We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding cottage in a pretty rural location...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ghillie's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Selina B
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding cottage in a pretty rural location but not to far from civilization”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

We recently spent a week in the cottage. There were seven of us and the cottage accommodated us perfectly and was to a high standard and spotlessly clean. The beds were super comfortable, and the cottage was more than adequately equipped. Some pleasant walks in close vicinity and plenty of wildlife.... Hares, Rabbits, Kites to name a few. We had fabulous weather and we all agreed you couldn’t have chosen a better place to be in the world to be.... Laura was super friendly and her and the locals made us feel extremely welcome. An absolute recommend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2018
Thank you very much indeed for the glowing review, it is very much appreciated. Please do come back and see us again in future! All the very best, Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestrym...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Ghillies Cottage is just beautiful. It's in a stunning loca and the accommodation itself is like a real home from home. It comfortably sleeps 8 people and a dog without us falling over each other. Loads to do locally too. We have visited lots of local attractions and a few further afield in Ayr. Would definitely recommend and we'll be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2018
I'm absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your break at Ghillie's. Please do come back in future and many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasha T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of heaven!”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

An amazing stay during February half term! This was our second visit, and we're already trying to decide when we can come back!
Laura and David are extremely welcoming and the tour of the farm for our boys was definitely the icing on the cake.
5 stars very well deserved! We love Ghillies Cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2018
What a lovely review! Thank you very much indeed. We look forward to your next visit! Many thanks for taking the time to write this, much appreciated, Laura and David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2018
What a fantastic review! I'm very grateful to you for taking the time to leave it and very appreciative of your kind words. Please do come and stay again in the future. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bill322
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation.”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We went there for three nights in Hogmanay. There were 6 of us. The cottage was delightful.. It had everything you could ask for. It was well equipped with everything that you needed. It was spotless inside. There is also a welcome pack which was excellent. It rained a lot but that did not spoil our enjoyment. The cottage was about 10 minutes by car to Thornhill where the hotel at the cross had an excellent lunch menu. This cottage certainly warrants it 5 star rating and I would recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Dear Bill, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the local hostpitality. Wishing you a very Happy New Year and I hope we can welcome you back to Ghillie's Cottage again in future. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_kate_rei...
Burntisland, United Kingdom
1 review
“The owners have a lot to be proud of in Ghillie's Cottage.”
Reviewed October 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We certainly made the right decision in choosing Ghillie's Cottage for our week's holiday in the area along with our friends visitng from Australia. Great location for touring the area. A beautifully presented cottage with immaculate attention to detail in decor and provision. Booking process and communication with Laura was great.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2017
Hi Kate, Many many thanks for your very kind review of Ghillies Cottage. It is so nice to know that you and your visitors enjoyed the stay and our local area. We's love to welcome you back in future. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmm662016
Duns, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect house, perfect location.”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We booked this house, for a close family friend's wedding . It was close to the church and even closer to the reception venue. The house was very comfortable, plenty room for our family, 8 in total ! Would loved to have spent more time there, There's a very relaxing atmosphere about the place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review! Glad to accommodate you for your wedding and we hope you come back again for longer! Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing