We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The villa exceeds expectations, which, are...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Theophile

Villa Theophile
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Theophile
The 12m x 6m private pool and its secluded terrace We can't promise skies this blue, but we do our best!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Villa Theophile
The 12m x 6m private pool and its secluded terrace
We can't promise skies this blue, but we do our best!
The shady kitchen terrace
Inviting pool for fun and games, or just cooling off
The main pool terrace
The well-equipped kitchen
Clean lines in the latest kitchen update
The dining table comfortably seats 16
Spacious and comfortable sitting room
The enormous ballroom
Ballroom view from the other end
Master bedroom one with the best views in the house.  Can be made up as a double or a twin.
Master bedroom one's en-suite bathroom
Master bedroom two - grand windows and more wraparound views
Master bedroom two's en-suite
Kingsize bedroom three with an en-suite shower.  Can be made up as a double or twin room.
Kingsize bedroom four, has a family bathroom just across the corridor.
Kingize bedroom five.  Can be made up as a double...
... or a twin.  Shares the shower room opposite with the Long Room
The Long Room - kingsize or twin - with bags of character. Shares a shower room with Bedroom five
The other end of the Long Room features its own sitting area beyond the chimney breast.
Small double or large single - your choice!  Shares a shower room with the single bedroom.
The single bedroom.  Shares a shower room with the small double.
The first floor sitting room.  Perfect if you're looking for a bit of peace and quiet.
The main lawn
The shady main terrace beckons when the sun gets too hot to stay by the pool.
View of the tower from the garden
Vacqueyras seen from the house
Your own piece of Provence
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Gigondas, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philip S
2 reviews
“The villa exceeds expectations, which, are already pretty high !”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Villa Theophille looks wonderful on the Trip Advisor photos - it is better in real life. It's difficult to gauge the ambience and the size from photos. The Villa is beautifully appointed and maintained. The pool and surrounding areas are perfect for families - our grandchildren had a ball. The kitchen and dining areas are so well equipped. We wouldn't have changed a thing - and had we wished to John & Ian would have obliged !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: spaciousness
Liked least: dodgy wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the setting
Liked least: The trip was too short
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julia W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Dream wedding at Villa Théophile”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We'd been planning to look at a few different wedding venues in Provence but as soon as we'd seen Villa Théophile and met the owners Phillipa and Glen we knew we'd found the place.
Located just a 45-min drive from Avignon and set among the vineyards, it's a great spot. The nearest town Vacqueyras is an incredibly picturesque 15-20-min walk away.

Throughout the whole wedding planning process Phillipa was incredibly helpful, giving us all the information and advice we needed along the way. When we arrived, the friendly caretakers John and Ian were on hand to make sure our stay (and our big day) all went to plan and even brought us fresh vegetables from the garden. Nothing was too much trouble – they were on hand when we needed them and they tended to the immaculate pool and gardens each day.

The house itself is beautifully decorated with lovely furniture from the owners' travels. Entertaining space is in abundances with its amazing pool with huge patio and barbecue area and well-equipped kitchen and separate larder. Plus the huge dining room, ball room and sitting room on the ground floor which can be used if the weather isn't so good.

We spent an incredible week at Villa Théophile and had a wedding that was even better than we'd hoped and which was memorable for all the right reasons. It was a magical place to share with all our friends and we would highly recommend it to anyone without hesitation. We're hoping to book it for a holiday again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl W
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dream Chateau in Provence ”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from Villa Théophile having spent a wonderful week with friends and family at this beautiful property. Many thanks to the very gracious owner, Phillipa, the hospitable caretakers Ian and Jon and not least the chef, Magali who provided 2 great 4-course dinners!

This is the 6th Chateau I've booked over the last 10 years and this is by far the best for many different reasons:

1. The location, in the middle of hundreds of acres of vineyards in Cotes du Rhône on a hill just outside a beautiful old village, is spectacular.

2. The property is beautiful and the attention to detail is fabulous. Everything is very well laid out - the pool is next to the Bar-B-Q which is next to the kitchen. On those beautiful summer evenings in Provence, there's nothing better than wining and dining outdoors on the terrace overlooking the beautiful countryside.

3. The bedrooms and bathrooms, just like the rest of the house, have everything you need. Although it's a very old property, all the amenities everywhere, are super modern and function extremely well.

4. The kitchen is exceptionally well equipped for both indoor AND outdoor cooking. We were 12 adults, a teenager and an infant. A cot and high chair were provided for the infant. There was a pool alarm, which was great security, plenty of outdoor and indoor games, lounge chairs and couches/umbrellas for total relaxation.

I could go on but there lacked for nothing! Needless to say, the week went by exceedingly quickly!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L
Oyne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional value, highly recommended”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were a group of 13 adults, visiting the region to enjoy the local food and wines, specifically the Chateauneuf du Pape.
This glorious house was ideally placed and provided a wonderful base for our stay. Villa Theophile has spacious bedrooms, beautifully decorated and furnished to a high standard. The bathrooms are modern and very luxurious with plenty of towels and toiletries. The kitchen is extremely well equipped.
The villa is set in lovely grounds with a large outdoor seating area around the pool, where there is also a fantastic BBQ and covered area with a large table and chairs for eating outside.
There is a care taker living on site, in the basement who is English and happy to help with any problems. The owner was very helpful and prompt when answering our questions.
We cannot recommend this house enough, it was clean and proved very good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne C
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay, lovely host and stunning place.”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I went on a week yoga retreat at the Villa Theophile. Everything was beyond expectations. The actual villa is absolutely stunning, very comfortable and incredibly beautiful. The hosts so lovely, helpful and really friendly. The food was also very delicious. I would recommend this place to anybody, wether it is a family and friends holiday or in a group.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the people and the beauty of the place.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenmike06...
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sun salutations in style!”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A stunning place. Elegant, stylish and very comfortable accommodation. Delightful, peaceful grounds and lovely pool. Phillipa is a superb hostess, we were made very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and comfort.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing