We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit”
Review of L'Oustalet

L'Oustalet
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Gigondas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have been to L'Oustalet a number of times since the Perrin family (think Beaucastel) took it over. Some meals have been fantastic; some much less so. Part of the problem is that the 39 Euro menu offers only two choices for each dish. If you are in sinc with the offerings it is a fantastic experience; if you are not the meal can be somewhat of a let down. I thought that this visit was somewhere between four and five starts; more leaning toward five which is where the ranking finally came down. The chocolate sphere for dessert was particularly wonderful. This is a place that when they are "on" it is absolutely one of the best meals in the Cote d'Rhone; when they are somewhat off it is still OK but not quite worth the price. In any even it is certainly worth a trip to see if you and the menu d'jour are compatible.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    79
    18
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KINROSS
Level Contributor
270 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“This is what French food is all about”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch at this wonderful restaurant, the food was unbelievable, everything you could want in taste, presentation washed down with a glass of local Gigondas wine. The pre-lunch tasting amuse bouché offered was both creative and extremely tasty. The portions are not massive but certainly large enough for lunch.
Yes, it is what some would call "stuffy" but this is part of the top end French dining experience and we found conversation with the waiter ease to make and he related his past experiences in London and Buckinghamshire which we could relate too.
The venue is most beautiful both inside and out and well worth the price charged.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impeccable!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

From the exquisitely prepared courses, from locally grown produce to one of the most flavorfully sauced duck breasts I've eaten, and finishing with a stupendous cheese plate, the food was near-perfect. The service from Remy and his staff outside on the terrace (which we had to ourselves on a perfectly warm, breezy evening) was unforgettable. Remy: We'll see you again soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our B&B host and we were very glad we went. The food was delicious, fresh and beautiful. The service was a little stuffy but still very good. Beautiful ambience, views and setting but watch out for smokers on the otherwise lovely outdoor seating area. The meal and wine was among the very best of our trip to France.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“What a dessert!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very nice meal. The restaurant was full the day we lunched there and a bit noisy. Service was prompt and professional but not exactly warm. The wine list was exceptional, especially if you want to explore Gigondas vineyards. The food was excellent with one omission. My lamb should never have been sent out from the kitchen. Gristle and fat, but my companion's was perfect. Everything else was excellent, and the lamb was redeemed by a particularly amazing fig dessert with licorice. The starters were lovely and the amuse of two fin d'claire oysters were much appreciated. I'm not sure someone who wasn't an oyster lover would have been similarly impressed. I wanted to like this place more than I did but as I said overall and still the meal was very good. wish I could have given it the fifth star in all categories.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave11743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oustalet also viewed

 

Been to L'Oustalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing