We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch”

Hotel Restaurant Les Florets
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Gigondas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Thierry and Dominique Bernard whose family is established since 1960 to Florêts, town of Gigondas, invite you to visit them. A magnificent terrace, adorned with more than century-old trees of various species, first amazes you. Then you enjoy the view, the quiet, the many flowers that color the greenery nestled in the heart of the famous vineyards of Gigondas and at the foot of the Dentelles. Each year brings a lot of improvements, different parts of the house are constantly refreshed for the comfort of customers. Thought kitchen by our chef wants subtle and inventive, marked by the balance of flavors. Local products are showcased, pigeon Sarrians, saffron Pernes les Fontaines, Carpentras strawberries ... The wine to which special attention is paid, over 300 references including wines from the family estate.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Delicious lunch in the dining room (rainy so couldn't enjoy the terrace). Short (always a good sign) menu. I had cod, my husband rabbit. Both well prepared. The appetizers were also creative. Definitely try the Domaine La Garrigue wines - owned by the same family as the hotel/restaurant. They are wonderful. As for it being a formal setting, yes, it is and the service is proper. That's what I want when I am dining; if I just want to eat I go to a fast food joint.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    80
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Overly formal and overpriced”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had chosen this hotel and restaurant based on glowing recommendations in several guide books, but our dinner was, at best, quite dissapointing. The atmosphere (we ate indoors) was rather cold and formal, and the service was uninterested. I had the bull (taureau) which was a rather uninspired dish, while my wife had the pidgeon, which was perhaps slightly better but certainly not up to the standards of what is announced as a top-end restaurant. Dessert however was excellent, as we both had Paris-Brest. The wine steward did a good job of finding a wine, from the very large wine list, which could go with our very different main dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A pretty view and a formal presentation”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The staff was more proper and courteous than friendly, but I suspect it was more reserve than anything. More than once I have noted a reserved attitude by the French, only to uncover their friendly and generous nature. The food was very good but not the finest. I have noted with interest over the years that the smaller family run establishments seem to turn out the best in French cuisine. Unless you are totally intimidated by speaking to the waiters, please use the menu which is completely in French. The "English" menu seems to be a very simple, Anglicized version of the menu. All in all, a very nice experience, but I confess I probably would not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank falconfling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Culinary delight”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had an amazing time at Les Florets in August. We ventured out to find this restaurant based on Rick Steve's recommendation and were happy we followed his advice. The surroundings are absolutely stunning and the chef took us on a great culinary adventure with his unique dishes. The wine list is huge with amazing choices. The service was quick and courteous. Absolutely one of the best places we experienced while in France.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olesya154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“They rock lunch”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Les Florets numerous times now when we are in Provence (Gigondas), and even stayed at the hotel on one visit. Our impression is that lunch is generally much more inspired than the dinner service. Today didn't disappoint. Excellent. For starters, service is excellent. Second, the salmon and eggplant appetizers were delicious, and beautifully presented. My cabillaud main dish (cod fish) was cooked to perfection and served atop fresh beans. Dessert was a banana brioche, also absolutely tasty and worth the calories! This is a family owned/operated hotel, and they do a great job. The family also owns Domaine La Garrigue, which we visited after our lunch - and did a tasting with the father and uncle of the proprietor who runs Les Florets... Only in France do you have his kind of experience. Worth the trip to the Dentilles and Gigondas!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank clemence_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Les Florets also viewed

Gigondas, Vaucluse
Seguret, Vaucluse
 
Beaumes-de-Venise, Vaucluse
Seguret, Vaucluse
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Les Florets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing