We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous, well proportioned, boutique cottage in...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ghillie's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike M
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous, well proportioned, boutique cottage in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent first impressions, including key collection and free welcome pack set out the scene for our long weekend stay at this modern, tastefully decorated and spacious cottage. Set in beautiful countryside surroundings the cottage was exceptionally well equipped and immaculately maintained. Free WIFI. Overall, we would highly recommend this property to anyone planning to stay in this area.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Traditional Scottish cottage exterior with modern boutique interior
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2015
Hi, thank you for the lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we will be able to welcome you back again sometime.
Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina179...
Wirral, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in glorious countryside”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here for 5 days with our 2 daughters 18 and 11, my dad and our puppy.
The location of the house is fantastic very peaceful, with beautiful scenery, but Thornhill and Moniaive are only a few miles away to get all your supplies including some pubs, restaurants and shops.
Every need is catered for, the whole house is immaculately clean and beautifully presented, and the large bathroom was luxurious with a large bath and walk-in shower. The owners gave us a lovely welcome and the hamper waiting for us on arrival was excellent and much appreciated. We really enjoyed having a tour around their farm, it was a real treat.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the scenery
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope you will come back to Ghillie's Cottage again in future.
Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDOIJOHN
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, amazing surroundings.”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here for 5 days with our 2 boys 7 and 5 and my parents for a base for a friend's wedding. The cottage is super with everything you need and tasteful decor. The boys played for hours in the garden and further afield in the surrounding fields, woods and streams, it was ideal for them. We enjoyed Drumlanrig and Caerlaverock Castles and had a nice meal in the Thornhill Inn nearby. It was a super holiday thank-you.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Ghillie's Cottage, it's great to get your feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your break and the cottage suited all your needs. Great weather too! I hope we can welcome you back again in future. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect! Beautiful house in stunning location.”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We returned again to Ghillie's Cottage and our second visit was as perfect as the first one. The house is beautifully situated, and equipped and decorated to an extremely high standard...particularly the glorious bathroom!
We came with our two dogs and the location of the house was excellent for great walks locally (eg round Drumlanrig Castle estate or at nearby Morton Castle) .
The owners provided a very warm welcome and the hamper waiting for us was full of nice treats that were much enjoyed. Highly recommend this cottage and hope to return again soon!

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2015
Thank you so much. It was wonderful to welcome you back again and ask your opinion on whether anything in the cottage could be improved. We try to keep everything to a very high standard and feedback is very important...many thanks for being so kind! We look forward to your next visit. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Ghillies Cottage over new year. My husband, 4 kids and 2 dogs. We all had a wonderful and relaxing break. The cottage is simply beautiful, particularly the bathroom! The owners, Laura and David have thought of everything you could need to make this a home from home and the welcome basket was a lovely touch. Laura was even kind enough to lend us a coat for our youngest daughter who had forgotten to pack hers. Not ideal to have no coat whilst in Scotland in December! We will defiantly be booking again for a spring/summer visit. The walks around the cottage and the freedom to roam around with the dogs was a particular highlight.

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2015
Thank you very much. It is very encouraging to get such positive feedback! Hopefully we will be able to welcome you all back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almac M
London
1 review
“Lovely, beautiful location”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here for a short break between Christmas and New Year and we all loved it. The only downside was having to leave.
The house looked great in the photos, but was even better in real life. The welcome hamper and Chriistmas tree were very much appreciated.
This is a beautiful, peaceful part of the world and there are gorgeous walks right from the front door. We all want to visit again soon.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely bathroom!
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2015
Thank you very much indeed for your super review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your short break and hope to welcome you back again in the future, perhaps for longer next time! Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S
Wombourne
1 review
“Wow, what a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Ghillies Cottage in September, the cottage was fantastic. The welcome basket was a lovely surprise and much appreciated. The cottage is beautifully appointed and very well looked after. The walks from the Cottage into Drumlanrig Estate meant that some days we didn't need to use our car. The castle is beautiful to see whilst walking through the forest and well worth a visit.

There was only the two of us and our little dog but the cottage could certainly cater for more people, it is very spacious. Penpont is only a short drive away where there is a shop and
tea room.

We can't recommend this cottage enough, in fact we have booked to go back next year, and we just can't wait.

The area is beautiful, you are deafened by the silence and the cottage is perfect.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review! It's very much appreciated and we look forward to having you back again next year. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing