We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel America(Heredia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveler rating
550
123
25
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
123
25
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfinca rosa blancacoffee plantationcosta ricasan joseour honeymoonpoas volcanotwo nightsmaster suiteclose to the airporthot tubthe main housecentral valleyfirst stoplast nightcookiesbeautiful viewbeautiful place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 712 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

What a gem! Who would have thought such a place existed within 20 minutes of the San Jose airport? Unique, special, tranquil, friendly, serene, lush vegetation, luxurious accommodations....this is a wonderful place that we stumbled upon by accident. What a wonderful accident! If we ever make it back to Costa Rica, we will find our way back here!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Joyce C; So nice to read your exclamatory comments. We certainly hope you will return and spend 4 or 5 nights here with us to really take advantage of all we have to offer, and to absorb all the relaxing, authentic Costa Rican experiences. Please let us know when you plan to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

would be this property as we found. It was a great alternative to the airport and downtown, we spent two nights here and didn't regret it. The property reminded me of something in Mexico, decor whimisical, bold colors and playful architecture..lots of rounded corners and white exterior. Think it might be too much in this vein, but read an article about the original owner and that was her goal..whimsy, nothing squared off etc. Anyway, you are in the midst of a coffee plantation, good views surround and easy access for a day trip to various interesting locations, we chose to visit Paos Volcano, great drive although the volcano was clouded in and we didn't get to see it...Diego Gonzalez is guide extraordinaire , if you want a private guide. After changing to a second room we were totally satisfied. The second room was on the second floor, very nice ambience and view toward downtown...terrific. We enjoyed the bar area in the evening, food was good and service done very well. All in all an interesting choice, something a bit different, in any case.

Room Tip: be sure and request a room on the second floor
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Kokosandiego; Thanks for writing in- it was nice to hear a bit about your stay and your thoughts. The original owners are us- my mother, Sylvia Jampol worked with our family starting in 1985 to build Finca Rosa Blanca and her vision, whimsy and optimism is what fueled everything we did or have done since she died in 1993. And Diego, like all of our guides are truly remarkable interpreters of authentic experiences. We work very hard at finding the best guides available and along with our in house guides, who are in our opinion the best in the country, Diego and others are truly remarkable people, as well as great guides.
Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent four nights at Finca Rosa Blanca in early January. At first we thought that perhaps four nights might be too long, however, we found that length of time was ideal to do everything we wanted to do. First of all, the resort itself is absolutely gorgeous. The setting of it will take your breath away. The units are set in and around a very large area that is full of trees, plants, and flowers, and that will make you feel like you are in a remote area of Costa Rica. Yet, the facility is only a 20-30 minute drive to San Jose airport and is within an hour or hour and a half from Poas Volcano, Barva Volcano, Sarchi, and many other cultural and natural attractions.

We stayed in the El Ranchito Master Suite, which is a separate unit that is surrounded by gardens, trees, and foliage. It is an amazing “room.” The reason I put room in quotations is because the bedroom portion of the unit is at least four times the size of any other resort room we have ever stayed in. It contains not only a king bed, but also wrap-around windows with seating, a bar, and a table within one of the window units. In addition there is a small dressing area, full bathroom, and a very large separate room that makes up the shower and spa tub. This area is actually open to the outside! All in all the room was magnificent. You can see a picture of this room on the web site but I will tell you it is even nicer than depicted on the web site. In addition, there are chairs and a table just outside the door for sitting and enjoying the outdoors.

The facility is not remote, but without a car your options for eating are very limited. You can take a taxi to other restaurants, but we felt more comfortable staying at Finca Rosa Blanca and chose to eat all of our meals at the resort. There is a full service restaurant (breakfast off the menu included in room rate) that serves all three meals and a bar and a spa on site. The restaurant is beautiful and if you are able to sit outside, as we were, you have a wonderful view of the lights of San Jose off in the distance. There is also a beautiful swimming pool and a Jacuzzi that sits atop the pool area.

Although we loved the room we stayed in and the grounds and the location, what really set Finca Rosa Blanca apart was the staff. They are exceptional in every way. They would literally do anything you asked of them and always with a smile. They were perhaps the most congenial and personable and helpful staff we have ever encountered at a resort. In addition, we took several tours that were arranged by the staff there, including a trip to Poas Volcano and the town of Sarchi. We also toured the Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and went on a birding tour at the resort. Every one of these activities was wonderful and should not be missed. Finca Rosa Blanca was very well situated for us because we got to do the things we wanted while at the same time not being too far from the airport for our departure.

If you visit this wonderful place be sure to take note of their sustainability efforts. They recycle everything, grow their own fruits and vegetables, severely limit the amount of paper they use, have their own water collection system for watering the gardens, have their own hen house for eggs, and so much more. Finca Rosa Blanca was also recently named by Conde Nast as the number one resort in Central America, and from our perspective it is a very well deserved honor.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Arch68; Wow, what a thorough and detailed review of our small hotel. I really was pleased to read that your experience was so engaging and that you appreciated all of our efforts to make sure our guests are treated like family and get a chance to relish the incredible climate, the lush gardens and the coffee plantations. We also were extremely pleased that you appreciate and remarked about our sustainability efforts, as this is woven into every thing we do, since our inception in 1989. Our activities are almost endless and that is why so many people like yourselves stay for many days- to take advantage of the incredible central highlands, where some of the best coffee int he world is grown and where the climate is as good as it gets (high 70s days and low 60s nights). Again, thanks so much for taking time to write about your stay, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Finca Rosa Blanca exceeded our expectations. We'd heard so many wonderful stories about a stay in Costa Rica, so this trip was a very big adventure for us.
We were greeted by Barbara and David at the front desk with the best coffee ever! After a weary day of travel the warmth and kindness of those two serving us with sweet smiles was a balm. Our room was large with a lovely patio on the back door.Oh, the bed was as excellent as being at home! What stood out repeatedly was the staff's commitment to care of it's guests. They were so kind, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the coffee and muffins served every afternoon, followed by a cooling dip in the exquisitely soothing swimming pool.
I could go on and on, but you get the gist. Finca Rosa Blanca exceeded our expectations which were quite high. YOU MUST GO VISIT!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear JPM55; Thank you so very much for writing in about your experience at our small coffee plantation resort. Both Barbara and David are all smiles! We do feel that after 25 years since we opened (our anniversary is this year!), we still have service, quality amenities and authenticity as our priority and I am glad that you appreciated all of that. See you again soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We reached Finca Rosa Blanca at around 9pm after a couple of days white water rafting. The welcome was warm but we didn't get the refreshing welcome drink we saw people getting the next day - that would have been a nice touch after the long journey.
The swimming pool and Jacuzzi are lovely, the grounds beautiful and the location great. No complaints about the room which had a balcony overlooking San Jose and the surrounding areas.
I did think it a bit peculiar that you are encouraged to make a cup of their lovely coffee in your room but then you are charged $1.50 for milk from the mini bar or you have to use the complimentary cooking cream, which was virtually solid and leaves a greasy layer on the top of your cup of coffee - seemed a bit mean and odd for a coffee plantation seeking to promote its coffee?
I also thought that although the coffee tour was fun and informative it should be cheaper for residents than for non-residents. $35 is a lot for a 2 hour tour with no transport included (I believe the shuttle from town was included in the price for non residents). In the brochure in our room it mentioned that the coffee tour ended with coffee and pastries but none materialized on our tour - we then asked at reception and were given a cup of coffee but it felt a bit awkward.
Service was good and breakfast very nice in a lovely setting.
Ultimately I wasn't convinced that the experience justified the price tag and that for the 1 night we stayed prior to our flight home, we might just have well stayed in a cheaper hotel in San Jose and taken the tour in the morning for the same price we paid as hotel residents. It was a nice place to wake up but we didn't really have the time to enjoy it fully. That is just our experience however.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with balcony. We stayed in El Carretta I think.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Londontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Londontravel; Thanks for writing in about your stay and your concerns. We are always interested in what our guests have to say and we take these comments very seriously. Our coffee tour is 2.5 hours and as you experienced has a cupping at the end of the tour. This has been our price for many years and we do not offer free shuttle service for non guests. We will consider your suggestion that we lower the price for guests. As per the cream, I am sorry that it wasn't suitable and although we do offer fresh cream for the coffee drinkers, one normally should have the option of using milk or "half&half" instead. Also please accept our apologies that you weren't offered the cookies and muffins int he afternoon, this was an oversight and I am sure it will not happen again. We appreciate your suggestions and your nice comments about the room, the balcony and the breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews