We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Thirty Seven

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Living room Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Front of house
Living room
Dining area
Kitchen
Bedroom 1 Superking or twin
En suite shower room Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 twin
Bedroom 3 twin
Bathroom
Terrace
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
caroleann...
Islay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 18, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect house with two very good bathrooms
Clean and welcoming and a really good location.
Castle douglas well worth a visit for shopping and drumlamrig castle gardens are excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes54
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tardis”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This house was perfect for our stay this Easter weekend. It was like stepping into the tardis. Looks small from the outside, but when you get in it is much bigger.
We stayed with our son his wife and two grandsons.
Beds were really comfortable, rooms clean. Everything you needed is provided.
I originate from the area so was nice to show everyone my beautiful home village. We went to Drumlanrig castle, Morton castle. Also Keir where the 1st pedal bicycle was invented. We also went up to Loch Ettrick back over Mitchelslacks.
Called into Marchbanks to have breakfast as we left, fully recommend it. Bought some rolls and scotch pies to take home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2018
Very pleased you enjoyed visiting old haunts!
Thanks for your lovely review.
All the best
John and Trish
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posh_Cycl...
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, great location”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Number 37 was easy to book, warm and welcoming for us, very well located, very well equipped - we couldn't fault it. Spacious enough for us 6 adults to fully enjoy our four day break - great lounge with access to large dining room and good sized kitchen. Lovely enclosed patio / yard area (which we did not use due to bad weather). Three spacious bedrooms with lovely linens and good storage. Two superb bathrooms. A really first class cottage, Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2018
Thanks for your super review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
All the best
John and Trish
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmonfis...
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place and a real gem in Thornhill”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We came up for a few days fishing.
It's was perfect,warm, clean,great showers, very comfy beds and the whole cottage is much bigger than it looks.
Ideal location in Thornhill
We will be back again !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2017
Thanks Gary
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again.
All the best
John and Trish
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOREAU J
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed October 17, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is a nice location in the village.
We appreciated as we were at home there was every thing you needed and not to much. Every thing were well explained.
The mattress were good, the bedrooms were nice well decorated.
So if we come back we surely stay there.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you again in the future.
All the best
John and Trish
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian N
1 review
“I'd like to come back.”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We've been twice before and came back a third time. A smashing house in a brilliant place. Thornhill is a simple friendly magical place. The only sadness is the decline of the River Nith as a salmon river, but that is politics in the control of the Scottish government. The loss of amenity is something that in a small way the whole of Thornhill will progressively pay for as the visiting fishermen go elsewhere.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2017
Thanks Ian, you know you are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay H
1 review
“Perfect in all the right places!”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from the most fabulous stay for a week at 37. Will definitely be back to stay at such a wonderful gem In the mountains! The space this cottage has to offer is quite astounding. The rooms were double the size I thought they would be, plenty of space for our party of 5 adults. The beds were lovely and comfortable, with everything feeling very warm and cosy. The bathrooms were clean and luxurious, with towels provided. Quite unexpected! The garden/patio area was very private and beautifully cared for. Had the weather been just a tad warmer we might all have sat out there to eat in the evening, but you can't have everything! Maybe next time? We had been left fresh flowers and a bottle of wine on arrival which was a very kind. The owners were kind enough to let us store our bikes locked safely in the garden hut whilst we weren't using them, thank you! Thornhill was convenient and welcoming. The local supermarket was open late and the fish suppers we had, topped our week off nicely. We trekked around the Galloway Forest Park, seeing a beautiful spectical - sunset over Clatteringshaws Loch with The Merrick looming in the distance. My partner and I sampled local mountain biking/walking at the 7stanes bike centres at Ae, Mabie, Kirroughtree and Glentrool. Plenty more biking and walking available to do in the area. We simply scratched the surface and that was pretty exciting! On the couple of wet days we encountered we visited Drumlanrig Castle and paid a small amount to take part in the guided tour of the castle and the grounds. The tour was very interesting and informative, well worth a visit. We also took a trip into Dumfries to have a good look around although, we ran out of time to visit any of the tourist spots, the town itself was useful and bustling, despite the rain!
Loved the house and the area. I can't wait to book our next trip up here. Would definitely recommend staying at 37. Easy to find and convenient for parking - 2 spaces right outside the house off the street. Thanks for letting us stay! :) Lindsay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Thank you for such a comprehensive and glowing review!
So glad you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
All the best
John and Trish
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing