We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, French hotel”
Review of Le Crillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Crillon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Murs
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed one night in this lovely little hotel- in a gorgeous Provence village. The decor was lovely, the bathroom modern and clean and we had a terrace which was quiet and peaceful.
We'd booked as we wanted to dine in the restaurant but did not find out until after we had booked and paid that it would be closed. Owner was helpful with recommedations- but only in other villages as theirs was the only restaurant in the village, and all were too far to walk.
It was a Sunday, we know that France closes on a Sunday, but there was absolutely no service from the owner- she told us that she needed a rest!
Breakfast was not included and was expesnive- but there is a really delicious deli/ bakery just round the corner & plenty of scenic places to stop and eat!
These things are bearable, but the reason that we would not go back is the lack of sound proofing between rooms- we could hear everything: footsteps, zips on bags being opened- including being woken up by (very loud!) snoring in the night. Bit of a let down as it should be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure there is not an adjoining door to another room- although the corridor was noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EsJayUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Le Crillon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

Le Crillon is a sleepy hotel in Murs, a town about 10 minutes away from Gordes where hotel prices are double.

We were hesitant to stay given we had planned to stay in Gordes but we were so glad we ended up at Le Crillon.

It was nice to stay in the smaller town, avoiding traffic and the concierge gave us two days' worth of *golden* touring tips, 2 of our very favorite days of our 2 week trip in France.

The staff was very friendly. While the breakfast was a bit pricy, there weren't any other options in the area, and it was stocked with eggs and yogurt in addition to pastries and fruits.

The rooms themselves are spotless, very nice and filled with the standard amenities (soaps, hair dryers, TV, etc).

We would definitely recommend a stay at Le Crillon for anyone interested in touring the Luberon area - it is a perfect home-base.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Owner is very sharp, impolite, cold, arrogant and very direct. Had an argument with him about added taxes to our account. During the argument he became very rude and I told him that he has had a bad attitude towards us since we arrived. He told me that he doesn't care. I asked him this question:" Don't you care if guests are not happy?" His reply was:" No I don't care if a guest is happy or not, I am here to have peace and if some guests are not happy, I don't care". He added that the reason he had a bad attitude towards my wife and I is because we didn't eat the hotels breakfast or their dinner. On the first night when we asked him questions about the room, he told us very sharply that their is ABSOLUTELY no eating in the rooms of the hotel. When I asked him why, he simply said that it is this hotels policy not to allow any food in the room. I think it is because he wants guests to eat in restaurant in the hotel. When asking the same person about which channel I can watch the soccer World Cup on, he said I should just keep going through the channels until I find it. I told him that I already did that, through more than 50 channels, then he suddenly gave me the channel that broadcasts the match. Please avoid or suffer the consequences, he ruined my evenings in the hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the drive away from it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Francois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed for one night in this small charming hotel in Provence. Our room was spacious (enough to be comfortable with a travel cot that the hotel had installed before our arrival) and had a nice terasse. The atmosphere is really friendly and the hosts are doing their best to ensure you have a great time. We also had the opportunity to try the restaurant and enjoyed a very original cuisine with great fresh ingredients. We will go back with pleasure

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeciliaGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

On a recent hiking trip, we had reserved this hotel for a Sunday evening, but because of terrible weather, had cut short the hike and arrived in Murs during the Sunday midday dinner hour. I called to ask if there was a local cafe where we could wait until check-in and was told to just come along to the hotel. We arrived looking bedraggled and a bit muddy, but were taken in to the bar where we could wait. We were soon given the key to our room, where we were able to rest, clean up, and dry wet clothing. This offer of hospitality - unexpected, and not required on their part - won me over.
The room was charming - comfortable, chic, and impeccably clean.
The restaurant served dinner on Sunday evening - unusual in a small village - and very much appreciated by us. The meal was wonderful. The technique, the layering of flavors, and the menu design are sophisticated and reflect serious culinary skill. The ingredients are those of Provence, presented in a modern way. Madame handles the front of the house with skill and a perfect sense of timing.
The next morning, our breakfast was lovely. Fresh pastries, house-made preserves, and wonderful coffee.
I will always remember the hospitality and friendliness, and hope to return someday.
This is a perfect small hotel in a lovely little village of the Luberon. Absolutely worth going out of your way to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatWI68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a night during our travels through Provence, and we wished we could have stayed longer! The hotel is very cute and quaint, and our room was quite large and clean with a lounge area right outside the door. They have a small restaurant across the alley where we had one of the best dinners we had during our entire trip. Overall we loved our stay here as we explored the beautiful Murs/Gordes area.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank shinoosh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Have known this hotel/restaurant for some years, we have not used it as a hotel, only as a place to eat. In the early years it had a rustic/local bar that served good local food, the restaurant served a plateful of good food at reasonable prices and we were happy to recommend it. In 2011 we thought the food was good but the price had gone up and you had less on the plate. This year we needed some where to eat in the evening on our first night at a gite, this place was close by so we booked a table. Our gite owner was of the view that it was now more pictures on plates and pricey, she was not wrong, the plates are pretty, the food was just about OK, though my pork was very dry and the price charged was high. There are plenty of other eateries in the area, who for less or similar prices give you a better food experience. We were in area for 2 weeks and never went back but had good meals elsewhere when we went out to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murs
6.4 mi away
Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres
1.2 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
3.5 mi away
Le Mas des Romarins
Le Mas des Romarins
#11 of 24 in Gordes
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#12 of 24 in Gordes
243 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
264 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 5 in Roussillon
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Crillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Crillon Hotel

Address: rue du Brave Crillon, 84220 Murs, Gordes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Murs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Murs
Price Range: $88 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Crillon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel> in an old house dating from the 15e century , nested in the heart of the village of> and attached to rhe flank of a hill, just opposite the>, welcomes you in a peaceful place away from the organised excursions. You can enjoy the compensating rest, sun kissed and rocked to sleep by the crickets singing, letting your dreams follow the wind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Crillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing