We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven...”
Review of Kampung Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kampung Lumbung
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Batu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at Kampung Lumbung for three weeks recently with three other couples. The hotel and surroundings have left such a memorable impression that we already look forward to returning there. The hotel itself is an eco-friendly complex using recycled materials from authentic Javan buildings and therefore both preserves heritage and reduces any impact on the environment. Food was excellent, both at breakfast (which was varied and delicious) and at the Greenhouse Cafe, consisting of traditional Javan dishes. The ginger tea or Te Jahe is also wonderful! Relaxation, rest and tranquility are the key words, with wonderful views of the mountains and a tropical garden filled with a myriad of colourful butterflies and birds, making it a nature-lovers paradise. The prayers from the nearby mosque became a hallmark of this landscape and did not intrude on our rest. I saw it as part of the local culture and grew to appreciate it very much. The rooms were cool, clean, very comfortable and spacious on the first floor with marvellous views and a balcony from which to enjoy the gardens and nearby wooded area. We had warm water most of the time but since the temperature is warm I did not mind sometimes showering in the evening in lukewarm water as it must be borne in mind that this is an eco-hotel. Airco is not necessary and we had no mosquitoes in the room and very few mosquitoes in general because of the cool mountain temperatures. There are also a series of beautiful villas, constructed of authentic materials, but we did not stay in one of these. These are located on the lower garden level and were therefore slightly less accessible but very beautiful. We also made use of the function rooms for a farewell party on our last night and this was also a great success with compliments to the staff for all their efforts. All staff members were wonderful and could not have done more for us. We did not try the spa but maybe next time! The location is perfect for visiting various places of interest, but it was always nice to return 'home' to Kampung Lambing! Batu town centre is not far away and there are also places to eat close by if you want some variety. The kampung experience is intensified by the drive to the hotel which involves driving through a real life kampung so you feel close to the local people and less of a tourist. It is a perfect place to leave your worry and stress behind and be pampered and rejuvenated! If I were to describe it in one word, it would be 'Paradise'! Special thanks to Bambang and all his staff! We will return!

Room Tip: Our first floor rooms with balcony were wonderful, cool and with a great view. I would choose one of...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melchior1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Kampung Lumbung
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 240 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

For those travelling to Malang, If your looking for a place to stay with the family, a reunion with friends or a gathering for the company/firm and even for a honeymoon, I strongly recommend staying here. I have stayed here on various occasions and thoroughly enjoyed my pleasant stays. Kampung Lumbung is located on the main road from Malang to Batu, it has a quick and easy access to both cities and in between the main road you can cut through and drive to Surabaya city 2 1/2 hours away. It is located 50 meters inside from the main road passing a medical clinic, the entrance is underneath a big sign which says "selamat datang di kota wisata batu" (welcome to Batu tourist city) once you go up the road you will see the gate entrance.


Once your inside the Kampung Lumbung area I always get the atmosphere and aura of being in an exotic natural village filled with javanese culture. The buildings are made from old teak wood which creates the ambience of living in an old traditional Javanese house. It has clean water from different water sources around the area which are used for the 3 swimming pools in the villa area and a swimming pool in front of the hotel, it is surrounded by dragon flies and birds so you can be sure the water is very clean and fresh air.

The Spa is amazing and always a favourite for my mother.

Food is very traditional javanese cuisine i enjoy having the "paket bancakan" a mountain of rice decorated with chicken, fish and vegetables for 4-5 people. At the start of your stay you will be given a welcome snack of fried banana fritters.

I highly recommend as it is my favourite hotel so far in the Indonesia and we have been to many hotels in the country.

You will find the friendliest of staff competent in English language and the service is excellent. The landscaping of nature and flowers and eco friendliness is also an added value here in Kampung Lumbung. Put your trust in them they will not disappoint.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank ArchipelagoEncounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

first visited this place, quite surprised because to get to the hotel must pass through a narrow path between the houses. But it will be paid off when it got to the entrance of the hotel where the atmosphere is calm, cool and clean to be the most visible around the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azmifaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Besides the scenery, nothing to be proud of this Hotel .With the same price you can get much better at another hotel, consider carefully before you decide to stay here, if you are not a true nature lover you better choose another place.

With a high enough price, this hotel has poor both on facilities and quality, very simple room with a stinky smell bathroom (smell came out from the toilet), cracked ceiling in the rooms and the leaking sink in the bathroom, no phone to call room service and other service so I had to use a cellular phone to call the front desk.

Room service until 11 pm only, which is supposed to be 24 hours room service at a price like this, breakfast only consisted of 3 kinds of menus with the standard quality of the taste, even worse on the first morning of my stay breakfast is not yet ready (at 7.15am), this is the first time I encountered during my traveling and staying in hotels , where breakfast must be provided no later than 7am.

The good point of this hotel is just the beautiful scenery though you have to pay quite expensive to see it and also the hotel staff were very nice and friendly .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DcClarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed for 2 nights right after new year. Nice boutique hotel with a kampong touch, you'll get the feel of living the traditional javanese way with greeneriea, fish ponds, river, and small waterfall around. Room is standard with an open-air bathroom. Lack of amenities (only bathsoap, towel, tissue and toothbrush are provided). Room service is slow, food tastes nice though. Did not get to experience the pool as it was a bit cold to do swimming (temp around 20 degrees celcius for the whole day).

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amaia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Kampung Lumbung presented the exotic Javanesse Style in Batu. Makes us feels like in paradise. Really nice place to stay with our family. Place is good, rooms are clean, and we can enjoyed a lot of varous stlye of Javanesse House.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhimaariesdiyanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have now stayed at this romantic boutique hotel for the 4th time since may and we always love it. The atmosphere, the tranquility, the friendly staff, the cool air and the food. It has become our favourite weekend escape and something like our home away from home.
Most of the hotel's architecture has been constructed from reerected old javanese wooden houses, blended with modern facilities, tasteful decorations and good workmanship. That makes the whole areal and the rooms, especially those in the villa area very cozy, inviting and unique. The rooms are spacious and no aircon is required (it is also not available!) to ensure a quiet and good sleep, as latest by 5 pm every evening, a cool breeze sets in due to the location being at an elevation of approx. 850m asl.
The premises are not far from the main road leading from Malang to Batu but settled cleverly down the slopes of a little river valley, such as the traffic noise is completely cancelled out. It takes only a few minutes to get to the main attractions in Batu.
Although the menue in the little restaurant does not boast a wide range of selection, we always enjoy the taste of the mostly local dishes which are thoroughly prepared. If wanted, there are also other eating options just outside the hotel.
The hotel's area now provides for 3 swimming pools, all fed by natural and fresh mountain water. Be prepared for a bit of hiking if you want to try them all, as the new ones are located in the lower villa area down the valley.
Clear skies provided, there is a breathtaking view across Malang to the Bromo/Tengger Mountain range and to the tallest mountain of East-Java, the Semeru (at times an active volcano, steaming out a bit of ash).
The staff and the owner (who is mostly present) are all very friendly and are trying their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Overall we do rate this hotel as one of the best options in Batu. In particular, if you are seeking a comfortable, cozy and quiet place to relax and take a good breath of fresh air. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: definitely a good choice is to stay in one of the villas in the lower part of the areal. Very quiet...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsnsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batu hotels
2.7 mi away
Royal Orchids Garden Hotel
1.0 mi away
Pohon Inn
Pohon Inn
#6 of 28 in Batu
222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Batu Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kusuma Agrowisata Hotel
2.0 mi away
Amarta Hills Hotel and Resort
1.5 mi away
Klub Bunga
Klub Bunga
#9 of 28 in Batu
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampung Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampung Lumbung

Address: Jl. Ir Sukarno | Puskesmas Beji, Batu 65145, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Batu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Batu
Price Range: $33 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
an ECO Friendly Boutique Hotel, 850m above the sea level, average temperature 19C, building made from rebuilt old java teak house and furnished with reuse teak wood, serving premium Java Coffee and tasty food. 100% pure spring water. Mountain view, spectacular sunrise, 10 minutes drive to theme parks, 2 hours to Mt Bromo, 45 minutes from Malang air port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kampung Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kampung Lumbung Hotel Batu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing