We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thiopia Omo valley tribal tour with a travel company !”

Omo National Park and River
Book In Advance
More Info
$2,126.00*
and up
OMO Valley - the unique wilderness in 7 days
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Jinka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open Ethiopia is running a trip to Omo national park and Omo valley tribes
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed March 20, 2015

We 3 travelers from Russia ,been in Ethiopia on January.
We have got a recomended travel agent King Dawit ToursvEthiopia from a friend, we have contacted Dawit Solomon for an itinerary and price.

He suggest us a 10 days trip with budget travel price and as of our time we confirm for a 9 days program.

Up on our arrival on January 07 Dawit mate us at the airport with an excelent condition minivan for a transfer to our hotel Cozy place.

The same night he introduce us with ourdriver guide,Seleshi.
Jan 08 at 06:30 we mate our Seleshi with a Toyota land cruiser , pack our luggage and start our trip to Tiya and Adadi Mariam church. We stay our night in Arba Minch Tourust hotel.
Next day we have boat ride on Lake Chamo and visit Nechisar park.
On our trip to omo valley we have visited villages of the lip streching mursi tribes,mago park ,hammer tribes colorfull with mud hair decoration and finally body decorated caro tribes after crossing a river at Omorate.
It was exciting with a good english explanation by our driver guide ,Seleshi.He was kind and helpfull in assisting our luggages.

On Jan 14 we drive back to Awassa, very beautiful city with three wheel vehicles locally they call it "bajaje". We stayed at Tadesse enjori hotel. Nice food but the night we didnt get hot shower.
Morning we visit fish market with tasting fresh roasted fish and we continue for Addis with on the road sight seeing.
On arrival in Addis ,Dawit invited us for a dinner in a traditional restaurant at yod Abyssinia.
Wr enjoyed kitfo with kocho ,really unique in kind and you couldnt find any where.
Finally we have a great trip to the omo vally of Ethiopia with King Dawit Tours Ethiopia arrangement and we appreciate Dawit for organizing our trip.
We recomend this guide and agent for any travel need in Ethiopia.
You can contact him kingdawittours@gmail.com
And his websites from the company broacher
www.kingdawittoursethiopia.webs.com

Date of experience: January 2015
7  Thank Paulamadison33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bull jumping ceremony"
in 44 reviews
"tour guide"
in 29 reviews
"local guide"
in 29 reviews
"arba minch"
in 41 reviews
"ethiopia tours"
in 16 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 11 reviews
"southern ethiopia"
in 17 reviews
"spent days"
in 11 reviews
"excellent guide"
in 7 reviews
"his team"
in 6 reviews
"addis ababa"
in 11 reviews
"local tribes"
in 11 reviews
"goat"
in 8 reviews
"take care"
in 5 reviews
"fantastic trip"
in 4 reviews
"two weeks"
in 7 reviews
"my girlfriend"
in 8 reviews
Filter

284 - 288 of 476 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2015

My husband and I spent 8 days in the Omo Valley region of Ethiopia.In this area it is not easy to find a guide that you can trust.

We were very lucky to meet Belay Keyafer. He is a fantastic English speaking tour guide that spent the entire time with us. His knowledge of the region is extremely deep and he showed us many interesting things that only a local guide born in the region has access to. Such as: an invitation for coffee inside the real home of a Hamer family, a rain dance and a run with the bulls. He is a really fun guy, very laid back and well mannered. We are not the easiest customers and he was very tolerant to our needs. We highly recommend him as a guide for the Omo valley tribes or any other activities in the region.

Date of experience: April 2014
7  Thank Lili A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2015

We spent in Ethiopia almost 3 weeks between 3 and 21 of February 2015. At first we went to Omo Valley with Ethio Travel and Tours. It was amazing trip in every respect. Generally we travel a lot (we’ve been also in Africa before), we have seen also a lot of amazing things in different countries all over the world but Omo Valley and tribes who live there are unique.

We bought our trip in Ethio Travel and Tours (ETT) office, at place in Addis Ababa (we didn’t arrange anything from Poland). The first day when we arrived to Addis, we called the agency and they sent a car to pick us from the hotel, which was very nice and convenience because first day in foreign country, especially in Africa, is often difficult (jet lag etc.). Betty who took care of us from the side of the ETT was very well speaking English and ready to answer all our questions. She helped us plan our entire stay in Ethiopia (because we wanted to see a lot but we did not have too much time on this), despite the fact that we bought in the agency only two trips (to Omo Valley and to Simien Mountains) but other places (like Gondar and Lalibela) we wanted to see on our own. The ETT was also very helpful in other things like exchanging dollars for Ethiopian birr with a very good rate and ordering for us tickets for the domestic flights we wanted to take also on our own. ETT was very helpful in a variety of other organizational matters we asked, even not related to tours we bought from them (what is not very common when it comes to other agencies we have to deal, they usually wanted the extra money for extra services). That is why we can truly recommend ETT as a reliable agency. You can find them at www.ethiotravelandtours.com.

The tour itself to the Omo Valley was very well organized. We didn’t have any problems during the entire tour. We took 8 days tour by car from Addis. We had a good 4x4 car with A/C, a driver and a guide. The good guide is really essential. We were lucky to meet Wondiye. We can truly say that he was the best guide we ever met. Very good speaking English with the broad knowledge on people, nature and traditions of Ethiopia. He was always very well prepared to answer all our question and explain us incomprehensible for the Europeans complexities of Ethiopian customs. We got to know a lot about this country thanks to him. It was really inspiring and memorable. What is more, Wondiye was a good friend too. Always care, tactful, empathetic with psychological sense (when we was speaking in our language he was sometimes able to recognize what we were talking about J ). If you want to discover Ethiopia and really learn something about this country, which, for many of Europeans is underestimated and incomprehensible, we can truly recommend Wondiye Kassaw.
You can reach Wondiye at e-mail: kwondiye@yahoo.com or 0913 31 69 41.

The stay in Ethiopia was for sure one of the most exceptional experience we had in our life!

Date of experience: February 2015
5  Thank Magda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2015

We spent one week in Omo Valley in January. It definitely left a lasting impression!! The tribes and their culture are fascinating and exotic... we were really lucky to visit also a Bulljump at the Banna tribe - sooo impressive!! Thanks to our guide Andualem (Andy) we got much more than we expected!! If you look for a personal and basic way to travel in Omo Valley we could highly recommend to go with him: http://omovalleybetessebetours.wordpress.com/

Date of experience: January 2015
5  Thank Katrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2015

Ehtiopia is the hidden gem of Africa, and South Omo is definitely the hidden gem of Ethiopia. No words can describe the beauty of its people and the immensity of its nature. I travelled to the South with Fitretu (fitretu@yahoo.com) and his team, and I honestly can't think any other tour operator in the area could ever provide a better service. The whole trick about getting the most of your time in South Omo is knowing people among the different tribes, and Fitretu's network of local guides is unbeatable. A truly great experience.

Date of experience: January 2015
1  Thank Maciej B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omo National Park and River also viewed

Jinka, Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region
Afar Region, Ethiopia
 
Jinka, Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region
Arba Minch, Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region
 

Been to Omo National Park and River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing