We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Basil. Just Faulty.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornhill
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“No Basil. Just Faulty.”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We went to Thornhill recently to attend a wedding at Sweetheart Abbey. We stayed a night at this hotel as all other possible accommodation was fully booked. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
We had asked for a quiet room and were given one on the top floor ( no lift), a very small roo indeed.
One bedside table lamp didnt work. The TV didnt work. The shower didnt work. The toilet seat hinge soon fell off.
Luckily, it was such a happy occasion that we treated it all as a good laugh. But one night was quite enough.
The previous night we had stayed at the Scaurbidge House B&B, and eaten at the Volunteer Arms both in Penpont abou 3 miles from Thornhill. Both were excellent and we can certainly recommend them

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArnoldManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    44
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
46
114
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We didn't stay here so can't comment on the rooms but we had a great lunch. The lamb broth was wonderful and the service excellent. The hotel staff was really welcoming and by the time we left, we'd been given a fascinating history of the local area by some of the regulars.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlightyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Not quite as bad as some previous reports. It's not a modern hotel and it could do with a make over but it has a rural charm, a warm open fire and the staff are mostly friendly. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the area is very picturesque. We ate in the bar/restaurant and the food really is quite good.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happenstansis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Stayed here for two nights with work and quite possibly the worst "hotel" i've ever stayed in.

Breakfast wasn't served because the woman slept in. TVs are wired to cables that arent actually connected to anything. Showers dont work if more than 2 people are having a wash. Be prepared to switch your shower on and have no water at all until someone else is finished!

Heating is not used so all rooms in loft are cold. My room didn't lock and you could see into the room through the top of the door. The food claims to be local but my £10 burger came with 5 chips and tasted like a frozen no frills burger.

Whatever you do, don't stay here !

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tudorcrisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,289 reviews
313 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,268 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

This was a lovely hotel with the best food I have ever tasted! It is an old style hotel with beautiful clean rooms. It is located in a small village outside of Glasgow so we rented a car to see the area , which I would recommend. It's great place to relax and see the scenery of Scotland or go fishing or hunting. I would definitely recommend the restaurant in the hotel for dinner as we ate here and it was delicious.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, friendly staff, food, beautiful clean rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — rent a car to see the area
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
1.5 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
576 reviews
7.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
227 reviews
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,057 reviews
10.8 mi away
Nithsdale Hotel
Nithsdale Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sanquhar
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel

Property: Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
Address: 112 Drumlanrig Street, Thornhill DG3 5LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Thornhill
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Georgian building dating back to 1851 with an enviable position in the centre of Thornhill. The hotel has 15 bedrooms, comfortable lounge, lounge bar, restaurant, private dining room and function room. There are 5 feature fireplaces throughout the public areas adding to the comfort and luxury of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel Thornhill, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing