We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Zoo ever..”
Review of Batu Secret Zoo

Batu Secret Zoo
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Batu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Zoo ever..”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice environment and many species of animals you can find there...
The place is clean and in good maintenance...
Animals are healthy too but the pond for the hippo is too small, the hippo looks not happy...

The ticket for 3 parks (Eco green park,batu secret zoo and museum) is only Rp 110.000...considered affordable...

Nice place to visit

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    390
    42
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Zoo in Indonesia”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went to Batu Secret Zoo for the first time. The animals look healthy. I particularly liked the little monkey exhibits. Seems like this zoo has more species of monkeys than other zoos even compared to zoos in the US. The zoo is clean. The kiddie rides are included in the admissions, no need to pay. Admissions fees are really reasonable. Rp 80,000 for all three (zoo, eco green park & museum satwa).
Other plus is you can rent e-bike or electrical scooter for Rp100,000 for 3 hrs. Really helped my mom who couldn't walk very long.
The only lame part is the game concessions. Rp 20,000 for 10 tickets (10 games). Unlike most game concessions, where we'll get a prize when we win, these concessions don't give a prize until we completed the cards with tokens/stickers. When we win the game, we'll get a token or more. To fill this card you need more than 50 tokens. It's just a way to make you play more. My 5 year old cried cause she thought she would get the stuffed animal after won a game. We ended up buying a souvenir for her from a vendor outside. In summary, it's a great family vacation destination.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bellevue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing park”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

It was the second time i went to batu secret zoo. This place is the part of Jawa timur park 2. when you go there, choose the package ticket so you can save money. It's provide jatim park 2 and Eco green park ticket.
I love that zoo because it's surrounding by beautiful scenery and also the zoo is clean. Facilities is complete, include the nursery room. the complex is big and separate into few zone. Jatim park 2 also provide gaming zone for kids and adults. But really like one of the attraction, the safari farm. we can buy carrot in the cup of plastic and we can give the carrot directly to the camel, llama, horse, donkey an many others. we don't walk, but we can use mini ride pulled by mini tractor.
the special animal is meerkat. Because i never see it before, i just see it from television. After we go to Batu secret zoo, we can go to the neighbor museum satwa (animal museum). It is amazing museum that provide animal fossil from around the world.
Finally, that place is the perfect place for family especially for kids because they can learn how to cherish our beautiful nature. And i appreciate to jatim park 2 because the place is very clean and comfort for a whole family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank linda796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for children.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Good for children. Good maintenance but need improvement to clean toilet regularly. Many kind of animals. Good concept and price not so expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bravem0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Zoo in Indonesia”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It wasn't my first time visit Batu Secret Zoo, been there about 3-4 times before, but it was my/our first time visit BSZ with my 1,5y.o son which looks very happy and exciting too see the animals, attactions, and fishes. He run around everywhere and barely dont want to seated on his stroller if we dont give him a snacks :) Btw BSZ is stroller friendly place, there's some special path they make for stroller user.
The animals are in very good conditions, clean, and save. The variety is amazing, from asian to african animals. The air are fresh and there is some food court that sell snacks and foods in a very very cheap prices (if i compare to Surabaya's prices).
Overall it's a very good place to introduce and educated our kids about wild animals and their environment.
Just a little note, we arrive at 10.30 a.m and expecting to rent e-bike but they said all e-bikes are fully booked :( Be there earlier & closer to opening hour if u want to rent e-bike because the area is very big and take more than 3 hours long walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BundaKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Batu Secret Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Batu Secret Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing