We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
POTOMAC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful property!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were here for 4 nights. We were two adults and three teenagers, so we had Villa Boyero, a two-bedroom, two bathroom villa with a small kitchen and a small sitting area. The hotel provided a fold-out bed; it was a little cramped for 5 but manageable. The property is really beautiful, full of fruit trees, incredibly lush plants everywhere. The kids were able to pick oranges and limes out of the trees and eat them, we say hummingbirds everywhere, and had a good time touring the coffee plantation. The hot tub was really nice, in a secluded area near the pool.
We did find that the inn is a little far from a lot of the trips we wanted to do -- rafting was a couple of hours away, for example, so we did some of our trips from our second location near Arenal instead. I think three nights would have been perfect; 4 days seemed a little too much. Our favorite trip wa the zipline canopy tour.
The restaurant was quite good, especially the breakfasts. We had a typical combination of beans, rice, eggs, plantains almost every day, but my youngest son loved the pancakes with tropical syrups as well.
We really liked this place ; the staff was exceptionally nice and helpful, and it is a very short ride from San Jose airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Karinn; We appreciate your taking the time to write such a detailed description of your stay and that you had such a good time. There certainly are a lot of fruit trees and native hardwood trees here, including lots of exotic tropical plants and flowers. Your kids really did enjoy eating all the fruit.
Again, thank you so much for posting your comments.
For Costa Rica and in comparison to most other lodgings, our hotel is actually very centrally located to access all the activities we offer and your rafting trip, like all of the rafting rips in the country if you are not staying in that area take a little time to get there as the drive is through the mountains and valleys which are beautiful. For me, part of the beauty of the rafting rip is also the exquisite sights and views of the ride to the river.
We do recommend that our guests stay for at least 4 days so they can really see all the volcanoes, the coffee, the rafting, the cloud forests and the cultural elements that surround our coffee plantation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    110
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
137
364
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We started our honeymoon in Costa Rica with three superb nights at Finca Rosa Blanca where, from our the moment of our greeting to our farewell, the fantastic location, beautifully kept property and first class staff created the perfect start to our special trip.

I could write an epic on this place, it's wonderful people, service and food, but I would hate to spoil it for anyone else who is fortunate enough to 'discover' it, other than to state the obvious - the coffee is out of this world!

If you go there be sure to make use of the masseuse service (I recommend the deep tissue massage and coffee scrub) :) it was amazing.

Thank you to all at FRB - we hope to be back at some point in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosa Blanca Suite. It was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomatoWashbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Tomato Washbag; Congratulations on your wedding and also thank you for sending us your comments. I know how important the honeymoon time is and it always makes me so happy to read that our newly wed guests have started their new lives with us and had a spectacular visit. Our massage services are indeed really special, both Karina and Pablo are world class therapists. As a result of their fans and increasing interest in their therapeutic massages, we are building a new massage center ina very quiet place of the hotel with ample room and tranquility for our guests who want to melt away and release all the stress and anxiety that preceded their vacation and arrival to Costa Rica.
Again, thank you so much for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Always wanted to visit this hotel, it was above my expectations! Great room! The view is wonderful. the sustainable dedication was amazing. We had a good dinner and breakfast. The pool was cute! It was a very romantic weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geinier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Geinier; Thanks for writing in and I am so glad your experience was pleasant and you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you all again soon and we can meet up for a drink and some stories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bequia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our room was not clean when we arrived, there was even a half eaten smelly sandwhich in the small fridge!
The pool area was not clean and the pool itself was a bit cloudy.
We chose this hotel for the coffee plantation tour but there was a bit of rain and we never got to take the tour and there were no alternatives, strange as it rains so much there, one would think there was a way to see some of the coffee production during bad weather?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CO0KIE_M0NSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Cookie Monster; I am so sorry to hear about your less than pleasant experience. I honestly do not know how this could have happened and we have redoubled our efforts to make sure that we don't make these kinds of mistakes again.
Unfortunately when it does rain we prefer not to go through the plantation, as there is often a lot of lightning which can be quite dangerous during these storms. We do always reschedule the tours for those who were unlucky enough to not be able to go. Most of the tours we schedule for the mornings when it is almost always nice weather until the late afternoon. Also, the pool water can get a bit turbid right after these storms as the rains bring a lot of pollen, dust and leaves down into the pool water. We always clean this right afterward so our guests will have a sparkling clean pool as soon as possible.
I hope next time you come we will have met or exceeded your expectations and again, so sorry for the issue with your refrigerator!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Wow! A beautiful property with great views of San Jose! I stayed here my last night in Costa Rica, and loved it so much I extended my trip another night. The rooms are great, all unique and have their own special touches and murals. There is so much attention to detail in everything about the place. The grounds are beautiful, safe and quiet. It is truly a place to relax. La Tigre restaurant on the property was great. Very convenient and spectacular views of San Jose at night. I also did their coffee tour which was very informative. I would recommend this hotel because it is so close to the San Jose airport and is a perfect way to start or end you trip in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinDazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Kristin; I remember your quandary about your not wanting to leave and also about cancelling your flight and I am so glad that it all turned out for the best and you got to stay with us an extra day. It was a delight meeting you at the restaurant coffee bar and I know you were very pleased about the coffee tour. It is always nice to have single guests here- men or women and we try to really make your stay as action oriented and/or relaxing as you might want. Thanks for writing in and telling us about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is extremely depressing. It reminded us of an asylum, quiet and dark. The guests were scary too. We saw an old porn star with heroin eyes, yellow skin and her mid 30s boyfriend with a huge pubic style goatee and mullet.

The rooms we had were dark and depressing. The beds are made for pygmees. If you are over 5'3, then your feet will hang off the bed. There is little light. No air conditioning. Lots of insects. The room comes with a 1980s style alarm system that clearly is not protecting anyone.

The staff was not helpful. When we told them we had booked another 2 story room and had been promised that, they argued with us and told us that room was not available. We constantly felt like they were nickel and diming us for fees.

The restaurant is okay. Very slow service but you can sense that they mean well.

The place maybe was charming 30 years ago, but it now seems like it has an absentee owner who has let it go to waste.

We would have left and changed hotels if we could but we arrived late and were flying out very early the day after.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Petezilla; I really don't know how to react to such an unpleasant and malicious attack on our hotel. When you have some constructive or intelligent remarks to make about your stay, I would be more than happy to respond to them and perhaps learn from them. But to talk about our guests and our heartfelt work of 30 years of trying to create wonderful experiences this way does nobody any good. I am however, quite sorry that your experience was not satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful views and sweeping landscapes! This place is a dream. The hotel and restaurant staff are amazing. Attention to detail and artistry at every turn! The beds are the most comfortable we've EVER slept in...anywhere! Be prepared to fall into pure bliss. The grounds are immaculately kept, and the entire resort is so tranquil. No cars are allowed on the premises. The hotel staff will park your car across the street in a secure parking lot and escort you to your room via a motorized golf cart. Foot traffic is the only real means of transportation once inside the plantation. And it is absolutely heavenly. All of our earthly cares just melted away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsbyrd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear TSBYRD24; What a lovely description of your experience with us!
It made me so happy to hear how you appreciated our attention to detail and artistry at every turn! And that you loved our beds so much. We know how important a good sleep is and we spared no expense to find and put the best quality beds available in every room. As many say, "The beds are the most comfortable we've EVER slept in...anywhere! Be prepared to fall into pure bliss."
Thanks again for letting us know about your wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara
4.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
8.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn

Property: Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Address: Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is a world-class 13 room resort located in the middle of an organic shade-grown coffee plantation with lush colorful gardens and awe inspiring views of the Central Valley below. The recipient of many awards for being a global leader in responsible tourism and luxury, Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is the perfect choice for discerning and knowledgeable travelers who want to be surrounded by beautiful coffee fields while nestled in a cozy world famous hotel awarded with the highest levels of certified sustainability. Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Hotel Santa Barbara
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation And Inn
Country Inn Heredia
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn Costa Rica/Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing