We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best day in Karijini National Park”

West Oz Active Adventure - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: West Oz Active Adventure Tours, Conducts Professionally Guided Day Tours in the Karijini National Park. These Tours are of a very Active Nature and are suitable for Active People from 13 yrs to 72 yrs (If you're over 72 and keen call Pete). Day Tours are small group adventure Maximum 8 Participants with 2 Highly experienced Roping Guides. All equipment is supplied from Wetsuits, Water Shoes, Helmet & Harness. The Day is Fully Catered and Vegos are no worries. At the end of the day we relax and enjoy the day's Film & issue a copy to all Participants - Inclusive in our pricing. Activities include but not limited to - Abseiling / Sliding / Tubing / Climbing / Discovering. This is a very Social Day & Novices are very welcome.
France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best day in Karijini National Park”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a really amazing journey through the gorges. It’s the only way to see some of the most impressive parts of Karijini National Park. We had never abseiled before and it was not a problem at all. Pete and Brenton were really nice and made this day memorable!
Also they give you all photos and videos of the day for free :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank leousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laverton, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in the west!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner Jess and I were on a tight schedule and desperately wanted to do the tour. Pete the owner did everything he could to fit us in and was extremely accommodating. Brenton our guide for the day was incredibly knowledgable and we had an amazing experience in a truly unique environment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dillon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The BEST of Karijini!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We did the Red Gorge Tour in August this year and it was the absolute highlight of our time in Karijini.
Right from the start with booking - I contacted Pete and he let me know what days he had tours available and the gear they provided etc, through til the photo presentation at the end of the day, it was fantastic! Pete and Brenton looked after everybody and provided us with the opportunity to see areas of Karijini inaccessible without a guide.
The tour involved hiking down into Knox gorge with our inner tubes, sliding down a waterfall, climbing and being lowered or abseiling at times through narrow sections before we entered Reg Gorge. From here we slowly paddled our way along Red Gorge, soaking up the beautiful, towering red cliffs either side of the gorge. We had a relaxing stop for lunch - which was very tasty and then continued down Red Gorge, past Weano Falls to Junction pool. The whole time we were struck by the immensity of the gorges and their stunning beauty which we had plenty of time to enjoy.
From Junction Pool we climbed up through Hancock gorge where we met Brenton again at Regans Pool, where he had set up ropes for us to climb up to Kermits Pool and out through Spider walk and from there walk to the bus at Weano Day use area.
We found the whole experience amazing. Even when my husband aggravated an old injury, Pete offered painkillers and made sure he was comfortable throughout the trip. Also Pete supplied all the photos he had taken during the trip to us at the end of the day free of charge!!
If you are able to handle a bit of physical activity and want the see the best of Karijini I highly recommend this trip!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom Price, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“epic trip”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Sliding off a waterfall, Absailing down a waterfall, An paddling through untouched canyons before rock climbing out. An amazing day an a adventure not to be missed. It is surprising that more Aussies don't actually no about this oasis in the middle of no were. I had never heard of Karijini until i worked out of Tom Price. An would recommend anyone to see it for your self. Pete looked after everyone an made the trip safe an exciting. The Red Rock Adventure is just one trip of many to be had an its an amazing place not to be missed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timpy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Life changing”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have just returned from a five-day trip with West Oz Active's touring arm, "The Flying Sandgroper". The trip was called "Karijini Ningaloo Reef to Range". I'm not coping at all well with my return to the city! My time on this trip, guided by the hilarious and exceptional West Oz Active/Flying Sandgroper boss Pete West, was astounding. Five days felt like twice that or more. Each day was dazzling. Snorkelling off the beach in Cape Range National Park; snorkelling off a boat on Ningaloo Reef and following a massive and languid turtle for 20 minutes or more through the coral; sitting around a fire at Bullara Station, our accommodation for two days and, later, smelling the wood-smoke on my clothes; discovering the stupendous photographic possibilities of Bullara's original 1920s shearing shed in the late, golden afternoon; showering in the Bullara open-air shower; wildflowers, pink, purple, blue; swimming in Fern Pool, Dales Gorge; floating in a truck tyre inner-tube down Joffre Gorge and gazing up at the red cliffs and the shrieking, nesting corellas; watching the moon rise then two days later, studying the Milky Way in a black sky....... it's not five-star, your clothes will be covered in red dust, your muscles may hurt after clambering in and out of steep gorges, but this trip may be the best thing you ever do in your life. Thanks Pete!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Oz Active Adventure - Day Tours also viewed

Karijini National Park, The Pilbara
Karijini National Park, The Pilbara
 
Karijini National Park, The Pilbara
Karijini National Park, The Pilbara
 

Been to West Oz Active Adventure - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing