We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Nearby Hotels
$57
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose(San Antonio De Belen)
$224
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mango(Alajuela)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$71
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
City Express San Jose Costa Rica(San Antonio De Belen)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveler rating
550
123
25
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
123
25
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfinca rosa blancacoffee plantationcosta ricasan joseour honeymoonpoas volcanotwo nightsmaster suiteclose to the airporthot tubthe main housecentral valleyfirst stoplast nightcookiesbeautiful viewbeautiful place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 712 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I wanted a few days of relaxation before meeting up with family for a week down in the Osa Peninsula. Finca was perfect. The property is beautiful: gorgeous landscaping and really interesting, unique (in a good way) architecture. We stayed in La Piedra. I believe it's one of the smaller rooms, but it was more than fine for the two of us, with a small sitting area and patio overlooking a canyon with San Jose and the mountains in the distance. Loved waking up to that view! Pool was lovely, although not many seats or much shade. However, since it's a small place, we never had a problem getting chairs. A few other notes:

**Meals: Good! As someone who doesn't love eggs, I would have liked a bit more variety at breakfast, but that's truly minor. Wait staff couldn't have been nicer. Yes, service is slow, but most of the time you don't really have anywhere you have to be, so what could be better than enjoying the view while sipping a beer?

**Patios weren't private. This is minor, but we could see & hear (quite loudly at times) our next door neighbors when we were all on our patios at the same time. I'm not sure there's anything they could do about the noise, but a little bit more greenery could provide more privacy between patios.

**Tours: We did the coffee tour (so great!) and a hike to Barva Volcano. We picked Barva because we wanted a real hike and it seemed the least-traveled of all the volcanoes. It definitely was not touristy: we only saw a few other people there, but it also wasn't quite as impressive as we were expecting. Our guide was OK, but he wasn't as informative as we were hoping for. If we had to do it again, we'd skip Barva and do Psoas.

We stayed three nights and thought that was just right. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xyztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear xyztravel; Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel and for taking time to express it so well. We do offer other rooms in the hotel but the Piedra room is actually quite large by hotel standards,- more than 500 sq ft in all, including that separate living/sitting room, the king sized bed room and a large deck. Next time, please try one of our Master Suites- the Rosa Blanca Suite or El Ranchito, which are like little villas and of course like all, are filled with windows, views of the foliage and coffee fields below and full of original art.
Barva volcano is one of my personal favorite places to visit; as you mentioned, it is unexploited, it has unique quantity of flora and fauna unique to the 10,000 feet high cloud forests and is full of surprises for those who like you love to hike. However, I certainly do recommend that next time, also visit Poás volcano,as it is the second largest crater int he world and is quite impressive in scale.
As for the pool, I am sorry you didn't see the terrace above the pool with the pergola and shaded bougainvillea plants where there are many deck chairs with wonderful views of the property, as well as the shaded area behind the waterfall with the murals and slate floors. Next time, please try to relax there as it is very protected from the sun yet still close to the beautiful chemical free water and waterfall that cascades down into the water.
Thanks again for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Rarely do our expectations get exceeded. We were thrilled with our stay. Very eco-friendly, a sustainable hotel, with a great staff, good food, an amazing pool, and meaningfull tours. The coffee plantation tour, the cultural tour, and the chocolate tour are well worth the time and money. Do take the time to walk the property, see the birds and the care that goes into protecting the land. Personal service was just outstanding; Toto and Johnny ( and others) went to great lengths to solve a travel problem we encountered.

Room Tip: If you have the time, and it works out try several of the rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_in_Clio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Dave_in_ohio; Such a nice commentary - thank you for writing to share this and I will certainly tell Johnny and Toto you mentioned them by name (if they haven't already read this). I hope you can come back soon and enjoy some more of our tours and activities and see more of our artwork that is in every nook and cranny of the hotel. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The rooms were so unique and unusual and the sweeping views were impressive. Dining in the restaurant was great. The view from our table was right out of a magazine. The service was slower than we would have liked as the staff seemed to be on a different clock from us. Other than that, our stay here was perfect. Opt for the plantation tour as it was very informative and exciting. We stayed here our last night before flying out of SFO. If we had it to do over, we would opt for more than one night here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Dena
Thank you for writing and sharing your time with us at Rosa Blanca, I am sorry you felt we were a little slow- this is more or less a tradition in Costa Rica, as the culture is about a kind of "slow food" environment where one can enjoy the beautiful views you mentioned and not feel rushed so they can enjoy each course. However, I will concentrate more on trying to make sure all of our guests are feeling comfortable with our service. Thanks for letting us know. As you mentioned, Rosa Blanca is really a destination and is best utilized when at least 3 nights are spent here so you can really take advantage of all we have to offer; not only in coffee tours, tours to volcanoes, cultural points of interest, cloud forests and waterfalls, but also the relaxing by our 22 meter spring fed and chemical free pool, walking the grounds, or just relaxing in our espresso bar and listening to the serenading birds and watching the clouds roll by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was the third stop on our vacation and both my husband and I were very pleased. The place was clean and comfortable. A romantic feel. The food was good. Evening meal is a bit high and they need to have some more choices. However, the place is small and that might be hard to do. I ordered the Pineapple Shrimp dish and it was wonderful. We did the coffee tour and learned a lot. this is a must for coffee lovers. you might find out why the coffee you are drinking now is not as good as it should be. We found the place to be quite and laid back. our room had not airconditioning and it could have used it. nights in the room get warm. perhaps a second fan would work. not enough of a problem to keep me from coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Ibc4
Thank you for writing in and sharing your experience with Trip Advisor, it is important that our guests have a voice and can help us to improve. Our romantic feel and small size is part of our plan to keep it on a small scale and offer very personalized attention, Our menu is made so that we can offer only fresh vegetables from our greenhouse, sustainable and fresh fish from our responsible purveyor and all is done to order to make the dining experience as wonderful as the romantic cozy one offered by the hotel. Our daily temperatures hardly ever go much above 80 degrees and our night time temperatures are always in the 50's or low 60s, as we are 4,5500 high so air conditioning for us is not really necessary. I am sorry you felt warm and I will make sure our guests always know they can get another fan if they feel they need more fresh air. Thanks for pointing this out and thanks again for taking the time to write about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at Finca Rosa Blanca first night we arrived SJO and again night before our departure SJO and were happy with FRB. It is a short drive from SJO - about 20 min. Carlos took good care of us on arrival, we were traveling with my 3 kids so we booked 2 connecting rooms (Laguna) and it worked out well for our needs. The kids liked exploring the trails and the gardener who rides his horse Carmelo to and from FRB daily was good enough to let our kids play ride a bit with Carmelo. The plantation reminded me a bit of Tatooine (Star Wars) it was so peaceful in the afternoons, around 4pm it was nice to go to the bar and have a cafe con leche before dinner. The Inn is owned by Cayuga group that owns Arenas Del Mar in Manuel Antonio where we stayed most of our time in CR. Also very eco conscious attempting to be carbon neutral here too. A nice place to stay near SJO on arrival and prior departure, this was definitely a great choice.

Room Tip: Laguna was nice for our family of 5.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Jonathan H Y: We loved your comments and your feeling that it was like the "hobbit house" We built Rosa Blanca with the idea that there wouldn't be too many square corners and with a feeling of an organic and voluptuous architecture, to dance along with the nature and to appeal to the inner core feelings of our guests. You guys really appreciated our quirky and off beat approach which is really about making a home as an art piece without sacrificing comfort, luxury and tranquility. Please come back again soon and stay in one of the other rooms, as they are all completely unique and equally stunning. Tell your kids hello from us and especially from Canelo, who misses them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews