We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornhill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic service, excellent food and lovely wine - really recommend it!! It's really heartening to find somewhere like this in a rural location. We really recommend it. If your ever in Dumfries & Galloway this is one place not to be missed!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 248 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

We are local to the area so did not stay overnight.
I have watched the refurbishment of this hotel with interest over the last 6 months or so.
We went to try the hotels curry night on Wednesday, heard about it through word of mouth in the village.
Although advertised for the back bar we asked if we could have this in the main lounge and were told it was not a problem.The front lounge and restaurant area has been furnished to a very high standard and is nice and relaxed. Curry was excellent and the service was first rate. Have also been in a couple of times just for drinks, once on the village Christmas fair night and the place was very busy and i have to say the staff handled it very well. Very professional and polite . Drink prices are much better than first impressions might make you think (ie looks expensive). Will definitely be back to try other menus and just for a nice relaxing drink. Don't know what the rooms are like but if they match the standards of the rest of the hotel then i would think they will be first rate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank cheapandcheerfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had eaten at this hotel some years ago but had never been back due to a poor experience. As it has changed ownership we decided to give it a go - and we are glad we did. The hotel is still undergoing its refurbishment but the restaurant/bar area has been transformed and is a lovely light relaxing area that has a feeling of intimacy. We chose the set menu and all the food was tasty, well cooked and beautifully presented. The staff were attentive and friendly and obviously wanted to ensure our experience was a good one. Will definitely be paying another visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family and I recently dined here (so the review does not cover accommodation) and had a very pleasant experience indeed. We were warmly greeted and shown to our table which was well laid out, though cloth napkins (as opposed to paper ones) would have an added bonus. The complimentary amuse-bouches of smoked salmon tartlets and cheese puffs were a nice touch though might have been even tastier had they been hot (or perhaps just warm). Drinks were served correctly (especially the wine which was at exactly the correct temparature and in the perfect glasses for the jon) The accompanying olives were also extremely good.
We adults chose the "set menu" of two or three courses (£14 or £18 respectively) and, amongst us, sampled starters of smoked salmon and garlic mushrooms. Our main was haddock on a bed of olive mash with tomato salsa. All very well presented and tasty. Our younger daughter had a very good choice from the childrens' menu and plumped for chicken with mash and vegetables followed by a chocolate mousse and marshmallows.
Coffees were again of very good quality and served with a piece of homemade tablet.
Our only gripe was the door from the restauarnt to the kitchen. Every time a waiter or waitress passed through it, there was an almighty BANG which after many times became most somewhat irritating! Surely this can be easily fixed!
The service throughout was exemplary and the staff a great credit to the new owners of this revamped hotel. We shall certainly return and wish them every success.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finisterre72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My friend and I visited this hotel to eat whilst staying in Thornhill. We thought we would try it out as it
had been refurbished and was not the same place we remembered. After looking at the menu
outside we decided to eat from the bar menu. It was a Sunday evening and on entering the bar area we could see only one table occupied in the restaurant and only three people sitting at the bar. We sat at a table in the bar and before we could take off our coats a waitress asked us what we wanted to drink and when we started to look at the menu she said very abruptly ' I'll come back in two minutes' - no welcome, no smile, no nothing. My friend and I looked at each other and decided we did not want to stay in such an uncomfortable atmosphere so got up and
left and I don't even think she noticed! We then went to the Thornhill Hotel where we had been the previous night and had a great meal served by friendly and welcoming staff.
So it maybe we were unlucky but if it is to be a success then service with a smile is where to start.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travelwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthur S, Owner at Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Travelwizz

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you did not get the welcome you or I would have expected. The person involved left the BQA shortly after your visit and we are still picking up the pieces.

Please come in again and I sure you will be better received.

Please identify yourself if you chose to come in again.

Yours,

Dolf Sweerts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have been in a couple of times for drink only and once for a meal. The transformation from dump to High Quality is most welcome and to be applauded.

On all occasions the service has been first class and it is obvious that here is an establishment which cares for its reputation and guests.

Whilst it is early days and there is still much to do it does not require great imagination to see where this hotel is headed - congratulations all round, to both staff and owners - I was almost at the point of despair regarding hosteleries in my home of Thornhill - Things are certainly looking much brighter. And keep the real ale coming!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winkwinkpinkfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

From the moment we walked into the hotel we were met with smiling friendly staff who could not have made us more welcome. The refurbishment of the Buccleuch has transformed a tired, dated hotel into a smart, trendy establishment that would not look out of place in central London. It was lucky we booked a table because the place was really busy, it has a great ambience and a seat by a roaring log fire was a good start to our night out. We had booked a table for six to arrive at 19:30 but were not pressured by the staff to be seated in the dining room at 19:30. Instead, we enjoyed a leisurely drink in the bar and were provided with a selection of olives to nibble, before we went into the dining area. You can chose to eat from the bar menu that is very reasonably priced or you can opt for the a la cart menu that is a little bit more expensive. Whilst reviewing the menu we were given a couple of little tasters to sample, smoked salmon and a fantastic tasting quiche. I chose haggis for my starter and steak for my main course, both dishes were excellent, my steak was cooked to perfection. For sweet, I chose the cheese board; it was far too much for one person, good selection of cheeses accompanied by quince jelly and fruity chutney. Our bill for the evening came to £220, this included two rounds of drink (including cocktails), three bottles of red wine, three courses from the a la cart menu, coffee for four (with free homemade tablet), with tip this worked out at £40 per person. It was a wonderful evening and I would definitely return to the Buccleuch.

Room Tip: Rooms are not available until November 2012
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackdaniels26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
1.5 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
590 reviews
7.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
18.0 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
315 reviews
17.2 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel

Address: 112 Drumlanrig Street, Thornhill DG3 5LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Thornhill
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornhill
Price Range: $129 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Georgian building dating back to 1851 with an enviable position in the centre of Thornhill. The hotel has 15 bedrooms, comfortable lounge, lounge bar, restaurant, private dining room and function room. There are 5 feature fireplaces throughout the public areas adding to the comfort and luxury of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel Thornhill, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing