We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a great view”
Review of Pohon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pohon Inn
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Batu
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel was within a theme park. We were given a room that had a balcony. From the balcony, we had a full view of the zoo. The whole area was surrounded by mountains. It was a million dollars view. The room was comfortable. During the night, We could hear sounds made by the animals in the zoo. If you prefer a quieter night, you would have to request for rooms that are not facing the zoo. In front of the hotel, there were shops selling local souvenirs like T-shirts, hats, key chains, magnets. On one side of the hotel was a museum that displayed stuffed animals, fossils and insects and on the other side was the entrance to the zoo which also housed a mini bird park and an aquarium. Whoever designed the theme park did the right thing to plan the one-way route in the museum and the zoo such that the tourists would exit at the same spot next to the hotel lobby. It made the walks less tiring and tourists would not miss any of the exhibits. Both the museum and zoo were worth visiting. Next to the museum was an amusement park. However, as the weather was too hot, we did not bother to visit the open-air amusement park. The breakfast offered by the restaurant was not fantastic but the interesting part was you could dine with full views of animals.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Compassvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 230 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

(+) The hotel is in the area of Jatim Park 2, where Batu Secret Zoo held, perfect hotel for family
(+) It’s amazing to have an experience of have the real animal sounds accompanying you as lullaby and a wakeup call
(+) The standard room having the city view
(+) Pick the deluxe room, where the room is wider and have a balcony view direct to the zoo and the mountain
(+) The bed and the sofa bed are nice
(+) Staffs are nice
(+) The breakfast have various menu and the restaurant is moving slowly around where we can see the animals inside the zoo while eating, nice!

(-) The hotel must be booked long before your date to check in, with cash down payment direct to hotel’s account, otherwise you won’t get the room
(-) Kindly improve the hotel’s vehicle so if the guests wanted to have a small tour around the city, the hotel can provide a well representative car.

Overall, I will always stay in Pohon Inn whenever I’m going to Batu city, the experience definitely worth the money!

Room Tip: Pick Deluxe Room with Balcony View to the Zoo and the mountain, children will have a blast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoorAisyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Batu inn for one night only. We arrived quite late in the afternoon so we did not get a chance to explore much on our first day. The hotel room itself is quite spacious with balcony overlooking the zoo and beautiful background of the mountain. The bathroom was not too clean. We can hear the tiger roar and other animal call in the morning which was quite special. The price of the room included breakfast, dinner and admission to Secret Zoo and the museum for 2 people and welcome drink so it is quite reasonably priced. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast and dinner was average. The restaurant has a revolving floor so diners can see the animal from glass window while dining.

If you want a better choice for meal, drive down to Batu, there are many choices for meal. We had dinner and lunch at a chinese restaurant called Depot Brantas on Jl. Brantas in Batu. Both times we were quite impressed with the food....they were really yummy. Prices are very reasonable, ranging from Rp. 10.000 to Rp. 35.000. We had Special fried rice, crab fried rice, fried noodle (bakmie goreng- this one is especially excellent!) that are all good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is build on the Batu Zoo. Behind the hotel is zoo and from the balony you can view the zoo and animals. Its amazing view. Also the restuarnat is revolving restaurant and there are many animals inside the glass which you can enjoy while having food. The staff is very good. We are vegeterian and in the breakfast they had very few veg option so they specaially made veg fried rice and noddles for us. The restaurant manager really impressed with their hospitality. When we requested to go to shopping market in the evening the hotel guard took us in his motor bike to market. The staff is really very helpful and friendly. There is indo maret store near the hotel.

Room Tip: Take the room with balcony view of zoo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankit_love_traavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Me and my family stayed here in Pohon Inn, Batu, Malang, East Java because its location was in the Jawa Timur Park 2. We arrived at the hotel on Dec 9th, checked in, then we stayed in the room for a quick rest, but suddenly the power broken down for several minutes. Unfortunately, it happened 3 times. How could it happened in a hotel like this? The cleanliness of the bathroom was poor. The shower douche was broken, and we have to wait for quite long time to have it fixed. The room was also not sound-proof, we could still hear motor bike roaring at the street.
Well, despite the bad experience we had during our stay in the hotel, Jatim Park 2 with its Museum Satwa and the Eco Green Park was truly amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at the hotel because of its convenient location five minutes drive to BNS - Batu Night Spectacular and right next to Secret Zoo. The room was average in size and cleanliness, the shower curtain was dirty. When we wanted to have shower there was no hot water and were told to wait for 15 minutes. The buffet breakfast was poor and far from international standard.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Ezra-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed for a night here in Pohon Inn, thinking it would be easier to go to Jatim Park 2 since the hotel provided us with 2 free pass per room. We booked the hotel and told to check in at 2 pm. We arrived early, around 10 am, and we decided to put our luggage and spend time in Jatim Park 2 until check-in time. We went back to the reception at 2 pm but was told that our room was not ready yet. They needed extra 15 minutes to get the rooms cleaned. After 15 minutes had passed by, our rooms were still not ready and we needed to wait for extra 10 minutes. After a heated argument made by my father and the manager, they were putting our rooms on top of their cleaning list. Finally, we could get into our rooms at 2:50pm. That was my first time being asked to wait 50 minutes to get checked in. That was just unacceptable.
However, once we got to our rooms, we got slightly happier. The rooms were designed nicely with color combination of green and brown. Our view from the balcony was the zoo so we could see animals from our window. We could also hear the sounds made by the animals which was fascinating. The hotel also served their guests with breakfast, lunch, and dinner so we didn't have to worry about looking for places to eat.
Aside from check-in process, we had a lovely time in Pohon Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Lany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batu hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Holland Resort Batu
0.6 mi away
Klub Bunga
Klub Bunga
#10 of 28 in Batu
134 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Orchids Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Amarta Hills Hotel and Resort
2.5 mi away
Jambuluwuk Batu Resort
1.1 mi away
Kusuma Agrowisata Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pohon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohon Inn

Address: Jl. Oro-oro Ombo no. 9 | Kota Wisata Batu, Batu, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Batu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Batu
Price Range: $59 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pohon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pohon Inn The only one hotel that have a unique interior and exterior design with an animal nuance. A comfortable place to visit for you and family. Our hotel in one area with Museum Satwa, Batu Secreet Zoo and Eco Green Park. it's only 10 minutes away from Batu Night Spectacular, Jatim Park 1, Museum Angkut, Predator Fun Park and Batu Town Centre. Pohon Inn also has a unique restaurant "Jungle Fast Food", the concept is similar with wild jungle and the spinning table restaurant. you can see Leopard, Chhetah and Jaguar while enjoying our food, and it is free. Pohon Inn only 45 minutes from Airport Malang, and located between tourism area and city centre, makes Pohon Inn as the most stategic hotel in Batu City. Enjoy an unforgetable holiday sensation only with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pohon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pohon Hotel Batu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing