We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thornhill Inn”
Review of Thornhill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornhill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thornhill Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Thornhill B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as a base for our fishing trip on the nearby River Nith with 3 friends. Cleanliness of the rooms is superb, albeit my room was quite small and the bed was very low, but I got used to it.
Peter and his staff are very friendly and welcoming. Zara in the bar has a tremendous personality and makes everyone welcome.
The food is excellent with a wide choice to suit all tastes. Only slight disappointment was the lack of marmalade at breakfast, but this not deter from a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Thornhill Inn and I very much look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 10. It's a single occupancy room but is very small.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cuerdley1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Thornhill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Once again a lovely weekend at Thornhill. Many thanks Peter and team. Group of 10 golfers are well looked after every year and we always look forward to returning. There is a good range of food options, rooms nice and clean. Helpful friendly staff. Golf course suits all abilities. Great base for all Dumfries and Galloway courses.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank golferbillPrestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night while site seeing, we did not pre book but managed to get a double room when we turned up. The place itself is nice, its very clean and the rooms are of a good standard with everything you need. My only negative is regarding breakfast, you could choose from a list of scrambled eggs on toast etc. however you had to pay an extra £5 each if you wanted a full breakfast, i would think that at £80 per night this should be included.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeordieDuo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for the Thornhill Music festival (2013). The hotel was lovely and our room was very big (room 2) and very clean. We had a front facing room which would benefit from some black out curtains on the windows but otherwise it was a great room and hotel. The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast. A huge thank you to the staff for their friendly welcoming service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lexyh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The menu gave plenty of choice and was of course, prepared to order, it was well worth waiting for. Nicely presented and in pleasant surroundings, although as we visited early doors, a little lacking in atmosphere, but that is NOT a complaint!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lakesman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

stayed here for 6weeks brlliant service nice rooms pub and dining area fantastic would well reconmend just walkin distance wherei was paintin a school in the area would visit again foods is bloody lovely venison and guinea foul

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I didn’t have the pleasure to stay at Thornhill Inn, as I was invited and stayed with some friends at their house, at Carronbridge. We (me and my wife) spent only some evenings at their delicious restaurant for dinner. December 2010 and March 2012. I assure you both times were unforgettable!
The food is delicious, warm and tender. From the starters to the main courses, all the dishes are very well taste balanced. The decoration of the house is absolutely detailed and superb.
Next to the restaurant (in the same house), you can have your after dinner cocktails or digestives in an equally warm atmosphere!
Great so far? I could say yes, but not enough, because a tasteful dinner and a refreshing cocktail, you can have anywhere, even at home...
The difference lies in THE STAFF!!! A smiling and friendly group of people, always ready to do their best to make you feel satisfied, like they know you since ages! Actually, they all succeed to make you feel “home, away from home”... I don’t want to mention particularly one or two of them, because I will really underestimate the rest!
Working also since decades in tourist business as well and having this experience in the back side of my brain, I can only guess how staying at Thornhill Inn will be... GREAT !!!

Thank you all very much; We will see you again on March 2013...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikos013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
1.4 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
590 reviews
11.1 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,068 reviews
14.5 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
7.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Inn

Address: 104 Drumlanrig Street, Thornhill DG3 5LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Thornhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thornhill
Price Range: $40 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thornhill Inn is situated in the beautiful conservation village of Thornhill, formerly the George Hotel set in the varied landscape of Mid-Nithsdale area of Dumfries and Galloway.Thornhill is only 1 hours drive from Glasgow Airport and 1 hour and 20 min from Edinburgh Airport.We have eleven comfortable en-suite bedrooms, Singles, Doubles, Twins with WIFI, Sky TV, Hospitality tray. The hotel boasts a cosy pub with the log fire burning during the winter months, making it popular with locals and visitors alike. Excellent lounge and restaurant area for you to relax and enjoy a good meal and a drink after a day out.The welcoming ambience of this comfortable hotel with a reputation for our hospitality and good food amidst a relaxing atmosphere, enabling you to enjoy Dumfriesshire, the South West of Scotland’s best kept secret.Our hotel in Thornhill is surrounded by fantastic countryside and scenery making us an ideal base to explore and enjoy the many outdoor activities and country pursuits available on our doorstep. Loch and River fishing in and around the Nith for Salmon, and Sea Trout, Hill Walking and Rambling for all levels are available on our doorstep with the Lowther Hills and the Southern Upland Way playing a major part. Cycling is becoming an increasingly popular sport in this area due to KM Trail for road biking, Ae Forest and Drumlanrig Castle for mountain biking, championship courses at both locations fairly new to the area. Golfing with over twenty courses within a 40 minute drive, ¾ mile from the hotel Thornhill Golf Club. Shooting, Rough shooting, Duck shooting, Rabbits, walked up days in the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornhill Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing