountains. The waiters brought up drinks from the bar so we didn’t have to go far!

In the evening we ate at the hotel restaurant. The food was delicious and the service from our waiter (a lovely guy from Zimbabwe) was exceptional. We also ate breakfast at the hotel the following morning too – there was a decent choice of hot and cold items on the menu which were freshly prepared to order.

The hotel staff were great – nothing was too much trouble and they handled a tricky incident with a burst pipe up the road (which resulted in no water in the hotel on the morning of our departure) extremely well. If only we could’ve taken them up on the offer of a second night’s stay at a much reduced rate by way of compensation, as we had a thoroughly enjoyable overnight stay and would love to return again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pssei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy you really enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future and maybe can try out one of our garden rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Royal occupies prime position in this small wine village in Swartland. Our room was bright, clean and spacious with a nice bathroom. Room 1 to 5 (we were in 3) overlook the nice gardens and obviously have a rather better aspect. Staff were generally friendly and helpful but service sometimes a little reactive which was the only slight let down.
.
We spent 3 nights during December and had dinner on one evening and were impressed with the food although the wine list was a little less adventurous then nearby establishments.

We would however return if in the area again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden (Numbers 1 to 5) have much better views.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and the compliments. I am sorry that the service was too slow at times (if I understand correctly). Our waiters are instructed to not be too much in our guests faces and are not allowed to constantly ask our guests if they are still OK as we find this happens too much in certain places, especially in Cape Town but they shouldn't take this too far either. A fine line. Regarding to our wine list I agree with you that our wine list wasn't up to the hotel's standards. Since a few weeks we have a new wine list however that fills us with pride. Well balanced within different price levels and of course including plenty of all the Swartland wines that are winning so many awards these last few years. Thank you again and we hope welcoming you again at our historical hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Clean but service wasn't up to the accreditation the hotel has been awarded. Front of house staff didn't show us around, offer to help with bags, nor tell us about breakfasts /meals. Lovely setting though and beds v comfortable. We had dinner at The Traveller's Rest down the road- was excellent- highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for you review and thank you for the feed-back on our front of house staff. Information like this helps us to keep improving on our services. This is definitely not our standard and has been fully investigated and disciplinary action has been taken. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner at Travellers Rest. Excellent choice. I can only hope our front of house pointed you in that direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
3.0 mi away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shiraz Estate Guest House
Shiraz Estate Guest House
#1 of 15 in Riebeek Kasteel
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#2 of 15 in Riebeek Kasteel
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Riebeek Kasteel
32 reviews
16.4 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#4 of 18 in Tulbagh
306 reviews
15.6 mi away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Price Range: $115 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing