We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royalty!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Certificate of Excellence
Paarl
1 review
“Royalty!”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were treated like royalty at the hotel! The hotel is beautiful, the food exquisit, the service outstanding and the ambiance magnificent. The Royal Hotal is a rare experience that accentuates quality of life. We are looking forward to a future breakaway - another enriching experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolansenooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review. Comments like these make it all worth while trying to improve on ourselves every day. Although in the country and a bit away from the mainstream facilities our aim is to offer the same service as one may expect in Cape Town or Franschhoek. We believe that achieving this in combination with the beauty our valley has to offer ,we can offer a truly different and rememberable stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    89
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
38
142
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Super comfortable beds, nice linen, air-conditioning, en suite marble bathroom with separate shower and bath, room service, nice pool and sun deck, big garden with amazing views on Kasteelberg mountain, friendly staff. Need to say more? OK, historical colonial hotel, longest safari like veranda, “Out of Africa” feel, authentic colonial bar and more friendly staff. And although the town has lots of lovely little restaurants the hotel’s restaurant “1862”is the place to have dinner should you look for an affordable gourmet treat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanDaalenAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your say so much. Every time we have a bigger following from Europe. Our beautiful picturesque valley, country friendliness and good service in combination with the colonial historical building seems a very appealing combination. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We took a day trip to Riebeek on what was going to be a day trip from Cape Town and so loved the fantastic charm of the Riebeek valley that we decided to stay the night at the Royal Hotel.
This old colonial hotel has been restored wonderfully with modern hotel features but retaining the old world charm. Our rooms were large comfortable with great beds and good showers with excellent linens set in the gardens which have great views of the valley around and a real warmth of welcoming from the owner of the hotel Robert.
We will return to the hotel again as the area is a wonderful oasis of traditional South africa and seems to be getting a good reputation, (well deserved) as a gastronomic centre. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG_Eclipse_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Management representative at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear valued guest, Thank you very much for your kind review and taking the time and effort to give your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2011

A hotel that can’t be ignored on a colonial trip is this oldest hotel in the Western Cape. With the longest front veranda south of the Limpopo it has a colonial façade even the Mount Nelson can be jealous of. Old world feel with all modern day’s facilities. And only for a third of the price we paid in other hotels. We prepared for quite a trip only to find out it took us one hour drive only from the Mount Nelson. Located in the main street of this beautiful little town where people still leave their front door open (must be the last town in SA). Friendliness all over. Not just at the hotel. Great food. Slow living.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TatLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Management representative at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you very much for your time and effort to review us. We are glad The Royal fitted in so well with your colonial trip. Your knowledge of historical buildings was a real treat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed one night (special occasion). On arrival, we got checked into a room with interleading door. Immediately we requested to move to another room as we could hear EVERY SINGLE WORD of the conversation the couple next door was having. We were told hotel is full and we can't be moved.
Upon leaving for dinner, we again requested to be moved in case situation changed. We left for dinner and came back to room at around 23h00. Our adjoining neighours were making a huge racket on their side (however in their request, there was only a single door between us - we could literally hear bodily noises, it was disgusting! Nevertheless, we had absolutely NO privacy and it was LOUD (so much for a romantic weekend - if we could hear everything they were saying and doing, they would hear us, right?) After 2 hours of no sleep, we called reception who put us through to management (Kaminda); she agreed that they will call the room next door. 20 minutes later we had not heard their phone rang and the noise levels were as ridiculous as ever. We phoned again - reception advised that their phone wasn't working. That's it? He obviously decided just to leave it there. Again we requested to speak to management, she agreed that they will send someone to knock on their door (this was now past 1am). This also never happened. 15 minutes later, someone arrived at our door to announce that we may now move to another room which has magically become available 01:30am! Now we had to get dressed, pack all our things and move in the icy cold (no help was offered to move our bags) to another room luckily not too far away. Upon getting settled i called management again to ask why on earth had they let us go through this drama when we requested another room twice before. I was told someone didn't arrive at last minute. We were furious that they didn't let us know that this room had become available when we requested upfront (and twice!) to be moved to another room and they knew we were unhappy with the total and utter lack of privacy. Kaminda's atttitude was 'what's the problem, we moved you now - what ELSE do you want?'. She clearly wasn't taking into consideration that they were in the position to move us before supper and step up to a higher service level which they were clearly not equipped to do, both from a systems and service point of view.
Zero compensation was offer and management did not seek us out in the morning to check if we had managed to sleep and to apologise for our inconvenience.
One of the reasons we were staying at the Royal for the weekend, was to scout a wedding venue; nevermind not getting married there. I will never stay there again and make a point of advising everybody i know against staying there.
We travel the world and have been in situations before were the service wasn't great and we have even stayed in an interleading room before - this was by far the worst treatment we have EVER received from the management of a "5 star" hotel.
2am in the morning i was searching for TripAdvisor reviews on my blackberry and found that management's poor attitude was also reflected in their dismissive responses on complaints posted on this website. I guess the point is that if they can't acknowledge their mistakes, they can't fix them.
My partner also requested a bottle of champagne to be in the room when we arrived back from dinner (we were celebrating a special day) - this never happened.
So i will never ever recommend this hotel to anyone. Not because it isn't quaint but because when something does go wrong, you will not be treated like a valued guest but someone who is inconveniencing management by complaining or requested improved service.
One more point: we had lunch at this hotel at the beginning of 2010 and being back now, 7-8 months later, it is very clear that they have totally slacked in maintenance - peeling paint, cracks and water marks on walls and ceilings, dodgy/noisy plumbing, outside area dirty, fountains/water feature empty, dirty and full of leaves/dirt, etc. etc.
Don't ever stay here. There are many beautiful places in Riebeek that will treat you like the valued guest you are and for a more reasonable rate.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Management representative at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
We are very sorry to learn that we have not been able to live up to your expectations.
It is most unfortunate this incident took place. I do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise factor of the room adjoining. It is a situation that is clearly beyond our control. These situations can happen in this industry from time to time although for us it is the first time we received a complaint of this nature. Our rooms have 60 cm thick walls and the inter leading rooms are separated by two (!) doors with 40 cm thick foam in between to ensure complete sound proof. Something that was done after this incident is that now the keys to the doors and not left in there at the discretion of the clients (as in most hotels) but only handed out when used as inter leading. This is to prevent that either side may open the door from their side and prevent (although very unlikely) removing the insulating foam. We tried our best to handle it as well as we could with all the discretion possible. As the lights were off in the room next door and no sound was to be heard at the time we chose not to wake them up. It so happened that when management was called out to assist in solving this problem that there was a no show (which can only be determined after a certain time). All in all your request of being moved to another room was honored. The night porter was at your door at all times waiting to carry your luggage until sent away by your partner. Your requests for a complementary stay in your emails we can’t honor as management dealt promptly with the situation and you had a 33% discount on the room rate. We hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Traveling through the beautiful Cape we suddenly found ourselves at The Royal Hotel in Riebeek Kasteel. Without planning this we realized it was the hotel that the magazine Elsevier wrote an article about a few months ago. We stayed three days and they were lovely. Maybe it´s because we are Europeans but we love the old colonial feel and it is such a pity that 99% of the old colonial hotels have disappeared. The warm and friendly service completed a wonderful stay. If only there were more investors that would save old diamonds like this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBlaricum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Management representative at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you for your time and effort to rate us on Tripadvisor. Please feel free to "surprise" us again with a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The best way to describe the experience at The Royal Hotel is simply not to expect what you see on their website. Reality does not meet the expectation created. We stayed in a garden suite and was hoping for a 'verdant garden' as described in the 'Portfolio Retreats Collection Town & Country 2010'. If by 'verdant' they imply a lawn invested with weeds, not a single flower & absolutely NO charm they are correct. It was actually depressing sitting on the chairs outside the room looking out on the garden with a sinlge windblown rose outside each room & garden ornaments knocked over by the wind, but nobody bothered to pick up in 2 days. My partner described the service at breakfast by the staff 'like they are doing us a favour'. The lounge area in the hotel is shabby as are frankly the rest of the reception areas. The garden suite was roomy & very clean, but not many frills - which one does expect for the price. On checking in we were immediately informed that check out is at 11:00 and Sunday morning received a phone call at 11:15 to inform us we were overstaying our welcome - we had just finished Sunday breakfast & had gone to our rooms to collect our luggage. My partner confessed on the way home that he feels like he has been fleeced. Final comment - overpriced for what they offer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
3.0 mi away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shiraz Estate Guest House
Shiraz Estate Guest House
#1 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#2 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
30 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riebeek Kasteel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing