We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of your life”
Review of Abbaye du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbaye du Palais
Ranked #1 of 6 Bourganeuf B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have been staying here over and over again. In spring with my best friends in a 'gite' during summer holidays with my family and all kind of wonderfull [people we met here during the years. In fall live is so laid back here, taking long walks in the woods with the dogs . keeping the fire going in our gite and enjoying the dinners made by Martijn. Fall is definitely my favourite time in Bourganeuf!!!!
Summer has still to come, but I am already lloking forward to my next stay with Saskia and Martijn. This time with my special friend and my beloved dog Boy

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TetH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 119 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this quite remote but historical B and B. The Dutch hosts were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Our room was directly above the dining room and with old floorboards the noise could be heard from below. We stayed in the Chambre du Parc (see photo) decorated in the French style. The meal in the evening was interesting with some unusual dishes - starter was a stinging nettle pie served with dandelion leaves! Main course was salmon, asparagus and new potatoes. Dessert was a strawberry parfait with cookies. All served with a generous supply of wine. A little pricy we felt at 34 euros each. Breakfast was good.
There is lots to see and do in the area with magnificent countryside, museums, old chateaux and we particularly liked the area south of Pontarion and also the charming town of Aubusson with its tapestry museum.
We could see that there were a number of renovated gites on site together with some gypsy caravans for the summer months so we expect there would be quite a number of people stying here in the height of the season.
Certainly it was a relaxing and tranquil place to stay in spring.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We've stayed here three times over the last five years and each one has been a wonderful experience. The hosts, Saskia and Martijn are generous with their time and are great company. Martijn is a fine cook and meals with them and their guests have always been of fine quality and a memorable occasion.
The ancient buildings have been renovated to a high standard whilst keeping their character.
The surrounding countryside is very quiet, tranquil and beautiful and offers lots of opportunities for peaceful walks and quiet drives.
When travelling in France we go out of our way to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABritTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

As guests in Saskia and Martjin's home and inn we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Our room was huge, very pretty and comfortable. We don't have buildings this old in Texas so it was a little bit like a fantasy to stay here. The hospitality wonderful. The conversations with Saskia and Martjin were lively and entertaining...their English is perfect. The food was fantastic! I really wish we had planned on staying more than just the one night.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swan325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We have just returned from our 4-day stay over New Year's Eve in Abbaye du Palais. We have been coming here regularly for over 5 years with our son of now 15, and overall I would say this is one of the nicest places we know. A hidden treasure in an unspoilt part of France which offers great hospitality. A place where Saskia and Martijn - the owners - every time make a real effort to make our stay memorable!

Abbaye du Palais is a small scale chambre d'hote (bed&breakfast) in a former abbey in Bourganeuf, in the Creuse - a department in the middle of France. Next to the rooms they also rent out cottages. The rooms are all tastefully furnished in French style and overlooking the grounds.

The great hospitality, kindness and care of the owners is outstanding. They have developed the place into something very special with great personal touch.
The table d'hote (dinner) is a culinary delight. Martijn cooks up great 3-course dinners every evening, all accompanied by a very nice selection of wines. Breakfast is a treat too!
The domain has a lot to offer in both summer and winter. There is a lovely (heated) pool, a library, billiards, etc. The area is also great to go out hiking, cycling, for playing golf or driving around to discover unspoilt small villages.

We find that whether you come as a couple, friends or family with children the domain suits all tastes. All the children eat together before the adults do. A true treat to the parents (and the children think it great too)! In winter we gather around the open fireplace in the Grand Salon at the end of the day and have a glass of wine and a chat - or just read a book.

We shall be back again before long!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fg2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danielbD2937GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Violarijns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourganeuf
12.9 mi away
Auclair
Auclair
#3 of 5 in Gueret
83 reviews
19.8 mi away
Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort
19.2 mi away
La Beauze
La Beauze
#1 of 3 in Aubusson
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Domaine de la Jarrige
Domaine de la Jarrige
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vaury
112 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau de Beauvais
Chateau de Beauvais
#1 of 3 in Saint-Amand-Jartoudeix
15 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chateau de la Chassagne
Chateau de la Chassagne
#1 of 2 in Saint-Hilaire-le-Chateau
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbaye du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbaye du Palais

Address: le Palais, 23400 Bourganeuf, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Creuse > Bourganeuf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bourganeuf
Price Range: $104 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambres d'hôtes, table d'hôtes & gîtes (B&B, dinners and holiday cottages) in a 12th century Cistercien Abbey. Heated pool, special breaks, golf arrangements, cookery courses, trip stopover, child-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Abbaye du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing